We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing for Families”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Interior, Merlin's Cottage
Seasonal farm produce
Kitchen, Merlin's Cottage
'Farm manager' Kashmir, Merlin's Cottage
Exterior, Merlin's Cottage
Exterior, Merlin's Cottage
Anglo-Arab horses, Angels Rest Farm
Angels Rest Farm
Watsonia (fynbos) by the lily pond, Angels Rest Farm
Lily pond, Angels Rest Farm
Seasonal proteas, Merlin's Cottage
Seasonal water hole, Angels Rest Farm
Egyptian geese at the waterhole, Angels Rest Farm
Bushbuck visiting, Angels Rest Farm
Meadow fynbos in summer, Angels Rest Farm
Maya, Angels Rest Farm
Sunset over Angels Rest Farm
Seasonal proteas, Merlins Cottage
Angels Rest Farm
Angels Rest Farm
Rhode Island Red, Angels Rest Farm
Angels Rest Farm
Sun rise over Angels Rest Farm
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
safarionl...
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Amazing for Families”
Reviewed 10 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We loved out stay at this beautiful cottage and it was much better than we had anticipated. beautifully located and perfect for some rest and quiet. The horses came to the cottage and our little son (2) was able to feed them and enjoy getting to know horses. Knysna and Plett are both about 15km from the Farm and so everything is within easy reach. The cottage is nice and spacious, well kitted and has everything you need. Liz met us, was very helpful and assisted us with all our special requests. Very thankful for our time there and hope to be back. I believe that this offers a good value for money option on the Garden Route and is a little haven.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jabindy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet retreat”
Reviewed 6 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Merlins Cottage is a quiet retreat away from all the hustle and bustle of everyday life.
The cottage has wonderful views of all the local wildlife including the resident horses that come up to meet you on the decking most mornings.
You can take a quiet stroll through the adjoining woodland to escape the heat of the day and even have the fire pit going in the evening to do some outdoor cooking.

All amenities were available and it was also nice to have a log burner in the chilly evenings.
Liz and Hannes were great and we hope that we will go back to see them again soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2017
Such a pleasure to have you stay with us and hope to see you again soon! All good wishes, Liz and Hannes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
959hannel...
Hermanus, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Absolute Peace and Tranquility”
Reviewed 14 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Angel's Rest was once again the highlight of my Garden Route holiday.
Amazingly beautiful scenery, spacious, comfortable accommodation & incredible hospitality. If you need a bit of a break from everything - Angel's Rest is the perfect destination.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2017
Thanks so much, it was lovely to see you back in your special spot on the deck and we hope you'll visit again soon. All good wishes, Liz and Hannes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert D
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed 29 June 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Apologies to Liz and Hannes for this late review. We arrived much later than anticipated, but were warmly welcomed by Liz at Merlins Cottage. We were immediately impressed with the layout of the cottage and the large basket of home grown veg and free range eggs enable us to have a simple but very enjoyable supper after our long drive.
In the morning, we were visited by the 11 rescue horses resident on the farm. Watching them come from the stables and drink at the waterhole was amazing. One of first purchases was a suitable supply of apples and carrots! Another event that made us laugh, occurred when Liz walked the 4 Border Colie dogs in the evening - we were amazed to see them being closely followed by their 3 cats as well!
Our stay was very relaxing, with access to many of the places we were to visit within a short drive.
We would like to thank Liz and Hannes for a truly wonderful stay and hope to visit again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie D
1 review
“Breathtakingly beautiful and peaceful”
Reviewed 7 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This was my 6th visit to my second and spiritual home
As usual it was magical, within hours my stress levels were reduced and I sleep better here than anywhere else
The horses are wonderful- gentle and welcoming as are the dogs, cats, and of course Liz and Hanes, however Maya remains my special favourite ❤️
All amenities are there - well stocked kitchen, hairdryer and lots of books and games
As they say about James Bond - I will return !!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayagood
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“wonderful”
Reviewed 1 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

a wonderful place The location is amazing for pepole that enjoy quite places . the
house is fully equiped with very everthing. Nothing short. It was also very clean.
the horses are great but dont come to close ... i got a small bite...
We could not ask for more. Highly recommended!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quest6910...
1 review
“Stay at Angels Rest”
Reviewed 23 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Our stay at Angels Rest was wonderful. The location is amazing and very nice and peaceful. We loved and enjoyed the company of the horses around the house. The host Elizabeth are very friendly and welcomed us with a basket of fresh farm eggs with herbs. Our stay was very pleasant and I will recommend it to all who want to stay in peace. The house is fully equiped very everthing. Nothing short. It was also very clean at our arrival. One of the higlights is definately the horses roaming free around the house. They are adorable. We'll visit again if possible !! Regards Lynette Moore - Uitenhage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing