We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aquavit Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Superb in every way - the view,breakfast on the terrace,our hosts Linda and Ole.
Quality of the room excellent and nothing was too much trouble.
The recommendations for where to eat were also most useful - our meals at Zinzi
and Emily Moon were the best we experienced in South Africa.
We left wishing we had stayed for more than two nights - if we get back to Plett we
will stay longer!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotty087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (462)
There are newer reviews for Aquavit Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 462 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2013

We stayed with Ole & Linda for the 2nd time for 4 nights in February and once again the welcome was warm, the accommodation fantastic as are the breakfasts, the location great. We've stayed at quite a few guest houses in SA the three times we have been and I can honestly say Aquavit is the best. As a previous reviewer said 6*, the house is top notch as are Ole and Linda and their staff. We will be back again - and maybe have another wine tasting from their excellent cellar - specially laid on in honour of our return visit!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Linda and Ole were good hosts. Innocent was lovely as well. Friendly and attentive service. Beautiful and comfortable accommodation. Delicious breakfast. Five star standard for sure. We were only there for one night and loved it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gorgeouscaryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

It is very difficult to say anything that hasn't already been said by other reviewers.
I read some of these reviews before travelling to South Africa and thought to myself "things can't really be this good". Well I was wrong. The reality is even better.
Although rated as 4 star, this feels like 6 star.
Designed and built only 4 years ago by Linda and Ole, this beautiful contemporary building is finished to the highest standard imaginable. There are 5 bedroom on 2 floors and each floor has its own lounge an patio area with spectacular views out to sea. The lounges, bedroom and bathrooms are so tastefully decorated. We thought we had a nice home back in Scotland but Aquavit is different class!
The quality and presentation of breakfasts are again 6 star.
Linda and Ole could not be more helpful. From the moment we arrived, they were there to help us with luggage and a welcoming drink. Restaurant recommendations and bookings were made for us (and they were also great!). Beach towels and umbrellas were suggested and provided. Linda and Ole are the most friendly and helpful hosts you will ever meet.
I hope the South Africa Tourist Organisation realise what a great job they are doing to promote the country!

Room Tip: Choose any one...I'm sure they are all great!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

This was our fourth stay at Aquavit.
Linda, Ole and the staff always make us us so welcome.
The breakfasts are a gourmet delight - to die for.
The view of the ocean and river estuary is amazing.
The rooms are very tastefully furnished, spotless and superbly maintained.
Highly recommended base to explore all that the garden route has to offer.
We'll be back again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colin_long
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our two week holiday in South Africa recently and had an amazing time but the 3 nights we stayed at the Aquavit Guest House were something we won’t forget in a hurry. In the past we have preferred to stay in luxury hotels so this was a first for us to stay in a guest house but Aquavit was a fabulous choice. From the moment we arrived and met our hosts Ole and Linda we felt very much at ease and were immediately impressed by the beauty of their home.
We felt very privileged to be able to stay in such a beautifully designed home and the attention to detail was second to none. We particularly liked the wonderful paintings created by Ole’s parents that graced many of the walls.
The breakfasts on the terrace overlooking the bay were superb, everything homemade, especially the spinach and ricotta quiche and the warm blueberry muffins.
The restaurants recommended and booked by Ole and Linda were excellent and we were grateful for the loan of the beach chairs.
We would certainly recommend this wonderful haven and if we are ever in Plettenburg again would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennfer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Linda and Ole really make you feel at home. They look after their guest from the first second until the last one! We spent 5 days at Aquavit and would have even liked to stay longer if our itinerary would have allowed. The guesthouse is beautifully decorated, the view to the beach amazing and the breakfast delicious. We got a lot of restaurant tips and ideas for places to shop and they were all right on. Next time we are in Plett, we will be back at Aquavit and will recommend this guesthouse to all our friends. Great job, Linda and Ole!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
553 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
743 reviews
5.2 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
253 reviews
4.0 mi away
T'Niqua Stable Inn
T'Niqua Stable Inn
#2 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
279 reviews
0.8 mi away
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Milkwood Manor on Sea
#7 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquavit Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquavit Guest House

Address: 8 Serica Place | P.O. Box 871, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: £110 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquavit Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aquavit Guest House is a newly built contemporary home with 5 en-suite guestrooms offering the most updated fixtures and finishes. Aquavit has a welcoming environment with attention to detail to ensure your stay a memorable one. Our guestrooms boast single, queen and king beds. A beautiful bathtub awaits you in our luxury king canopy suite "One" with salt crystals to soothe away your stress. The terrace has an area to relax, within steps of the 10-metre Infinity pool and lovely garden, where you can gaze at the sea and mountains. A full gourmet English breakfast is served on the terrace with attention to detail so your breakfast will taste as good as it looks - a perfect start to your day! All our en-suite guestrooms have spectacular views and steps out to a terrace or patio, 32” DSTV, WIFI, Internet availability, and private lounge. Our entire staff welcomes you, including Zoe and Dakota, our Golden Retrievers who will also happily greet you upon your arrival. Come see why we are called “Water of Life”! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Aquavit Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquavit Guest House Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing