We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our visit”
Review of Lookout Deck

Lookout Deck
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Kampala
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our visit”
Reviewed 18 January 2013

We were looking for an early evening meal on Christmas Eve, and therefore had a few problems trying to get a table. We were under-dressed to go into the Lemon Tree, and didn't have a map at the time, so were meandering round the hillside trying to work out where to go. So by chance, we came upon the access road down to the beach, and where the entrance to the Lookout is. There was nothing about the sign and boardwalk that was inviting, but I reassured my husband that the significant number of cars being parked was a positive sign!

We had approx at 30 minute wait, which wasn't too bad given the time of year. Once we got inside, the manager told us there was a one hour wait in the kitchen. We were shown to a table, and occupied ourselves with drinks, and trivia cards.

We all enjoyed our food, it was a good quality and realistic price.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShellyRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,568 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    589
    647
    225
    55
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location - but very busy!”
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Food was pretty good but the view was spectacular! They won't take bookings so on a busy weekend or in peak season you have to queue to get a table. However the staff were most helpful. Great place for a drink during the day too!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank keithbull007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great spot for lunch”
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Came here twice during our 5 days in Plettenberg Bay and both times had a lovely lunch. If you dont mind messy fingers, the pint of prawns were great finger food and delicious. The curry chicken salad was very tasty, as was the mussels and also the prawn salad. Big delicious portions and a great view with friendly waiting staff, no negative points at all.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 155DGTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Did not live up to it's reputation”
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Although the Lookout Deck has great views and a longstanding reputation I think this eatery is providing for the masses. We had to wait for a table although not for very long. The service is prompt and good but the food is a let down. We had prawns which were not seasoned, they tasted like the griddle pan and the calamari was ok. Onion rings very greasy but chips nice. Wine served by the glass was very good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelbabe40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good Seafood”
Reviewed 12 January 2013

This restuarant is not easy to find but when you do and can find parking, you will find a gem of a restuarant situated near the mouth of the Keurboom river. A rustic place to eat but has magic seafood .... Calamari to die for. Well worth going to eat there.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lookout Deck also viewed

Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 
Harkerville, Plettenberg Bay
Keurboomstrand, Plettenberg Bay
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to Lookout Deck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing