We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another gem in golf country”

Goose Valley Golf Club
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Jhb
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Another gem in golf country”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

This is a great course to play but some planning is advisable. The fee can vary from very cheap to very expensive depending on the day and time of year, also booking on line could save a lot. Check if there is a competition as if you get stuck behind the locals you could have a long wait, plett is a retirement village where golf is an all day affair. Cover yourself in sunscreen and bug repellant and take an umbrella as if the sun or rain don't get you the Mosquitos certainly will. This said its a beautiful course good for all levels and on some days there is a great carvery at very reasonable prices

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve_zaJhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    41
    7
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hermanus
Level Contributor
134 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Always great condition”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Always well maintained and a challenge for most people. Plays harder than it looks. Pleasant staff and nice pro-shop and club house

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MikeGrahamHermanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful Golf course, but Clubhouse too quite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Golf could not be better than this....driving range beautiful. Ladies rooms good, but restaurant and bar facilities fot up to standard.
Looks beautiful,but not busy enough to secure a successful bussiness entity.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DeirdreLoxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Golfer's Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

Pristine Gold Club - great restaurant and bar as well as pro shop. The locker rooms are spacious and clean and the decor is fabulous!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank LaraLeighLegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canterbury
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Absolutely Delightful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

We stayed here for 4 weeks in an apartment overlooking the 18th hole. The course is in immaculate condition and so well manicured. It was a joy to play golf there. It suits all levels of handicap and can be quite challenging with some tricky holes but we enjoyed every game we played. The staff in the pro shop were very friendly and nothing was any trouble to them. The pro shop is very well stocked and very tempting!!!

We played with some lovely people of all abilities, even once with a guy who was once a +2 handicap but we were certainly not intimidated.
The club house is great and serves lovely, very reasonably priced food. After 9 holes there is a compulsory 10 minute stop at the club house but we were amazed at the efficient way that the field flowed. A ranger is on duty so there are virtually no hold ups and the course is played in 4 hours comfortably.

The bonus of our stay was on our last morning when we were having breakfast in the club house who should be coming up the 18 th fairway but Gary Player himself. HE walked over to us and shook hands and had a friendly chat. A real gentleman.

Cannot wait to return next year.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank CanterburyBridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Goose Valley Golf Club also viewed

 
Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to Goose Valley Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing