We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Christiana Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Robberg Beach Lodge(Plettenberg Bay)
View Hotel
The Robberg Beach Lodge(Plettenberg Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lodge On The Bay(Plettenberg Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beacon Island Resort(Plettenberg Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Plettenberg Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayview Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Africa Rooms(Plettenberg Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sky Villa Boutique Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Keurbooms River Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (255)
Filter reviews
255 results
Traveller rating
186
54
12
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
186
54
12
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoff road parkingour honeymoonwhite wallsbreakfast was deliciousrobberg nature reservefive minute walksecure parkingguest houselarge bathlounge areaspent nightsan enjoyable stayrestaurant reservationsprivate balconyfat fishrobberg beachplunge pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 255 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2013

That is the question. This was not the number one place in South Africa we stayed at, but almost. No let downs. I think if we hadn't stayed elsewhere it would be one of our favorite places in the world. The decor was sublime, minimalist, and exactly what the sophistication we were looking for in an area like this.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelS1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We stayed here recently for two nights. What a great place! The design and layout of the rooms and general areas are very modern and stylish. The staff were fantastic and friendly, with Christa booking us an experience at Tenikwa to do a cheetah walk. Nothing was too much trouble for them. There is a great beach just a few minutes walk away. The breakfast was also good, with a choice of cold and hot food cooked to order. We would definitely choose to stay here again if we return to Plettenberg. Nearby Robberg Island nature reserve is well worth a visit if you like walking/ hiking.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tanya_Bailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christianalodge, Owner at Christiana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2013

Thank you, thank you, thank you to all our guests for your wonderful feedback. You have no idea how much it is appreciated. Christa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We stayed 2 nights there, the room was very modern and well furnished but many rooms are direct above the car parking and noisy, because of the returning guests. The breakfast is to late at 8.15 and is kept on an small variety.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christianalodge, Owner at Christiana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2013

Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear that you were disturbed by guests returning at night. In my experience most of our guests are usually back at the lodge by 22h00 or 22h30, which seems a reasonable time. Occassionally guests have to leave very early, but it is not something we can control. With regards to breakfast: we are always more than willing to serve an early breakfast, should we be requested to do so. And as far as the variety is concerned, it should be mentioned that we serve fresh fruit juices, a fruit platter or fresh fruit salad, the best quality muesli, raw honey and yoghurt we can buy, followed by a cooked breakfast of fried, poached or scrambled eggs or an omelette served with bacon, mushrooms and tomatoes or pancakes with stewed apple, yoghurt and almonds. We also buy a very good quality coffee from Masterton's in Port Elizabeth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

My husband and I recently spent three nights here in a superior room. The inn itself is very pretty - located in a totally residential neighbourhood a 10 minute walk to a pathway that leads to a beautiful five km beach. It is also adjoining a wetlands area so lots of interesting birdlife. Public areas are very pretty including large lounge area that doubles, in part, as a breakfast room, garden area that includes a pretty swimming pool.

Our room was amazing. It was large, bright and airy. Lots of storage space and a very large and beautiful bathroom which included a large double vanity, walk in shower as well as an outdoor shower. very comfortable bed with good quality linens.

The best part about or room - number 9 - was the outdoor space. we had a patio area with a couple of chairs as well as our own little plunge pool and a grassy area with two chaise lounges! really quite amazing.

Breakfast is included and was excellent. In addition, the owner and her staff are very accommodation - we were leaving early our last day and we were able to get breakfast early before the breakfast room is ordinarily open.

As well, the owner was able to provide us with very useful information regarding places to eat and the hiking in the area (which is wonderful).

Only downside is that it is a little removed from town so hard to go out for dinner without having to get in your car to drive but having said that, nothing is all that far away.

Room Tip: Go for the superior rooms - we probably had the best one - number 9, with its private plunge pool, outdoor sitting area and outdoor grassy area as well and views out over the wetlands.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpikeVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We were fortunate to book this lodge and have the last room, and what an excellent choice it was. As all the previous reviewers have said, the bedrooms and reception rooms are beautifully decorated, the breakfast wonderful and Christa so helpful in suggesting and booking restaurants. It was so good to have an owner who was so hands-on, nothing too much trouble for her and her staff, we felt like part of a family. We were touring South Africa for 7 weeks and this hotel stands out in our memory for the good time we had there.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Peter_Elaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews