We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Robberg Beach Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Sky Villa Boutique Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
US$124
US$120
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Plettenberg Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
US$357
US$335
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tsala Treetop Lodge(Harkerville)
US$925
US$866
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodge On The Bay(Plettenberg Bay)
US$323
US$312
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Africa Rooms(Plettenberg Bay)(Great Value!)
US$157
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bayview Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
US$64
US$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plett River Lodge(Plettenberg Bay)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Beacon Island Resort(Plettenberg Bay)
bedfinder
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kurland Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (841)
Filter reviews
841 results
Traveller rating
475
218
89
44
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
475
218
89
44
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscottage piehonesty barbeachy headrobberg beachsea viewopposite the beachgarden routean upgradebeautiful roomwonderful beachnature reservesmall poolhot breakfastexcellent accommodationbeach towelsbeautiful locationindian ocean
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
669 - 674 of 841 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We recently arrived at Plettenberg Bay planning on staying for two days. Almost instantly and in spite of our tight itinerary, we extended to three days. I can't add to what others have written about the quality and comfort of the lodge and its rooms. What I can say is that Chantel is a fantastic manager - nothing is a problem and she goes way beyond the expected in providing assistance. Without exception, the staff mirror Chantel's pleasant helpfulness. And the breakfast is just about as good as you will get at any lodge. We arrived just before the season turned, so we got exceptional value for money.

Room Tip: Get a first floor room with a sea view - it's fantastic!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poropat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

What a super review - thank you! Great to hear you stayed an extra night with us: that's what it's all about. We're glad to hear the team made everything as comfortable as possible for you: we aim to please and the whole team is encouraged by your feedback. I agree, the pre-season window is a magical time in Plett; glad you were able to enjoy it with us. Best regards from the Robberg Team and the Bailey Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

When you arrive at the Robberg you already feel like this is going to be special, it is just in front of the sea. The rooms are very spacious and the decoration is fitting the scene.
The service and welcome was great, although we had to wait a little when we arrived to find some-one at the reception desk.
The breakfast was great; really good cupcakes. We were shown activities to do, I would only suggest to add for the active people the walk in the Robberg reserve as this is great.
Really would like to live here as dolphins, the animals I love, just swim by, how great is that.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welletjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Ah, for a dolphin lover, I can't think of a better place to be than the Robberg - what a great thing! Thanks for staying with us, and taking the trouble to post a review. We all loved the profile pic, and hope you had some memorable sightings from your room. We feel very privileged to be able to share our place on the beach with all our guests, and reviews like yours remind us of that privilege. Thank you. Best wishes from the Bailey Family and the Robberg Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Having just completed the Otter Trail, we stayed at the Robberg for 2 nights to relax our weary legs. What a place to recuperate. Stunning location, beautiful lodge, friendly staff (who had some excellent tips on where to dine out), delicious breakfasts at the lodge. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here - pricy, but worth it, and I would certainly return

Room Tip: Between a group of us, we had rented out 3 rooms. They were all spacious, well furnished, and had excellent linen. Not sure there are any mediocre rooms.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

And your review made US feel like Kings - thanks for that, and for choosing us to recover from the Otter Trail. What a great combination holiday - walking one of the most beautiful stretches of coastline around, and then recuperating right on Robberg Beach. Hope to welcome you back some time soon. Best wishes from the Bailey Family and the Robberg Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Our stay here was one of five accommodations on our holiday in South Africa. Travelling out of season, we had the place virtually to ourselves, particularly the beach. Every member of staff made us feel welcome - almost freaking out when we insisted on walking to our restaurant on the first night!

Beautifullylocated but you do need to hire a car (or taxi) to get around. However, it didn't stop my husband from playing two rounds of golf, and whilst it was not the right time of year for sunbathing, the dolphins more than made up for it during our long walks on the beach.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKavanagh2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Golf and dolphins... that's a Plett holiday for you! Thanks for staying with us and for posting such a lovely review: we really value your support. Hope the rest of your holiday was just as relaxing, and that you had a great time in South Africa. Hope we see you again. Til then, best wishes from the Robberg team and the Bailey family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Spent one night at Cottage Pie and will definitely be returning for a longer stay. Spectacular views across the whole of Robberg Beach and one can literally roll out of bed into the ocean. Large rooms with great en-suite bathrooms and quality bedding. Friendly, helpful staff. Highly recommended - this place is even better than it looks in the photos.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DleG30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Wow, we couldn't hope for a better review. Thank you for choosing us and for posting such a great review - loved the description of rolling out of bed onto the beach. It's a great description of how it feels in the front rooms! Hope we get to welcome you back sometime for some more Robberg R&R. All the best from the Robberg team and the Bailey family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews