We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunshowers Beachfront B&B Guesthouse
Ranked #27 of 81 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sussex, Uk
Level Contributor
85 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

After a 500km car journey and several business appointments, the three of us arrived to find the place locked and empty. Phoned the contact no and manager said she would send someone with a key. Waited half an hour, made more calls. Manager sounded lethargic, said she had problems with her phone. Eventually a girl from a local shop arrived and showed us the rooms. Two smelt strongly of cigarette smoke, the third was lovely: the one used in the publicity. The experience led us to decline the accommodation and to seek rooms elsewhere ( this at 6pm). After a complaint to booking.com, we were promised a refund.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank H2ofizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    27
    8
    3
    5
See reviews for
32
39
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed here for three nights on a tour of the Garden Route and were delighted to discover the room had air conditioning as the area was experiencing high temperatures and humidity. Our little unit had a very efficiently equipped kitchenette and a bathroom with separate walk in shower. The bed was a king sized which isn't always standard. Anne Marie the owner and her team were very helpful with making reservations for restaurants and golf tee times. Although they don't live on site we didn't find this a problem as they were there in plenty of time to set up the breakfast table, and gave us free use of the upstairs sitting area with unspoilt views of the Indian Ocean. The location is perfect for early morning walks on the beach and as far as walking to restaurants, we took a taxi one evening and walked to one of the best restaurants in Plett on another.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surreylady50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sir Lowry's Pass, South Africa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

We were welcomed by lovely Kobus and shown around the self catering unit. The location was perfect for us and my elderly mum and we could walk to the most beautiful lagoon (across the street). The views from the first floor were wonderful and we spent some time in the lounge watching the ever changing views of the lagoon. The ladies at breakfast were amazing and the breakfast wonderful and varied. The most amazing Omelette. We were very happy, however the self catering unit does need some attention, it looks tired and was not very well stocked at all. The second room is more suited to children than another adult. BUT, you couldn't find a better location and the rooms upstairs looked absolutely wonderful,

Room Tip: Get a B&B room with a view - worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh_Ann_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed at 6 different B&B's along the Garden Route. All were fine, but by far the SunShowerss was the best. Must admit it was also the most expensive.
Kovus the acting manager was attentive, smart and well organized, food, good and varied, room large, views of the sea, spectacular.




  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marsha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gobabis
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

45 minutes waiting with two expensive telephone calls until we got our key, room very small, very unfriendly receptionist in the morning, while breakfast instead of music the sounds of a horror-movie of her grandchild behind the reception, only after asking for payment receipt, she told us that she billed us the full amount additional to our payed deposit, so check your bills!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ulrich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

Our travel agent booked the accomm and we were unaware it was away from the main town and we couldn't walk to restaurants. The reception area was closed when we arrived at 5pm and I had to phone the manager to check us in, this entailed an unnecessary expensive phone call from my Australian mobile phone. The bedroom was tastefully furnished but the shower alcove was minuscule. The panic button and the alarm at each bedroom door was intimidating rather than reassuring

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Whyalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

Plett as a stop off point was Ok but not great overall. The hotel was virtually on the beach, clean with friendly staff and a good b'fast. Downsides - a few km out of town. For someone new to SA the need for security and lots of alarms/locks was a little intimidating/scary (as opposed to reassuring). As a B&B it did the job and I would recommend it for those travelling through Plett.



  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RLS_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
2.3 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
1.2 mi away
Plett Beachfront Accommodation
Plett Beachfront Accommodation
#24 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thanda Vista
Thanda Vista
#17 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Bayside Lodge
Bayside Lodge
#3 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.5 mi away
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Milkwood Manor on Sea
#8 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
5.6 mi away
Arch Rock Seaside Accommodation
Arch Rock Seaside Accommodation
#4 of 67 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshowers Beachfront B&B Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshowers Beachfront B&B Guesthouse

Property: Sunshowers Beachfront B&B Guesthouse
Address: 15 Susan Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunshowers Beachfront B&B Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshowers Plett is located 75 steps from the beach. We offer 6 spacious bedrooms - all en suite. Two of the rooms has sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunshowers Beachfront B&B Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing