We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aquavit Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
hamilton
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Aquavit, Linda and Ole provide a beatiful home of fabulous quality with outstanding views over Plettenberg Bay.
Dinner reservations are not to be ignored, the local knowledge given by them of 2 of the best meals we had in South Africa, a pleasure to stay here!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    15
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
44
346
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

We spent 6 nights at Aquavit Guesthouse and it was pure luxury. Linda and Ole are such gracious hosts only too happy to assist with any enquiry or make suggestions about the many things to do in and around Plettenberg Bay. The bedroom with seaviews is simply superb and so incredibly comfortable. Unfortuanately the weather wasn't great while we were there but the house and room was always cozy (especially with heated floors), tea and coffee facilities in the room and home baked biscuits.

We have done a lot of travel in the the past 2 years (all over the world) and we have to say that Linda, Ole and all the staff make the best breakfast we have ever had... EVER!!!

It starts with the freshest fruit salad, yogurt and a selection of cereals as well as breads, croissants, muffins, juices and tea and coffee. Then eggs of your choice are offered and prepared just the way you like it, or Linda's special of the day is also on offer, which can included pancakes, french toast or quiches. The setting is just stunning and the friendly service makes for a perfect start to the day.

If you are staying in Plettenberg Bay, then you can't look past this guesthouse. We loved everything about this accommodation and will continue to recommend it to everyone.

Thank you Linda and Ole,

Elissa and Pete (Australia)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElissaMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noordwijk, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

The view was magnificent and the standard of service was beyond our expectations. Linda and Ole have made an exceptional guest house with an amazing eye to detail. The quality of the rooms was of very high standards.
The breakfast was delicious - a vast choice accompanied by home made specials.

All in all a great place to stay during a visit to Plettenberg Bay - being experienced travellers across the globe, we have hardly found a place which offered what we received during the two days we stayed there.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012 via mobile

Like something out of a magazine! Hosts were very helpful and we were offered a coffee or glass of wine on arrival. I can see why this place has done so well on ratings and it didn't disappoint. We were on our honeymoon and we got chocolate strawberries to our room which was a nice surprise. The breakfast was yummy as well, fresh homemade and had the personal touch you just don't get in hotels, overlooking the bay. They have a huge wine cellar also which we were happy to make use of, as well as the DVD collection.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Noelle321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

We stayed at Aquavit for three nights in October 2012 in Room 3. First, the exceptional room quality and complete beauty of this guest house must be highlighted. The guest house overlooks the Indian ocean (where you take breakfast most days as weather permits), the rooms are stunning and very clean, the bathrooms are larges and very well appointed as are all the accessories/additional items in the room (bodum fresh coffee, tea, cookies/full hairdryer/etc..). The pool/gardens are well maintained. The previous reviewer spoke of light sleeping due to road noise and challenges with the shutters - I am a light sleeper and had no such issue. Just as exceptional is the owners' service- Linda and Ole answered all our questions, suggested great restaurants and activities. Further, when I fell quite ill the second day, they did not hesitate to suggest a clinic visit and assist in getting us a medical appointment that actually got me recovered sufficiently to save the rest of our holiday. They extended our stay for my recovery without issue. I could not ask for more in a guest house in terms of overall service, quality and attention. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrienneMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this b & b, the bedroom and bathroom were beautifully decorated and very luxurious. The bed was very comfy and the breakfast delicious (chilli scrambled egg! a first for me). Linda and Ole were very helpful and booked us a table for our evening meal.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joolsfelixstowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

The previous 2 posters, that didnt go for the 'excellent' tag, have captured this place superbly. Yes it is a beautiful property but......As soon as we arrived we noticed the road noise, it is situated on a very busy road. As well as this, also previously mentioned but the owner told me that no one had ever mentioned this before, there are no curtains, just completely inadequate shutters. We did not stay as my wife is a very light sleeper and the combination of the traffic noise and the lack of curtains would have meant very poor sleep. Whilst waiting for the owners to turn up, after we arrived, we read the 'blurb' in the info pack. You are asked not to use Skype due to their Internet package limit - I am sorry but nowadays keeping in contact with family is always done via Skype. Pay more for your package - your rates should be able to stand the extra few Rand. You are also told to have a shower if you have used any sun cream during the day........not an order/request that I have seen anywhere ever in my global travels . The house is also at least a good 30 min walk into town; another point previously made and also not correctly explained on the website. After politely explaining to the owner that we would not be able to stay, due to the noise/light issues I was told that if he was able to re-let the room he would reimburse my deposit. When I explained that until guests arrive you dont know what you will be met with, he was most dismissive 'we have a 60 day cancellation policy' - well thanks for that, great customer service! Yes you have a very pretty place but I would certainly not recommend you.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sappers62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oboolsen, Owner at Aquavit Guest House, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Mark, Aquavit Guest House, Linda, Ole, and our Staff maintain the highest level of respect, and courtesy for every guest who stays with us. From the moment you arrived, you were clearly unhappy with our home. For this we are truly sorry. Your brief visit of 45 minutes did not warrant such an angry review.
Sadly, if you were disappointed with our cancellation policy, which seems to be the main issue, and of which you agreed to-when you booked. We tried to be more than fair and offered to refund your deposit should the guest room be rebooked.
We believe that if you had at least stayed one night you would have had a different opinion.

We trust that your remaining stay in South Africa will meet up to all your expectations.

P.S. Good news!

We were able to rent the room you had originally booked for 2 out of the 3 nights. The guests so much enjoyed their stay that they booked an additional night on their return through Plett.
As promised during our very brief conversation, a partial refund of your deposit is currently being processed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.8 mi away
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Milkwood Manor on Sea
#8 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bayside Lodge
Bayside Lodge
#3 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquavit Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquavit Guest House

Property: Aquavit Guest House
Address: 8 Serica Place | P.O. Box 871, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquavit Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aquavit Guest House is a newly built contemporary home with 5 en-suite guestrooms offering the most updated fixtures and finishes. Aquavit has a welcoming environment with attention to detail to ensure your stay a memorable one. Our guestrooms boast single, queen and king beds. A beautiful bathtub awaits you in our luxury king canopy suite "One" with salt crystals to soothe away your stress. The terrace has an area to relax, within steps of the 10-metre Infinity pool and lovely garden, where you can gaze at the sea and mountains. A full gourmet English breakfast is served on the terrace with attention to detail so your breakfast will taste as good as it looks - a perfect start to your day! All our en-suite guestrooms have spectacular views and steps out to a terrace or patio, 32” DSTV, WIFI, Internet availability, and private lounge. Our entire staff welcomes you, including Zoe and Dakota, our Golden Retrievers who will also happily greet you upon your arrival. Come see why we are called “Water of Life”! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Aquavit Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquavit Guest House Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing