We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bitou River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bitou River Lodge
Ranked #10 of 84 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Weaverville, North Carolina
1 review
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Bitou River Lodge. The rooms are lovely, all looking at the river and gardens. The breakfasts are fantastic, and the service is welcoming. If you enjoy convenience, yet being away from the hustle and bustle of the tourist area, you will really enjoy this lovely place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank vmErwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Thank you for the thoughtful review - so much appreciated!
Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    19
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
43
129
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orion, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

This place is perfect for a very relaxing experience of the beaten path. If you want to enjoy a beautiful place without the big crowds around you this B&B is the place to go.
You will get a lot of helpful tips from the owner and the service is really outstanding. There are several excellent restaurants close by (less than 10 min), and the Saturday market is really interesting to visit.
We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Great review! Many thanks!
Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

You feel completely removed from everything, yet only a short drive to town or the gorgeous close by beaches. A wonderful way to relax, very comfortable, and a great host. Food was terrific, and the Bitou River over sunset was magnificent. Highly recommend a get away to the Bitou River lodge.
Thanks Sue and Paul!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Thanks for the awesome review, James!
Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

fantastic, amazing setting and amazing rooms..

stayed with my dad while he was over from the uk and he is still talking about it!

a must stop if you are around plettenberg - highly recommended place..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thanks for the wonderful review! Say hi to your dad!
Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

We are really glad that we chose to stay at Bitou River Lodge, as it turned out to be an idyllic spot in a tranquil riverside setting, yet within a few minutes drive of Plett, where there are many restaurants, shops, beaches etc.
Sue and Paul were warm and welcoming, and very happy to give advice on the local area. There was a large and very enjoyable breakfast buffet, more than enough to keep us going all day! Our room was bright, cheerful and comfortable, and we wished we could have stayed longer. Thanks for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N0tmade0fm0ney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for the awesome review - hope you will be able to stay longer next time!
Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed for three nights whilst travelling along the Garden Route. We found the accommodation extremely comfortable with everything we needed. The breakfasts were first class, we were offered a variety of fresh, local foods. Sue is a great host and the location is fantastic with views over the river and surrounding countryside. the lodge is only 10 minutes drive from Plettenberg where you can find lots of restaurants & cafes. We visited Storms River Mouth, Natures Valley & Buffalo Bay. Highly recommend staying at Bitou River Lodge.
John&Sue

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1johnandsue2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thanks for your wonderful review - much appreciated!
Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Our family (one 8-year old child) stayed at Bitou River Lodge in late September 2013 during our visit to Plettenberg Bay and the Garden Route. We had originally booked for 3 nights but after spending two nights there we decided to add a fourth night so that we could continue to enjoy the comforts of the lodge and the beautiful area. A few highlights to show what a terrific hotel this is:
- Sue, the proprietor, is a terrific cook and serves a full breakfast each morning, punctuated by outstanding baked goods (scones the first day were tremendous).
- On our second morning we had booked a whale watch, but our car wouldn't start. It was too late to get a taxi, so Sue offered without our asking to give us a ride to the harbor. So kind! We made it.
- The lodge is within 10 minutes drive of the main Plett beachfront area, about 8 kilometres. It is easy to park there and then spend the day enjoying various activities, including whale watching, great beachfront eating, and swimming in the water.
- The lodge is about an hour's drive from Tsitsikamma National Park and assorted activities there, and about 45 minutes from Storm's River, which is beautiful.
- The floor is heated in the lodge and the beds and sheets were comfortable. The back wall opens up onto a pleasant sloped grassy lawn that goes down to the slow-moving river. One can take out canoes if so inclined, which we did and enjoyed.
All in all a terrific place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brk_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Big thank you for the detailed review - it's wonderful! Come again....!
Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
5.2 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
5.5 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
3.6 mi away
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Milkwood Manor on Sea
#7 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
6.6 mi away
T'Niqua Stable Inn
T'Niqua Stable Inn
#2 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bitou River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bitou River Lodge

Property: Bitou River Lodge
Address: off R340, 4.2km from the N2, east of Plettenberg Bay, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Watch the birds on the river from your bed. Explore the wetlands by canoe. Swim in the pool or at one of Plettenberg Bay's beautiful beaches. Enjoy traditional farmhouse breakfasts and hospitality at this Provencal-style guest house. Bitou River Lodge is both a destination in its own right and a central base for exploring the area - golf courses, forests, beaches, game farms, shops and restaurants are all just a ten-minute drive away. Sue speaks English, Afrikaans, French and some German. We welcome children who are 7 years and older. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bitou River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing