We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost in the 70's”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
O'Hannas BnB & Self Catering
Ranked #68 of 81 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We believed we were very fortunate to get a room there as every single other establishment was fully booked and coincidentally O'Hannas had 1 unit available for the 1 night only. Checking in is speedy and efficient and very friendly.

It was relatively easy to find the units that are located in a cul de sac close enough to shops if you enjoy a little walk. Our unit termed a family unit had 2 rooms - the bigger one containing a equipped kitchenette and small lounge area that looked out onto a building. it was furnished with a small tv on top of what appeared to be some cartons covered by a table cloth and an old buckled double bunk that had broken metal stairs. The main bedroom was really very dark and austere although there were sufficient dark wood paneled cupboards, a ceiling -mounted tv and a mighty big ceiling rotor fan that worked like a bomb in circulating air. The small but efficient shower-only bathroom lead off main bedroom as did the small outside braai area

The 2 rooms were clean and had fresh linen and towels which are the redeeming features and the total contributory factor to the rating which unfortunately, would've been much lower considering the in season rate for this room which is frankly not worth it considering other establishments that we have seen which are far superior in terms of livability should one be looking at a holiday at the coast.

Furniture is outdated and decor very dark and austere in main bedroom. Should we have had children who would have needed to sleep in the buckled and broken double bunk, I would have had grave concerns. As I would, had I attempted to cook on the rusted little table top stove.

If you are looking for a 'holiday home' in which to spend time and relax at the coast then this is not for you. If you are intending to spent as little time as possible indoors and merely need a clean bed and hot shower then this would be fine.

Personally, I believe that updating of units and furniture wouldn't be amiss. Failing which a downgrading (if that we're possible) would be in order.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tish H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2012

The b&b is on a quiet cul de sac, (check as there are some rooms facing a main road as well, but we had a room at the back). 2 minute walk from the high street. But it is an uphill walk or drive back from the beach.

Good breakfast, clean tidy and felt safe here. Reception was also able to advise and help us book activities in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NormanMorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We booked 4 nights in this place, The place is not nice, not views at all, it is near a taxi rank, nothing exciting at all. We stayed one night and had to go back to Cape town due to an emergency, the owner refused to give us the money for the other remaining period. He is not nice at all, not just for that reason he refused to give us money , just in general, I think he need someone to help him run his business or he needs to attend some courses to improve his people skills. The place is just a block of houses not appealing at all.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thobeka_mganu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Good sized clean room & pleasant enough staff. Included breakfast was OK but no more than that. Long walk to the beach, pool was shut when we were there. If you need a room for a night then it ticks the boxes but there must be places with a bit more character in Plet.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

By arrival the room didn't had a kingsize-bed as promissed. We took another, smaller room but didn't realised that there was a door in the wall between the room nextdoor. First morning the neighbours start talking (you good hear every word they spoke) and went on and on. We especially had asked by the booking for a quiet room. Next morning same but starting at 6 o''clock.
Because we had told the girl by the desk that we would try it after the bad experience on the 1st night one night more and the noise was the same we decided to leave (booked for 6 nights). We were happy thet we got the money back for the other 4 nights.
Note: the breakfast is really the worst we have had in 6 weeks SA. Undrinkable ''coffee'', a cup with about 20 gramms of can-fruit, no yoghurt, dirty tables (and very unfriendly breakfast-staff).

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We booked the O'Hannas Bed & Breakfast over the internet, solely relying on the information provided by O'Hannas. We left the B&B after two nights - planned were 6 nights. (The owner kindly reembursed us almost for the entire prepayment.)

However, the photos in the internet do not live up to reality. O'Hannas is situated in the wrong area of town, close to the bus station, but quite far away from the sea. It does not have any charme. O'Hannas is old fashioned and our room was rather run down. Our room was quite dirty (pillow cases were grey and stained.) The washing machine in our self-catering room was not working. The pool is tiny and not attractive to spend time any time there.

Next time I would rather stay close to the beach, somewhere close to the Robbenberg or Central Beach.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Suzanne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estellllle, Public Relations Manager at O'Hannas BnB & Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
1.3 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
762 reviews
0.1 mi away
Backpacker Apartments
Backpacker Apartments
#58 of 70 in Plettenberg Bay
12 reviews
0.3 mi away
Galini Exclusive Homestay
Galini Exclusive Homestay
#26 of 70 in Plettenberg Bay
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments
Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments
#21 of 70 in Plettenberg Bay
190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bitou River Lodge
Bitou River Lodge
#10 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
213 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albergo for Backpackers
Albergo for Backpackers
#13 of 70 in Plettenberg Bay
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Hannas BnB & Self Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Hannas BnB & Self Catering

Address: 5 Rainbow Place Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: £42 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — O'Hannas BnB & Self Catering 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ohanna is Hawaiian for family. Welcome... to our family! Welcome to O'Hannas bed and breakfast and self catering accommodation, Plettenberg bay, where we pride ourselves on our quality of service and the variety in accommodation we are able to offer the discerning traveler. We cater for all accommodation needs, from the overnighter to those who like to splash out on luxury, as well as the romantic honeymooners who come to enjoy and revel in the splendor and magnificence our beautiful Bay has to offer. O'Hannas offers competitive prices throughout the year making it not only affordable and convenient, but the smartest choice in accommodation. Step inside and let us show you around. Welcome! O'Hannas boasts 9 B&B rooms and 5 Self-Catering units. We are also one of the few accommodation establishments in Plettenberg Bay that accept the Students that visit this seaside resort for the Matric Rage Festival every year to celebrate the end of their schooling. If you are a tour operator or in need of group accommodation call O'Hannas today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your O'Hannas BnB & Self Catering reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing