We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautifully appointed Hotel on the bank of the Keurbooms Lagoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunshowers Beachfront B&B Guesthouse
Ranked #28 of 81 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nelspruit, South Africa
1 review
“A beautifully appointed Hotel on the bank of the Keurbooms Lagoon”
Reviewed 13 February 2013

As newlyweds, my husband and I ventured into Plett and stumbled across this fabulous establishment which couldn't get closer to the beach if it tried! The owner (Anna Marie) is a star and she made our stay a memorable one by serving up delicious breakies and even offered to do our laundry for us! A perfect little hotel in a picturesque part of the world :-).

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Chelsea1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    27
    8
    3
    5
See reviews for
32
39
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2013

We enjoyed an overnight stay here-its superconvenient ,clean and comfortable.The rooms are set up well if a little quirky in their configuration ( it wasnt originally designed for its current use). Walking across to the lagoon was terrific after and before long drives.The breakfast room is fabulous and the meal was the best we had in any similar accomodation during our trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank alandrabkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Sunshowers B&B was in a absolutely perfect location. 1 min walk to the most amazing beach estuary. Absolutely perfect for children as there are no waves and the water is shallow. The accommodation itself provided everything you could need, from kitchen supplies, to DSTV, and even beach towels and access to a canoe. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank cmcbugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Plettenberg bay is one of my favorite if not my favorite destination in the whole world. However in december it can get kind of busy , therefore if you are looking for an affordable B and B that offers beautiful rooms and and a great location on the lagoon then look no further. besides big clean rooms, a great view of the lagoon. Nice owner and a decent breakfast it offers you a the perfect location oppossite the beach. also it gives you the option if you want to be with the crowds you can drive 5 minutes and be in the bustle but if you want absolute relaxation and quite then jsut stay at the B and B.

Room Tip: The only thing this B and B does not have is a pool, so if that is what you want when you are on hol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larryKrug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

When I booked the rate quoted was too high for us but we agreed a 300 rand reduction. When we arrived it was quiet and we were upgraded. Lovely spot, lovely room and good breakfast. What ruined it was the bill presented was the the full price not the agreed price as she had upgraded us. I reminded her of our agreement but she said she talks to a lot of people and couldnt remember. I paid the agreed price but it left a nasty taste and we wont be back. Have to say the miserable owner/manager is the only downside to this property

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pearl, Newfoundland, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Plettenberg Bay was our next stop after a wonderful stay in Oudtshoorn. We were driving the Garden Route to Port Elizabeth and we wanted to do some sightseeing in Knysna, visit the Knysna Elephant Park and go ziplining in Tsitsikamma. Plettenberg Bay seemed like the obvious spot to base ourselves for these activities. We were researching places to stay using TripAdvisor amongst other resources when we came across Sunshowers Plett. The first thing that struck us about this place was the website! It's pretty nice and full of photographs. I think after seeing the pictures they became engraved in our minds and really sold us on the place.

We originally booked Room 3, Self-Catering which for two people came to R580/night. Rooms 1, 2 and 3 are on the ground floor. "Room" 4 is basically a house attached to the back of the main unit and rooms 5 and 6 are upstairs in the main unit along with the dining room and lounge area. The sea can only be seen from the upstairs. There are garages available for you to park your car at no charge if you book one in advance. Otherwise you park outside. The staff do not reside on premises so they're not present beyond 6PM, but the manager is available via cell phone. A night watchman does walk around the property all night 7pm to 7am.

We checked in and were informed that the room we had booked had a problem so we would be in room 6 instead for no extra charge! This would have cost us R920 so it was quite the upgrade. As an upstairs room, it has a great view of the sea. A good spot for a sundowner! You could hear the waves all night. The room has aircon but being the end of September we didn't need it. The ocean breeze was plenty. The decoration was nice with a surfboard on the wall. DSTV in the room as well although I'm not sure what bouquet they had. Took some guessing to figure out what channels were subscribed to! There's a changing room which doubles as locked closets for housekeeping's supplies I believe. En suite bathroom has a shower only. There is a door to the balcony but it's locked unless both rooms 5 and 6 are booked together since it belongs to room 5. Plenty of room to relax. Kayaks available for use even! We were given three keys - one to get into the building, one to get into the hallway/our room (the hall between our room and our bathroom where the dressing area is), and finally a key to get into the bedroom. There is also a panic button attached. Between the electric fencing, panic button and night watchman I think one is very secure at this property, although it all seemed quite over the top as the area is very quiet with no suspicious looking people around or anything! We both felt very safe out walking around, going to the beach and everything. People were out walking their dogs, playing fetch, relaxing. It's a nice area.

The reason I docked a star was for cleanliness. The room itself was pretty clean. Not stellar by any means but adequate. However, the sheets were stained. I assume anyway that they weren't just dirty but stained and not replaced. Since we were only staying the night, we didn't make an issue of it. The wife being a stickler on this sort of thing was not happy at all about it though. She actually told me I should only leave 3 stars!

We woke up in the morning ready to check out and continue on our way but we were offered breakfast first! I knew we had only booked a self-catering room and it was only because of a problem with that room that we were moved up to a better room without self catering facilities. I felt guilty and let the morning staff know that we didn't pay for breakfast, but still they insisted so we didn't refuse! It was a lovely English breakfast (and then some!) with a lovely view and we didn't leave hungry!

Even though we weren't too keen about the sheets, I'm sure they would have corrected it. If we were staying longer, or if they were still on the property when we discovered it, we would have asked them to. I think the free upgrade and free breakfast were both wonderful unexpected touches, although I'm afraid the R920 off season rate for two is a little out of our budget! The additional 30% off they had in August would have made that rate more palatable. If you don't mind a ground floor room without much of a view, then you can do well here price wise. After all, the beach is only seconds away by foot! My wife may require more convincing, but I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms 5 and 6 are the only ones upstairs thus the only ones with an ocean view. That view comes at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vo1one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
2.3 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
676 reviews
1.2 mi away
Plett Beachfront Accommodation
Plett Beachfront Accommodation
#25 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thanda Vista
Thanda Vista
#17 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Bayside Lodge
Bayside Lodge
#3 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
259 reviews
0.5 mi away
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Milkwood Manor on Sea
#6 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
742 reviews
5.6 mi away
Arch Rock Seaside Accommodation
Arch Rock Seaside Accommodation
#4 of 67 in Plettenberg Bay
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshowers Beachfront B&B Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshowers Beachfront B&B Guesthouse

Property: Sunshowers Beachfront B&B Guesthouse
Address: 15 Susan Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunshowers Beachfront B&B Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshowers Plett is located 75 steps from the beach. We offer 6 spacious bedrooms - all en suite. Two of the rooms has sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunshowers Beachfront B&B Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing