We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Let down by service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Robberg Beach Lodge
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Let down by service”
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Lovely place (but it is a pure B&B with no opportunity to eat nearby or buy food during the day) but let down by staff, who with some exceptions, made you feel the place was run for the benefit of the staff and management rather than the guests. For example a restaurant was recommended for one evening and we were told a reservation would be made, but when we arrived the restaurant was closed. When we went to check out, we were made to wait whilst a lengthy telephone conversation with a colleague was completed, the discussion being whether they should raise their rates for next season and if so should they offer discounts. Not really a subject to discuss in public with a guest waiting; they then wanted to charge us for several drinks we had not consumed.

It is a shame that the service and services fall short of the image they wish to project.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRLondon105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    173
    63
    30
    13
See reviews for
146
420
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

A prime location - directly at a stunning beach and with secure parking behind the building. Beautiful room and very friendly staff. Close to Plettenberg Bay's attractions and located in a nice neighbourhood. Absolutely recommendable!

Room Tip: rooms in the rear parts are more noisy (if your next door neighbour is snoring) but cosy and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hippokrates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, USA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

This place was exactly as we expected it to be, based on their website. We appreciated the friendliness of the staff, the breakfasts, and the complimentary beach chairs and umbrellas (on a first-come-first-serve basis, which was fine as we had no expectation that these things would be provided at all). Twenty steps from one of the best beaches in the world. Comfortable mattresses. Clean rooms. What more can one ask for?

Room Tip: Avoid the room in the main building that is on the same level as the reception area. Although this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PHS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We stayed here recently for 2 nights on our honeymoon. It is in a great location, directly across the road from the entrance to Robberg Beach. The rooms are big and spacious and the views from the top terrace are fab! It is a short drive to the Robberg Nature Reserve which has breathtaking views of Plettenberg Bay. I would definitely recommend staying here!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trishastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights on a recent visit to SA. The Lodge has the perfect beach location, with direct access, however it is quiet a walk from the main street of bars & restaurants (be sure to drive or get a taxi for going out in the evening!)

The communal areas are very well decorated & clean, we were most impressed. Our room was very spacious and extremely clean although we were not lucky enough to get a beach view room. Service from house keeping and breakfast staff was excellant, they could not do enough for you.

We enjoyed our stay immensely and would recommend to friends. However, i should point out that as we were totally new to the area and had no local knowledge as we visited from outside SA, maybe we should have been informed when we checked in of how busy Plett is during this time of year and that restaurants and taxis needed booking well in advance. This would have made our first couple of nights a lot easier!

Otherwise, a very nice place with very pleasant staff. Recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imafairy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We spent 3 nights of our honeymoon in the robberg beach lodge. The location was fantastic right opposite the beach. The staff especially Beth were extremely helpful and accomodating. The breakfast was the best we had on our 3 week trip. Only downside and its a small one would be the lack of a lunch or snack service if you wanted to lounge around for the day. We would highly recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Culhanesc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

What a beautiful Lodge, excellent service (5 star), location is one of the best in this country. We received outstanding service from a team that exceeded every need we had as a family. The breakfast is outstanding and they catered for my children's needs which included items not on the normal breakfast menu. Nothing was too much for the management to arrange, they arranged our activities for us immediately and we felt as if we were being treated as royalty. The location is right on Robberg beach and again my kids were provided with beach towels, umbrellas and buckets and spades to entertain themselves on the beach. When a request for dinner to be bought in for us, the display of this was outstanding and presentation on the pool deck at Beach Head was an absolutely awesome experience. There would be no other place in Plett that I would stay at besides The Robberg Beach Lodge. Compliments to Chantel and her team for making us feel so comfortable, relaxed and an experience we will never forgot.

Room Tip: Honestly they have 2 pools on site which cater for relaxation and some good quality bonding time wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PETraveller1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
1.6 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
533 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
236 reviews
5.9 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
134 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#4 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
811 reviews
4.6 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Robberg Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Robberg Beach Lodge

Property: The Robberg Beach Lodge
Address: 89 Beachy Head Drive, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Robberg Beach Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right at the middle of Robberg Beach in Plettenberg Bay, The Robberg Beach Lodge offers twenty-nine rooms in four adjacent villas in a remarkable location. With our wandering garden pathways, two pools, two guest lounges, two honesty bars, and spectacular rooftop terrace, we offer a luxurious and tranquil accommodation experience right on the beach. We welcome children of all ages (book a Suite to enjoy reduced rates for children sharing)and we just love making romantic memories for couples. And don't worry if you've just broken up with your boyfriend: solo travellers get a single-occupancy discount. With its 29 rooms, the Robberg can also cater for larger groups. Our family has been gathering here for nearly twenty years, and we're proud to be able to share our special place with you. Set at the heart of the world-famous Garden Route, Plett is a must for all travellers in South Africa. Its ever-changing sky and seascapes, the unspoilt beauty of its lagoons and beaches, its great restaurants & coffee shops and fabulous nature reserves and sanctuaries will soon have you booking your return trip. Look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Robberg Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing