We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth visiting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cornuti

Cornuti
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Buzzy, Italian Restaurant specialising in thin based pizza. The best in town. Also specialising in Pasta and Grills. Cafe Food.
oxford
Level Contributor
232 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Worth visiting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Excellent central location, friendly/efficient staff. We stopped by for lunch and were impressed with the food choices available. The restaurant is currently undergoing a variety of refurbishments, so must be regarded as 'a work in progress' for the near future, but with an open fire already in place and perimeter windows about to be fitted, their all weather dining will soon be up and running.
We met Byron, the new and very friendly manager and we were impressed with his great enthusiasm and his exciting plans already under way to build a successful reputation for this very pleasant restaurant, and after talking to him at length we feel confident he has the drive to succeed.
We thoroughly enjoyed our meal. The cost was very reasonable and we certainly intend to return.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank robinjn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    93
    46
    52
    76
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
81 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Going downhill”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

This used to be THE Italian restaurant and place to be seen in Plett, but is sadly no longer. An Italian restaurant that has no garlic nor chilli, on request, as a side-accompaniment has surely lost the plot. Our meal, in fairness, was above average, but the empty tables all around us tell a tale of not rising to meet the new competition around the corner. It seems that Cornuti's is mirrowing the decline of the Roman Empire.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montevecchia, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Non andare.Don't go.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We have just returned from our trip in S.Africa. this was our worst experience.the food was smothered in oil. The thin thin chips were impossible to eat burnt and dripping oil. the waiter was called to show the oil as one could not eat the food but he just said sorry will tell the cook.Never been treated so badly in a reasturant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kleinbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

A visit to Plettenburg bay is not the same without a visit to Cornutis!Loved going back and despite the smaller menu the food was excellent and of a high quality.It is hard to get a better pizza anywhere.Byron the manager was attentive and helpful in looking after us....loved his passion.just need to close up front of restaurant as got a little chilly at night!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron B, Manager at Cornuti, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you very much for your support. I am pleased you enjoyed your time with us and am sure we will see you again soon. We are working on the front Terrace and should have it closed up in time for winter.

Kind Regards,
Byron Braun
Cornuti Al Mare
044 533 1277
076 734 6402
byron@cornuti.co.za
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartbeespoort, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Divine food - never disappoints”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

I highly recommend this restaurant for tasty Italian food! Vibey atmosphere. Centrally situated in Plett with a great outlook. You won't go wrong at Cornutti's. (It's a good idea to book as it gets very busy in season.)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Janbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cornuti also viewed

Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to Cornuti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing