We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rooms”
Review of Plett River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Plett River Lodge
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
OXFORD
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely rooms”
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We were the only guests when we arrived and so were given a choice of all the rooms (we looked in all of them). They were all lovely big spacious, comfortable rooms with a tranquil and relaxing view.
The staff were welcoming and helpful. They made us feel comfortable despite being the only guests.
The breakfast was adequate but basic. Don't expect anything special.
Unfortunatly the lodge is just off the main road so there was some traffic noise. Whilst this was not enough to disturb us to much it did ruin the ambience a little, and was not what we expected.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 19GEB79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    31
    13
    3
    6
See reviews for
19
42
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

The Plett River Lodge is situated just outside Plett on the river. The rooms open onto a deck with wonderful views of the river. The deck has little table areas where guests could sit and enjoy the views with sundowners, but unfortunately both the deck and the table area were covered with goose droppings so we were not able to enjoy these. The rooms are big and comfortable. The breakfast was fine for our purposes as we had planned a celebratory lunch but people expecting the normal guest house breakfast deal would have been disappointed as there was not any hot food. We had a pleasant stay and the staff were friendly. However we did feel that a bit more attention to the finer details could have made this a memorable experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karenvanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We arrived at Plett River Lodge after 6 long hour of driving and we were exhausted! We were met by a smiling Maria and immediately offered tea. She then showed us to our gorgeous room with HUGE four poster bed, overlooking the river. It was pure heaven. Maria showed us around and gave us advice on where to eat in Plettenberg Bay. She also asked us what time we wanted breakfast! We spent a wonderful evening on the deck overlooking the moonlit river and then retired to our bed which was pre-warmed with an electric blanket. The next morning, we enjoyed a delicious breakfast and a walk around the sunny, Lavender-filled gardens.
I would recommend Plett River Lodge as a stop-over or to a group of friends or colleagues who want to get away from the hustle of city - life!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

I would advise anyone to stay well away from this place... It is advertised as a hotel.... This is a joke.... It is far from a hotel. All open plan... Definately would not go back. Would not be impressed with shower... Disgusting mat placed at same. Old tv sets... door to room not very secure. Breakfast in the morning just about sums it all up. You go up to the main area and Maria will belt something off the table so that a cloud of dust rises. This place could do with a good clean. Its in the middle of no where which would be fine if it was a hotel... Total misleading... It is a basic bed and breakfast and nothing more. My advice.... Stay well away....

Room Tip: Stay well away. It is not a hotel... Its a basic bed and breakfast and poor at that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagsGalway_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Plett river lodge is really undeserved of 4 stars. We arrived at the lodge and were put in a family room whereas we were only 2 people. The tv had 1 "working" channel (SABC 3) and we were told nonchalantly that the tv does not have a remote control. The room was large and cold with 2 small wall panel heaters to provide heat. The bed was very uncomfortable with ancient linen and worn through duvets and pillows. The shower door was faulty. There was no way to comunicate with the staff on the property and the only number for the lodge on the website is for a booking office in cape town and a wrong number.

The lodge is situated next to a highway so the noise of the traffic is very audible and little sleep was had. Besides freezing in a room which could not withstand the howling storm outside.

The manager, Julia, was called by the staff to handle our complaints the next morning and she barely cared to ask why we were leaving after only staying 1 night. She then only refunded me for 1 nights accommodation for 1 person. (I paid a 50% deposit for 2 people for 4 nights).

All in all, a terrible experience!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilanaoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terri L, Marketing at Plett River Lodge, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback however negative it is, we value it as it assists us in ensuring that our future guests do not experience similar negative experiences. In fact Plett River Lodge is very proud of our current minimal level of complaints,as well as our high level of regular returning guests although our ultimate is always to achieve zero complaints.

We have used this feedback as an opportunity to re-iterate to our staff, the importance of attention to detail in our business and ensure that items like remote controls are placed in all rooms.

In terms of the linen, we can assure you that our linen is good quality and is regularly assessed and replaced to ensure the product is in line with our standards.

Rooms are allocated according to our occupancy levels, and as all our double rooms were allocated, this guest was allocated one of our spacious family rooms.

Thanks again for the feedback, we can assure all our Plett River Lodge guests of our best attention at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We spent 3 nights here on our honeymoon. From the road this lodge doesnt look too promising, but man, wait till you get inside! We were in room nr 4, lovely spacious room with a huge bed, huge open shower and bath and a great view on the river. We had direct access to the terrace which was a huge bonus for sundowners and early morning coffees.
The staff was really friendly and helpful. Its an open-for-all-guests kitchen for coffees and drinks, with a self service fridge, operating on a honestly policy, which is great. The breakfast area is lovely decorated and the breakfasts were served very nicely. We would definately go back!

Room Tip: The bottom rooms 4-7 are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beatricedekock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Great room, very big and comfortable with big terrace and amazing view for the river.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jakieskropki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
4.6 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
724 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
548 reviews
3.0 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#11 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
108 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
246 reviews
7.4 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plett River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plett River Lodge

Property: Plett River Lodge
Address: N2 | 5 km outside Plettenberg Bay before the Bitou River, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plett River Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Plett River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing