We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly rip-off”
Review of 113 Robberg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
113 Robberg
Ranked #18 of 83 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Don't be deceived into thinking this place is anywhere near 'Robberg' beach, it's not, in fact its literally miles away up a long boring hill in the back and beyond of surburbia.
My wife booked the room on my behalf and was told it would be R280 per night, upon arrival however the owner demanded almost double that for single occupancy, and that was after I had waited over an hour for her to return from walking the dog !
By that time it was getting dark, and I guess she thought she had me over a barrel. I drove away in disgust from a place with no secure parking, no WiFi and obviously no compassion for a lone and exhausted traveller. There are hundreds of better places in Plett so give this one a very wide berth.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MythBuster101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
113robberg, Owner at 113 Robberg, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Dear Mythbuster101,

I am sorry that you feel so strongly about me and my B&B, that you have to write such a negative statement about it and I apologise for all the inconvenience you might have had, however, some of your statements are neither correct nor understandable for me.

First about our closeness to the beach, we never claimed to be “right on the beach”, to the contrary, we are up on the hill around 1.6 km (as the crow flies) away from it. By the way, our website offers detailed information on our location including a map.

Our rates: Yes, your wife phoned and inquired about the rates. And yes, I was walking my dog at this time and that is why I quoted her our last available room at R 280 per person sharing. Nothing was said that you would be coming alone. Our single rate is like with everyone else not the same as 2 people sharing the room.

Your statement that you had to wait is also quite incorrect, as I told your wife, that I was out and would only be back in one hour. However, you came approximately 2 ½ hours after that phone call. It is not my fault that it was getting dark by that time.

About WIFI: Actually, we do offer WIFI, however, not every room gets a strong enough signal and that is why we have a guest desk in our office, where everyone is welcome to hook up there own device to the net or even use our designated guest computer.

Parking is plentiful, and yes it is in front of the house on a well lit parking lot. Your are right to say it is no secure – because it is not fenced. However, we offer this parking to all our guests for the last 4 years and up to now nothing has ever happened. I, myself park there every night.

Nevertheless, I would like to offer you a one night complimentary stay with us, just for you to experience what we are really all about it. So, if you are the next time in the area, call me and I will keep my word.

Best wishes - Enya / 113 Robberg B&B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2011

We were only at 113 Robberg in Plettenberg Bay for one night, and it was excellent. Enya was very welcoming, and provided us with several dinner recommendations in town, along with shopping and parking advice. She made a fantastic breakfast in the morning, and even added a couple choices of meat beyond the standard South African B&B breakfast. We found the room to be spacious and it had what we needed. It was also the only place we stayed where they acknowledged the environmental impacts of tourism and (subtly) reminded travelers to use water responsibly, which was nice to see. There is also a security gate to alleviate safety concerns.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bsquad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2010

Great hospitality. Security, clean rooms and friendly hosts. Lovely small plunge pool and braai facilities.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophieAMayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hosche h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
113onRobberg, Owner at 113 Robberg, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank xkatex2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
113onRobberg, Owner at 113 Robberg, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 589helmute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
113onRobberg, Owner at 113 Robberg, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank stefaniew112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
791 reviews
4.7 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
84 reviews
1.4 mi away
Plett Beachfront Accommodation
Plett Beachfront Accommodation
#23 of 83 in Plettenberg Bay
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
T'Niqua Stable Inn
T'Niqua Stable Inn
#3 of 83 in Plettenberg Bay
295 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sea Breeze
Sea Breeze
#13 of 83 in Plettenberg Bay
208 reviews
7.6 mi away
Arch Rock Seaside Accommodation
Arch Rock Seaside Accommodation
#4 of 73 in Plettenberg Bay
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 113 Robberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 113 Robberg

Address: 113 Robberg Road | PO.Box 1982, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: £37 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 113 Robberg 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
113 Robberg offers you comfortable en-suite holiday accommodation situated in the beautiful coastal town of Plettenberg Bay on the famous Garden Route, South Africa. Here you will find the ideal base from where you can explore this magnificent area of the Western Cape with its unspoiled beaches, crystal clear lakes, mighty mountains and untamed African wildlife. 113 Robberg is a mere 1.5 km from the shore of the blue waters of the Indian Ocean and the long sandy Robberg Beach. We offer both, self-catering and bed and breakfast accommodation, are pet friendly and welcome children. All rooms have private entrances and outside seating areas. Enjoy our well kept garden, refreshing splash pool and cosy guest lapa with built-in braai / barbeque. Come and enjoy the relaxed atmosphere of South Africa's premier holiday town, Plettenberg Bay, with its superb beaches, the multitude of activities and soul-rejuvenating views of natural beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your 113 Robberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing