We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sealed with fun :)”

Offshore Adventures
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Offshore Adventures is an adventure company in Plettenberg Bay, South Africa, that offers snorkeling with Cape Fur Seals or High Speed boat adventure. Come and experience the natural habitat of the Cape Fur Seal. Free diving at it's best! All equipment is supplied and no experience is required.All snorkeling activities accompanied by a dive master.The High Speed boat adventure is an unadulterated experience, where the boat can reach a top speed of 110km/hour.Which ever activity you opt for, we guarantee an extreme adrenalin ocean experience.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Sealed with fun :)”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This was the most amazing part of the entire drive from Port Elizabeth to Cape town. Swimming with seals is one of the most surreal experiences, and the fact that they are so close makes it overwhelming.
We actually had concerns of whether we would be able to see a seal, but as it turned out there were thousands of seals.
The guides are also very helpful and took care to ensure swimmers with lesser experience were also at ease. Knowing to swim of course makes the experience even better.
You might want to book a day before the trip, as sometimes they can be filled to the brim while on others they might not have the bare minimum number of people required to go out on the ride.
A heavy breakfast is not advised:), the ride to the seal swimming area is a good 20 mins, in choppy waters.
Do take the photograph CD at the end, a treasured memory.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank subhroneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    15
    4
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“So much fun!”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Having the opportunity to swim with and watch the antics of the cape fur seals was amazing. They are incredibly playful and adorable to watch. We saw the seals from a distance while doing the Robberg nature reserve hike and we're delighted when we found out that we could actually spend time with them in the water.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
1 review
“My seal of approval :)”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Partaking in responsible eco tourism is imperative for me. Knowing that Offshore Adventures has experienced and highly qualified staff and has been awarded Blue Flag status for their vessel was an immediate attraction. I felt safe and well informed before and during the seal swim. Experiencing the seals in their territory was incredible and I could stay there, watching them for hours. In late summer, the pups take to the water for the first time and are so inquisitive and playful, you can't help but smile the whole way through.
A truly unique and unforgettable experience. Thank you.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank PenGwen82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing Experience”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

It was an amazing surprise to discover this adventure to swim amongst the seals. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable. Up close and personal with these creatures was truly an experience which I recommend to anyone visiting Plettenberg Bay. Would love to do it again when visiting the area.

Visited February 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank 100Debbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
1 review
“THAT WAS RAAADDD!!!!!”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Jaco and his crew are the heart of this experience!!! Even though the seals were also a big part of it, i believe that the people that made it possible were the biggest reward. What a beautiful and exciting experience do they provide!!! To be able to commute with this creatures in this way was, not only fun, but a "bucket list" achievement. Thank you Jaco and Offshore adventures team!!!xxx

Visited March 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank MilagrosMurchio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Offshore Adventures also viewed

Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to Offshore Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing