We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sea, beach and ........”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Robberg Beach Lodge
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2012

When you arrive at the Robberg you already feel like this is going to be special, it is just in front of the sea. The rooms are very spacious and the decoration is fitting the scene.
The service and welcome was great, although we had to wait a little when we arrived to find some-one at the reception desk.
The breakfast was great; really good cupcakes. We were shown activities to do, I would only suggest to add for the active people the walk in the Robberg reserve as this is great.
Really would like to live here as dolphins, the animals I love, just swim by, how great is that.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welletjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Ah, for a dolphin lover, I can't think of a better place to be than the Robberg - what a great thing! Thanks for staying with us, and taking the trouble to post a review. We all loved the profile pic, and hope you had some memorable sightings from your room. We feel very privileged to be able to share our place on the beach with all our guests, and reviews like yours remind us of that privilege. Thank you. Best wishes from the Bailey Family and the Robberg Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (764)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

616 - 622 of 765 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2012

Having just completed the Otter Trail, we stayed at the Robberg for 2 nights to relax our weary legs. What a place to recuperate. Stunning location, beautiful lodge, friendly staff (who had some excellent tips on where to dine out), delicious breakfasts at the lodge. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here - pricy, but worth it, and I would certainly return

Room Tip: Between a group of us, we had rented out 3 rooms. They were all spacious, well furnished, and had ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

And your review made US feel like Kings - thanks for that, and for choosing us to recover from the Otter Trail. What a great combination holiday - walking one of the most beautiful stretches of coastline around, and then recuperating right on Robberg Beach. Hope to welcome you back some time soon. Best wishes from the Bailey Family and the Robberg Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Our stay here was one of five accommodations on our holiday in South Africa. Travelling out of season, we had the place virtually to ourselves, particularly the beach. Every member of staff made us feel welcome - almost freaking out when we insisted on walking to our restaurant on the first night!

Beautifullylocated but you do need to hire a car (or taxi) to get around. However, it didn't stop my husband from playing two rounds of golf, and whilst it was not the right time of year for sunbathing, the dolphins more than made up for it during our long walks on the beach.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKavanagh2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Golf and dolphins... that's a Plett holiday for you! Thanks for staying with us and for posting such a lovely review: we really value your support. Hope the rest of your holiday was just as relaxing, and that you had a great time in South Africa. Hope we see you again. Til then, best wishes from the Robberg team and the Bailey family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Spent one night at Cottage Pie and will definitely be returning for a longer stay. Spectacular views across the whole of Robberg Beach and one can literally roll out of bed into the ocean. Large rooms with great en-suite bathrooms and quality bedding. Friendly, helpful staff. Highly recommended - this place is even better than it looks in the photos.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DleG30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Wow, we couldn't hope for a better review. Thank you for choosing us and for posting such a great review - loved the description of rolling out of bed onto the beach. It's a great description of how it feels in the front rooms! Hope we get to welcome you back sometime for some more Robberg R&R. All the best from the Robberg team and the Bailey family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

It was a dream to spend five nights at The Robberg Beach Lodge. This lodge was a real oasis, situated right in front of an amazing blue flag beach. The staff were friendly and efficient; the rooms were clean, spacious and beautifully decorated and the breakfasts were delicious! A real treat was that we had the facilities of a private swimming pool at Cottage Pie Lodge, as well as braaing facilities. Thanks for your hospitality and I only hope I'll be back to stay sometime soon.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry-Robyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

What a terrific review: thank you! Thanks for staying with us, and for going to the trouble to post your feedback. A five night stay is just perfect: glad you got the chance to really settle in and enjoy the facilities. The Cottage Pie pool is a great quiet spot, and it's lovely to know that it worked for you. Particularly for long stays, it's nice to have the option of not eating out, and enjoying a more home-style evening with a braai. Hope to welcome you back soon. All the best from the Robberg Team and the Bailey Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We stayed at Cottage Pie, and just loved every minute of it. Great rooms, friendly service and such a great location right on the beach ! would highly recommend !

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fletchkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Thanks for choosing us, and it's great to hear you had a good stay with us. Your review picked up on all the things we love about the Robberg: especially the location. We love sharing this very special place with great guests: hope to welcome you back soon. Best regards from the Robberg Team and the Bailey Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Only stayed there overnight, but the lodge was beautiful. The rooms were spacious, clean and well decorated. The proximity to the beach was awesome.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Thanks for staying with us, and for taking the time to post a review. We really appreciate it. It's good to hear you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to welcome you back for a longer stay some time. Best regards from the Robberg Team and the Bailey Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
1.6 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
566 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
259 reviews
5.9 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
376 reviews
4.6 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
81 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#3 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Robberg Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Robberg Beach Lodge

Address: 89 Beachy Head Drive, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: £78 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Robberg Beach Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right at the middle of Robberg Beach in Plettenberg Bay, The Robberg Beach Lodge offers twenty-nine rooms in four adjacent villas in a remarkable location. With our wandering garden pathways, two pools, two guest lounges, two honesty bars, and spectacular rooftop terrace, we offer a luxurious and tranquil accommodation experience right on the beach. We welcome children of all ages (book a Suite to enjoy reduced rates for children sharing)and we just love making romantic memories for couples. And don't worry if you've just broken up with your boyfriend: solo travellers get a single-occupancy discount. With its 29 rooms, the Robberg can also cater for larger groups. Our family has been gathering here for nearly twenty years, and we're proud to be able to share our special place with you. Set at the heart of the world-famous Garden Route, Plett is a must for all travellers in South Africa. Its ever-changing sky and seascapes, the unspoilt beauty of its lagoons and beaches, its great restaurants & coffee shops and fabulous nature reserves and sanctuaries will soon have you booking your return trip. Look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Robberg Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing