We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal ambience !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aquavit Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Phenomenal ambience !!”
Reviewed 13 December 2012

My wife and myself spent two nights at the Aquavit in mid November, 2012. Our hosts, Linda and Ole were fantastic. They went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed, which we did. We even asked Ole and Linda for advice on where to change money, how much to tip, good restaurants in Plett, etc, etc.

The room was large and had all the amenities we needed. The superb view from the room and just outside the room was the highlight for us. Serene and tranquil. One could easily spend most of the day just lazing around, taking in the fantastic view. The Aquavit Guest House is probably the best B&B that we have ever stayed in, both from the decor and service point of view. We strongly recommend Aquavit and would definitely stay here again if we ever did visit Plett again.

Room Tip: Ask for Room no.1, the first on the left. The best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlos501b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    15
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
45
348
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Aquavit is a guesthouse that you must stay at if you are visiting Plettenberg Bay. My girlfriend and I stayed 3 nights and we loved every minute. Linda and Ole made us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived and booked us dinner at 3 amazing restaurants.

The complimentary wine tasting (with amazing cheese) in their cellar was fantastic and we really appreciated this extra touch.

The hospitality was spot on and the rooms were amazing (each room actually had a view of the ocean!)
Breakfast was also brilliant!

Aquavit certainly deserves to be #1 in Plett and I will be recommending my friends and family to stay in the future.

Thanks,

Tim

Room Tip: All rooms are great! Honest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed very minute of our stay at Aquavit and hope to return for a much longer stay. We were greeted warmly by Ole and Linda and their two lovely goldens even though we booked at the last minute and they were busily preparing a thanksgiving celebration for friends. The house is set in a remarkable location but the design of the house--for which we found that Ole and Linda were largely responsible--is even more extraordinary. Ole and Linda used local stone and glass to a wonderful effect such that the "shared" spaces are light-filled, expansive and open. Our suite, however, was intimate, cosy and private- -just what we wanted when it was time to turn in. The gardens and pool area are also breathtaking. Ole gave us a fine recommendation for dinner as well. Breakfast was sumptuous and delicious. We had more time to chat to Ole and Linda aftyer breakfast and were thoroughly charmed--in particular, our six year old son was enchanted and for the rest of our stay in South Africa, asked many times when we were returning to Aquavit! Finally, we send specials hugs to the Olsens' two very special goldens!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pixiecut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meath
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

If there were 6* available I would give it. On our stay in South Africa we found Aquavit and the hosts Ole and Linda to be superb. It was our best accommodation experience along the garden route and it is amazing to think that Ole and Linda are only doing this 3 year. The rooms are beautiful, the communal area including the pool is of an excellent standard. The breakfast and service provided including organising restaurants/taxis/things to do was excellent. The mark of a good host is when they enhance your experience of the area and the guys here certainly did this.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DPGMeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2012

By far the best B&B we've ever stayed at!!
If you're a lover of nice things, fine food and great customer service, this is the place for you.
Aquavit is situated up a hill with sweeping views of the ocean. The house is an architect's delight. The room as stunning and our bathroom was very large with wonderful fittings. A very comfortable stay.
We also should say that the breakfast was the BEST we've ever had at a B&B or hotel! Freshly cooked eggs and bacon with many twists, a good selection of fresh bread, pastries and cereals all with rather facny accompanying crockery and cutlery.

This place is a real cut above the rest. Linda and Ole are the prefect hosts and went out of their way to recommend places and restaurants to us. They even ensured we had all the gear and maps we would need for our 5 hour walk around the peninsula.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Stayed for 2 nights at Aquavit whilst on honeymoon in October and could not have picked a better place to stay!

The owners Ole and Linda are so welcoming and friendly, nothing is too much trouble and they have so much advice to give. The house itself is stunning, so much so, my wife and I would love to copy it one day should we find the right spot and have the budget! Our room was delightful, tastefully decorated and very spacious, and the bathroom was phenomenal.

We had a view out over the bay, but unfortunately we had a couple of distinctively average days weather wise, and so couldn't fully appreciate it, but i'm sure it is out of this world when the sun is shining. Similarly the pool looked very inviting, but because of the weather we weren't brave enough. Our room did open out to the pool area though and it would be an amazing spot to relax and read on a warm sunny day.

Location wise it is just out of the centre of Plett, but then it doesn't need to be in the centre. It's only a 7-8 minute walk down the hill, and only 1 minute off the N2. There's so much to see and do in the area, we didn't actually spend any time in the centre anyway. The view, and the quiet of the area makes it far better to be where it is.

And on to breakfast, oh my god, the breakfast. We spent 17 nights on honeymoon, visiting all sorts of 4 and 5* hotels, but this was the best breakfast i had, easily. The lemon & ricotta pancakes are superb, the area where breakfast is taken is superb, and the service from all of the staff, not just Ole and Linda, is second to none, and I thank them for that.

For dinner, Ole & Linda booked us into Emily Moon's - you have to go, and thank you again to our hosts for recommending it, a truly special dining experience but not expensive.

Thank you to Ole & Linda, for despite the weather, our stay at Aquavit was fantastic and we will hopefully be back for a while longer next time, and hopefully in the near future.

David & Laura

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vernonio35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2012

I hadn't really read any previous posts and so had no idea what to expect. The guest house turned out to be lovely with stunning views over Plett Bay. The owners Linda and Ole were very welcoming and friendly.

Upon arrival we were given a quick guided tour and we were impressed with the way in which the bedrooms had been laid out etc. Although I stayed in one of the slightly smaller rooms I was not disappointed. The bed was extremely comfortable and although the guesthouse looked over a main road my room was set back far enough so that I didn't notice any noise.

The owners were also very helpful in recommending and booking a dinner reservation for us at Emily Moon. They obviously new we would enjoy the food and setting and we weren't disappointed. Given that our stay was very short this was very helpful.

My only slight criticism was more of a disappointment more than everything. After having driven out for dinner I was looking forward to getting back so that I could relax after a long days driving and enjoy a glass of wine or two. Earlier we had been shown the wine cellar and there was a wine list in my room. Unfortunately, although we got back for around 9pm I was unable to enjoy any wine. Linda and Ole retired for the evening just as we got back and I didn't think to ask them as I assumed that this would have been available. Why else show us the wine cellar and leave a wine list in the room? Unfortunately there was nothing around and the wine cellar was locked. I thought at least leave some sort of 'honesty bar' so that guests can help themselves without having to disturb the owners. I have stayed in a few places where they have done this.

Otherwise we thoroughly enjoyed our stay for what was also a very reasonable price. Would recommend the Aquavit to anyone wanting to get the most out of their stay in Plett. What a lovely corner of the world!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Burno42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
548 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
722 reviews
5.2 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
246 reviews
0.8 mi away
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Milkwood Manor on Sea
#7 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
762 reviews
4.0 mi away
T'Niqua Stable Inn
T'Niqua Stable Inn
#2 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquavit Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquavit Guest House

Property: Aquavit Guest House
Address: 8 Serica Place | P.O. Box 871, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquavit Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aquavit Guest House is a newly built contemporary home with 5 en-suite guestrooms offering the most updated fixtures and finishes. Aquavit has a welcoming environment with attention to detail to ensure your stay a memorable one. Our guestrooms boast single, queen and king beds. A beautiful bathtub awaits you in our luxury king canopy suite "One" with salt crystals to soothe away your stress. The terrace has an area to relax, within steps of the 10-metre Infinity pool and lovely garden, where you can gaze at the sea and mountains. A full gourmet English breakfast is served on the terrace with attention to detail so your breakfast will taste as good as it looks - a perfect start to your day! All our en-suite guestrooms have spectacular views and steps out to a terrace or patio, 32” DSTV, WIFI, Internet availability, and private lounge. Our entire staff welcomes you, including Zoe and Dakota, our Golden Retrievers who will also happily greet you upon your arrival. Come see why we are called “Water of Life”! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Aquavit Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquavit Guest House Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing