We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - look no further!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aquavit Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We keep coming back to Plettenberg Bay and one of the most beautiful bays around the world! Now we know where to stay next time - no need to look any further! Aquavit will exceed your expectations in all different ways - from wonderful tastefully decorated and super clean rooms to incredible breakfasts prepared by your hosts Linda and Ole. Also, you should really listen to their local restaurants recommendations more than to advice on Trip Advisor ;-) They do have a very good taste and the latest info (which chef is still there or not). We stayed three nights as we were celebrating my Dad's upcoming 80th Birthday and invited him for the first time experience in South Africa - he liked it so much he didn't want to go back home... We shall be back! thanks again for a wonderful hospitality!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndreNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (473)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 473 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2013

I would throughly recommend Aquavit, I have been visiting South Africa for most of my life and this was really a memorable experience, even though we only stayed one night (we had to move on for safari after!) Linda and Ole couldn't do more for us and have a beautiful house and we really appreciated the elegant decor and all the little details ie fabulous bath salts, delicious & very well presented breakfast and chairs and towels for the beach. They also recommended the restaurant Emily Moon, which based on its amazing atmosphere and service is by far the best in town. The house was also very clean and furniture/towels etc to a very high standard. We wished we had stayed longer, but will definitely be recommending Aquavit to friends and will visit when we return to Plett!

Room Tip: the rooms overlooking the bay are the best esp the honeymoon suite on the lower floor for more priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillette23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

This was our first trip to South Africa, and we stayed at Aquavit for one night on our way up the Garden Route. We soon realized we should have stayed longer, and kicked ourselves for spending the night before in a hotel in Cape Town when we could have enjoyed a second night at Linda and Ole's beautiful house. The most amazing thing about this place is that they have simply thought of everything, from spotless cleanliness/maintenance of the property to unexpected amenities in the room (heated floors in the bathroom, open and airy design with classy decor, super-comfortable bedding, cookies, wine glasses and corkscrew...I could go on and on). I found myself saying, "I have everything I'd ever want right here!". Linda nicely organized dinner reservations for us at a local restaurant (Zinzi), where we had one of the best meals of our trip. Thanks for a wonderful night, and we'll certainly stay again next time we're in Plett!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RUindiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Superb in every way - the view,breakfast on the terrace,our hosts Linda and Ole.
Quality of the room excellent and nothing was too much trouble.
The recommendations for where to eat were also most useful - our meals at Zinzi
and Emily Moon were the best we experienced in South Africa.
We left wishing we had stayed for more than two nights - if we get back to Plett we
will stay longer!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotty087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We stayed with Ole & Linda for the 2nd time for 4 nights in February and once again the welcome was warm, the accommodation fantastic as are the breakfasts, the location great. We've stayed at quite a few guest houses in SA the three times we have been and I can honestly say Aquavit is the best. As a previous reviewer said 6*, the house is top notch as are Ole and Linda and their staff. We will be back again - and maybe have another wine tasting from their excellent cellar - specially laid on in honour of our return visit!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Linda and Ole were good hosts. Innocent was lovely as well. Friendly and attentive service. Beautiful and comfortable accommodation. Delicious breakfast. Five star standard for sure. We were only there for one night and loved it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gorgeouscaryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

It is very difficult to say anything that hasn't already been said by other reviewers.
I read some of these reviews before travelling to South Africa and thought to myself "things can't really be this good". Well I was wrong. The reality is even better.
Although rated as 4 star, this feels like 6 star.
Designed and built only 4 years ago by Linda and Ole, this beautiful contemporary building is finished to the highest standard imaginable. There are 5 bedroom on 2 floors and each floor has its own lounge an patio area with spectacular views out to sea. The lounges, bedroom and bathrooms are so tastefully decorated. We thought we had a nice home back in Scotland but Aquavit is different class!
The quality and presentation of breakfasts are again 6 star.
Linda and Ole could not be more helpful. From the moment we arrived, they were there to help us with luggage and a welcoming drink. Restaurant recommendations and bookings were made for us (and they were also great!). Beach towels and umbrellas were suggested and provided. Linda and Ole are the most friendly and helpful hosts you will ever meet.
I hope the South Africa Tourist Organisation realise what a great job they are doing to promote the country!

Room Tip: Choose any one...I'm sure they are all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
573 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
780 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
T'Niqua Stable Inn
T'Niqua Stable Inn
#2 of 82 in Plettenberg Bay
287 reviews
0.5 mi away
la Vista Lodge
la Vista Lodge
#7 of 82 in Plettenberg Bay
302 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bayside Lodge
Bayside Lodge
#3 of 82 in Plettenberg Bay
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquavit Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquavit Guest House

Address: 8 Serica Place | P.O. Box 871, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: £105 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquavit Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aquavit Guest House is a newly built contemporary home with 5 en-suite guestrooms offering the most updated fixtures and finishes. Aquavit has a welcoming environment with attention to detail to ensure your stay a memorable one. Our guestrooms boast single, queen and king beds. A beautiful bathtub awaits you in our luxury king canopy suite "One" with salt crystals to soothe away your stress. The terrace has an area to relax, within steps of the 10-metre Infinity pool and lovely garden, where you can gaze at the sea and mountains. A full gourmet English breakfast is served on the terrace with attention to detail so your breakfast will taste as good as it looks - a perfect start to your day! All our en-suite guestrooms have spectacular views and steps out to a terrace or patio, 32” DSTV, WIFI, Internet availability, and private lounge. Our entire staff welcomes you, including Zoe and Dakota, our Golden Retrievers who will also happily greet you upon your arrival. Come see why we are called “Water of Life”! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Aquavit Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquavit Guest House Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing