We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of heaven on earth.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Robberg Beach Lodge
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A piece of heaven on earth.”
Reviewed 21 March 2013

This is an amazing place to stay.
We stayed our first night in a room with sea view. It was AMAZING!
The room was large, clean and had a balcony. The view was out of this world. I am kind of lost for words to describe this place.
We asked reception every night for places to go for dinner and they had honest great suggestions.
The second night we stayed in a garden room. Again the room was very large and clean. The bathroom was really big and with bath and walk in shower.
There is a large 2 level roof terrace where you can hang out at night, look at stars and the sea and also use a built in BBQ if you wanted to.
Breakfast was served in the garden by the pool and it was great.
They also had a honesty bar where you could buy wine and other beverages.
Off street parking was available. The beach is literally a two minute walk away.
Service was excellent, very friendly and helpful staff.
I miss this place the most of all the amazing places we stayed in South Africa.

Room Tip: Book a room with a sea view. It is a bit more expensive, but deffo worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fortheloveofreise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Ah, what a lovely review! thank you for staying with us and for taking the trouble to post a review. We really appreciate the encouragement and it makes our day to hear about your experience. I think you had the best of the Robberg, spending some time in a view room and some time in one of the lovely garden rooms. Glad to hear you discovered the joys of the terrace. Many whiskies have been drunk up there while we study the stars! Hope the rest of your trip was wonderful, and we hope to be able to welcome you back sometime. Best wishes from the Bailey Family and the Robberg Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    174
    65
    31
    13
See reviews for
150
433
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
114 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We stayed at the lodge three nights at room R 9. This is a roomy suite decorated with very good taste. Stacks of windows to open so aircon at night is hardly necessary. in March anyway. Good views of the Robberg with a bit of sea in the forefront. The terrace is a bit small and lacks lounge chairs. Inside, the salon is very comfortable but strangely we could not get CNN on the TV. In the main house, the reading area is also well decorated. The service is good. Breakfast is good even if the croissants are not the greatest. The pool area is small and tend to be windy ( that is Plett for you !). The beach is across the road, and what a beach ! About 3 Kms long for you to walk up and down or just lie around. My suggestion would be for the lodge to install on request a couple of lounge chairs with umbrellas on the beach for the guests . The walk around the Robberg peninsula is a must. The entrance is about 5 Kms from the lodge (go by car and park ) and the longest walk ( i.e. to the point ) is +- 10 kms long. A bit hard at times but beautiful views of both sides of the Robberg ( very different from one another ).

Room Tip: The suites are nice but have limited sea views. The rooms in the main house have better sea views bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andresonville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
What a great review - thank you! We're so pleased to hear about your time with us, and to have been able to be part of your holiday memories. Glad you were able to stay in Room 9: it's such a peaceful room. Thanks for the suggestion about the umbrellas and loungers - great idea, and we've brought in some umbrellas and chairs for guests to use on the beach. We agree, the beach walks and the nature reserve walks are an essential part of the Robberg experience. We walk the beach nearly every day that we're there, and are pretty big fans too. Hope your return journey was smooth and safe, and hope we'll see you again at our place by the sea. Best wishes from the Baileys and the Robberg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed 6 nights at the Cordovan Villa (room C5) and it was just perfect for us. A lovely King size bedroom, 2 bathrooms, a separate living room and outside balcony with patio furniture. The villa is a few steps away from a beautiful, quiet beach (compared to those you get in Europe!) although the water is cold and there are a LOT of waves (which makes swimming difficult).

Breakfasts were good and plentiful, staff were friendly and helpful and the manageress was around every day to deal with any enquiries/bookings etc. The only slight negative is that you do need to drive everywhere or get taxis as there are no amenities within walking distance. Not a problem if you have a car as Plettenberg Bay is only a 10minute drive away.

Would recommend this place if you would like a nice quiet, relaxing break.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ikkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
What a lovely long holiday with us: and the perfect room for it. Thanks for choosing us, and for taking the time to post a review. It means a great deal to us to know when we're getting it right, so thank you from all of us for the encouragement. The Cordovan Suite is a great place for a long stay, with its lounge and verandah. We've had more than one bottle of wine out there ourselves! Trust you found some good places to eat out: Plett has a lovely selection. Best wishes to you and yours, and thanks again for staying with us - the Baileys and the Robberg team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

In a beautiful position opposite a stunning beach and a short drive away from some shops and excellent restaurants. Our room was very spacious with an enormous bathroom and huge bed! Loved the little quotes and chocolates left on the bed each evening by the staff.Towels were provided for the pool and beach and breakfast was excellent and very fresh. The decor throughout was very clean and contemporary. Loved the fact that a laundry service was provided. Will definitely be returning and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Well worth paying for a deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Thanks for such a breath-of-fresh-air review, and for the encouragement and support. We really appreciate it. You picked up on so many of the things that we like about the Robberg, and it's a treat to be able to share our beloved place by the sea with special people. Hope your return to the cold wasn't too shocking, and that all's well with your brand new grandson! Best wishes from us all at the Robberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pointe aux Canonniers
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Clean and spacious room, nice breakfast, average service compared to the price, small swimming pool (in front of stairs and without any service : bar, towels, ...), very bad internet connection, no sea view from the bedrooms (only at the entrance!)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellefroid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Lovely place (but it is a pure B&B with no opportunity to eat nearby or buy food during the day) but let down by staff, who with some exceptions, made you feel the place was run for the benefit of the staff and management rather than the guests. For example a restaurant was recommended for one evening and we were told a reservation would be made, but when we arrived the restaurant was closed. When we went to check out, we were made to wait whilst a lengthy telephone conversation with a colleague was completed, the discussion being whether they should raise their rates for next season and if so should they offer discounts. Not really a subject to discuss in public with a guest waiting; they then wanted to charge us for several drinks we had not consumed.

It is a shame that the service and services fall short of the image they wish to project.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRLondon105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

A prime location - directly at a stunning beach and with secure parking behind the building. Beautiful room and very friendly staff. Close to Plettenberg Bay's attractions and located in a nice neighbourhood. Absolutely recommendable!

Room Tip: rooms in the rear parts are more noisy (if your next door neighbour is snoring) but cosy and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hippokrates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
1.6 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#3 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
5.9 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#4 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
4.6 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Robberg Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Robberg Beach Lodge

Property: The Robberg Beach Lodge
Address: 89 Beachy Head Drive, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Robberg Beach Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right at the middle of Robberg Beach in Plettenberg Bay, The Robberg Beach Lodge offers twenty-nine rooms in four adjacent villas in a remarkable location. With our wandering garden pathways, two pools, two guest lounges, two honesty bars, and spectacular rooftop terrace, we offer a luxurious and tranquil accommodation experience right on the beach. We welcome children of all ages (book a Suite to enjoy reduced rates for children sharing)and we just love making romantic memories for couples. And don't worry if you've just broken up with your boyfriend: solo travellers get a single-occupancy discount. With its 29 rooms, the Robberg can also cater for larger groups. Our family has been gathering here for nearly twenty years, and we're proud to be able to share our special place with you. Set at the heart of the world-famous Garden Route, Plett is a must for all travellers in South Africa. Its ever-changing sky and seascapes, the unspoilt beauty of its lagoons and beaches, its great restaurants & coffee shops and fabulous nature reserves and sanctuaries will soon have you booking your return trip. Look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Robberg Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing