We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable room with nothing too much trouble.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Robberg Beach Lodge
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Bromham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Comfortable room with nothing too much trouble.”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

This was the final hotel on our tour and it did not disappoint. We were welcomed on arrival and the retsaurants booked for us were exactly what we wanted with good service and excellent food.
Although some of the team were away on training the staff made every effort to make our stay a success.
Situated just back from the beach and a little out of town the hotel has all the conveniences. Our wing had just been completed and the room was superb.
Breakfast was a walk to the main wing and the staff produced a well cooked meal to order; including delicious tasty eggs: The buffet display was comprehensive and would meet anyone's requirement.
It is a pity the rooms do not have two case stands as most tourists are couples living out of suitcases and it would be more convenient and tidier.
The lower pool in the old wing is secluded and charming; I just wish they left the cleaning 'octopus' out during the day as it meant that swimming was restricted by its random movements around the pool.

Importantly the owners have a suite on site and are well aware of how things are: we would have no hesitation about recommending or staying here again.

Room Tip: When booking one should try to get a beach view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe90point5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    184
    68
    32
    13
See reviews for
162
444
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We had a great experience at the Robberg beach lodge. The view is amasing. The lodge is just next to a wonderful beach, a little outside Plett, but it was perfect for us. The room are really nice and comfortable. Staff is very kind and helpful.
I understood they are 4 different lodges there. Ours was great. Definately to recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This place, formerly known as the Cottage Pie, is now a larger, family-owned complex that includes the original Cottage, the Cordovan Vilas and the Robberg itself, totaling around 10 suites, all sharing the same reception, small pool areas and wonderful service. Location is fantastic, just inches away from the beach (cold and windy in February, as we experimented). Maintenance is excellent, decor is in good taste, and rooms are spacious. This is a jewel of a lodge, where every detail is taken care of by its two managers and abundant staff that make you feel at home (that is, if your home is this beautiful). Highlights include the Honesty Bar (you fix your own drink and write down what you owe in a copybook, and prices are honest as well), alarms for the rooms, an amazing lookout terrace to watch the sunsets, private patios and gorgeous views from the warm lobby (not so from the suites as the only one with a sea-view is the "presidential suite" at the Robberg wing). Breakfast is delicious and lavishly served, but can get a bit repetitive after a few days, as the food (salmon, eggs any style, muffins, fruit, cheeses, etc.) is always the same. Great place for couples and families (Europeans and Latin Americans mostly), the only defect I can mention was the total absence of WiFi reception in the rooms, we had to walk a few steps to the lobby each time we needed to connect. Crisis=opportunity, we just didn't connect that much and had a great time. Located 5km (3miles) away from Plett's centre, it's worth every minute spent on your car driving back and forth. One of these places you'd want to buy forever, not just use for a few days. But such is life...

Room Tip: The only room with a sea-view is the "Presidential Suite" at the Robberg House. All others...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Disfrutator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Thanks for your warm and inspiring review and a big thank you for staying with us: we love it when our guests feel at home, and everyone on the team was encouraged by your feedback and support. It was also helpful to get your feedback on views: yes, suites in each of the four villas have quite different views, and I think we need to get pictures of the views from each of the rooms up on to our site, clearly marked. I'll take the pictures later this week and get them loaded as soon as possible. Did you see any of the view suites and view rooms in the front house, Beachy Head Villa? Suites 4 and 6 and Rooms 2, 3 and 5 all have spectacular sea views. And as you say, the Presidential Suite in Robberg House has a beautiful view of the Robberg peninsula. If you didn't get to see the Beachy Head Villa suites, we hope we can welcome you back to enjoy one of these Suites: it would be lovely to see you again. Thanks again for staying with us and all the best to you. Julie Bailey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stormsriver
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

My wife and i spent one night here for our 1st year anniversary. As we are in the industry ourselves we do look at all the finer details .......and this was just fantastic.

From the greeting at the door to the last good byes, everything was perfect. The lodge is situated close to the beach, very close to the beach i should say! Staff was very friendly and helpful, and even offered to make reservations at some of the local restaurants. Rooms are very spacious and attention to detail is spot on.

The Robberg is my new favorite spot in Plett and should be on the must stay places when traveling the Garden Route.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcriller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 7 February 2012

My husband, daughter of 6 months and myself recently enjoyed a stay in a Robberg Suite at the Robberg Beach Lodge and I have to say I was very impressed! I am a frequent traveller and this place ranks among the best, it is stunning! We really enjoyed the 'beach feel' decor, the sea views, the spacious luxury accommodation and the friendly staff. Thank you to The Robberg for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shona p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Had a great stay - wonderful location and great service.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPR_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

An overall great holiday lodge. On one of the best beaches in the world , this lodge is positioned for easy beach access. Modern clean room with a mini kitchen.Air con was a blessing. Wonderful breakfasts and a great selection of cold refreshments served by attentive staff.Great for bird watching and summer sunsets on the top deck.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
1.6 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
548 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
246 reviews
5.9 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#4 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
874 reviews
4.6 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
79 reviews
2.5 mi away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Robberg Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Robberg Beach Lodge

Property: The Robberg Beach Lodge
Address: 89 Beachy Head Drive, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Robberg Beach Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right at the middle of Robberg Beach in Plettenberg Bay, The Robberg Beach Lodge offers twenty-nine rooms in four adjacent villas in a remarkable location. With our wandering garden pathways, two pools, two guest lounges, two honesty bars, and spectacular rooftop terrace, we offer a luxurious and tranquil accommodation experience right on the beach. We welcome children of all ages (book a Suite to enjoy reduced rates for children sharing)and we just love making romantic memories for couples. And don't worry if you've just broken up with your boyfriend: solo travellers get a single-occupancy discount. With its 29 rooms, the Robberg can also cater for larger groups. Our family has been gathering here for nearly twenty years, and we're proud to be able to share our special place with you. Set at the heart of the world-famous Garden Route, Plett is a must for all travellers in South Africa. Its ever-changing sky and seascapes, the unspoilt beauty of its lagoons and beaches, its great restaurants & coffee shops and fabulous nature reserves and sanctuaries will soon have you booking your return trip. Look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Robberg Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing