We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful stay which exceeded our expectations”
Review of Bitou River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bitou River Lodge
Ranked #10 of 81 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
297 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Peaceful stay which exceeded our expectations”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

A great 3 day stay in beautiful rooms where nothing is too much trouble for Sue and her staff. I was ill for part of the stay and they could not have been kinder . My partner went out with the local bird guide and was treated to an osprey catching a fish which he managed to photograph. The in room fridge was welcome for supplies to supplement the braii pack we got from Sue, just the right amount of meat for two- the South Africans in my family tend to over face us! We love the solar lamps and the blue cranes which have bred locally this year.
Bitou River exemplifies what B and B hospitality is all about and Sue is a great role model and example for landladies all over the world.
Would love to return one day.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thanks for your awesome review! Hope we do see you again sometime....
Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    19
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
43
132
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Photos do not do justice to this wonderfully peaceful guest house. From the delicious breakfasts to Sue's individual attention to detail - everything was perfect. To wake up to the view of the river and sounds of bird life was so relaxing and a marvellous break from our stressful lives. We will certainly visit again - and could easily have stayed a while longer.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review! I love the photos...
Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Beautiful spot down on the Bitou river just outside Plettenberg Bay. Sue is a brilliant host and will help to make your stay really special by advising on local attractions, activities and restaurants. Her breakfasts are particularly magical. Take her canoes either up or down river for a scenic paddle and some brilliant bird watching.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for the brilliant review!
Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape St Francis, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We enjoyed 4 unforgetable beautiful nights at Bitou River Lodge. Beautiful surrounding, tastefully decorated big rooms and the most wonderful breakfast served by the charming owner personally. Sue made our stay very special, helped with finding the best restaurants, did the bookings and nothing seemed too much for her. It was difficult to leave this lovely guesthouse and we hope to come back next year again. Thank you, Sue and all your helpers (dogs and cat included). Maya and Wayne Mc

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you, Maya & Wayne, for the wonderful review! Hope we'll see you again next year!
Sue+ helpers + dogs + cat ....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed for 1 night only on our way to East London. Situated on the banks of Bitou river with great bird life. Great room, great breakfast and very friendly. Sue runs a great guest house and we will return

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mielies48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you so much for your review!
Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermanus
Level Contributor
137 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Helped by her 3 dogs and a cat, Sue does a great job at Bitou River Lodge to ensure guests are well looked after. Perched on the banks of the river, rooms are extremely comfortable, airy and light. Her breakfasts are great and plentiful. We have been there many times and wouldn't go anywhere else. Braai facilities for those who don't want to eat out. Bird watchers will enjoy the numerous species in and around the garden. Sue will always book golf and restaurants for you. Great staff (Leon will wash your car as well). Don't pass it by.

Room Tip: All 5 rooms face the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeGrahamHermanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thanks for the awesome review, Mike! I LOVE your photo of the Knysna Turaco!
Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

An excellent B&B that was top class in all respects! Lovely setting, lovely rooms that clearly had been designed with much care. Overlooking the river, a perfect place to relax. We only stayed one night, but could have happily spent more time at the lodge -we will be back!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review - hope we see you again!
Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
547 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
708 reviews
5.7 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
242 reviews
0.2 mi away
The 5th House
The 5th House
#6 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
108 reviews
0.5 mi away
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Milkwood Manor on Sea
#9 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bitou River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bitou River Lodge

Property: Bitou River Lodge
Address: off R340, 4.2km from the N2, east of Plettenberg Bay, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Watch the birds on the river from your bed. Explore the wetlands by canoe. Swim in the pool or at one of Plettenberg Bay's beautiful beaches. Enjoy traditional farmhouse breakfasts and hospitality at this Provencal-style guest house. Bitou River Lodge is both a destination in its own right and a central base for exploring the area - golf courses, forests, beaches, game farms, shops and restaurants are all just a ten-minute drive away. Sue speaks English, Afrikaans, French and some German. We welcome children who are 7 years and older. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bitou River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing