We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic beach lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Robberg Beach Lodge
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
bogota
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic beach lodge”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I stayed here with friends for one night (unfortunately) and we had a great experience.
The reception was really nice, they offered us drinks upon arrival, our room was clean, modern and very comfortable.
The staff were amazing, the breakfast has everything you want!
It's located in front of the beach, just 1-2 minutes walk from the beach.
The perfect place to have beach holidays.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pabstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Thanks for such a lovely review: it makes a real difference to us on Tripadvisor, and has put a smile on everyone's face :). Hope you were here during this last stretch of fantastic weather: I love this time of year, when Plett town quietens down a bit as all the SA holiday makers go back to school and work, but the weather is still so great. The best time for long walks on Robberg Beach and slow dinners at Scotties. Hope to see you again here at our place by the sea. Til then, happy travels and best wishes from the Baileys and the Robberg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    186
    70
    33
    13
See reviews for
167
447
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cape town
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

A warm welcome to boutique chic. Not an easy combination but the Robberg pulls it off. Whilst not every bedroom has a sea view, the lounge area does and what a view! An amazing spot with beautiful, spacious interiors and grounds. But no matter how lovely a place is, what matters to us is whether the staff are happy at work and this was very evident on our stay. Happy, smiling service from a lovely team even though we knew it was the end of season when people are tired. Thanks for a memorable stay and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeTownJosiejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
What a ray of sunshine to get your lovely review - thank you! Great to have you staying with us and to get such nice feedback on the decor and our team. Hope we can welcome you back soon to our special place by the sea. All the best to you from the Baileys and the Robberg team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We were really impressed with the Robberg Beach Lodge...It's a lovely beach retreat - it's very modern and had a chic feel. Rooms were very spacious, have all the necessary mod-cons, very clean and the bathroom were brand new with a big bath and walk in shower... Other reviews said the place lacks charm - but I feel for a beach retreat it worked. It was modern, clean and cool...
We were greeted by a friendly manager who brought us drinks upon arrival and let us check in early. The retreat is seconds away from the beach and about a 10 minutes drive into town.
There was a good selection of hot and cold food at breakfast too.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misslcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Ah what a great review! Thanks - we really appreciate it. It's great to get all kinds of feedback, but especially good for the team to hear about it when we get it right. Smiles all round. We're glad you had a good stay with us, and hope we can welcome you back again. Safe travels home, and all the best from the Bailey family and the Robberg team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

The last review has it exactly right. 6 of us travelled through SA for 2 plus weeks and this was our least favourite hotel.

Curt welcome. The white, lady manager bordered on rude at welcome and treated one of her black baggage handling staff sharply during our check-out (those of us who witnessed it were shocked at her tone, language).

Rooms are large and clean, but there is an antiseptic feel to the place -- lacking in charm or warmth. The secondary staff, other than the manager, are helpful and friendly, but there is a sad obsequiousness to their interaction with guests that we all noted. We speculated on whether the manager's treatment of staff based on our observations was the cause.

Would not return.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SKD13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Hi there Thanks for staying with us and for letting us know where we didn't get it right. It's always good to learn and we need to know about it when we get it wrong. It seems to me you and the last reviewer were travelling together, so I hope you don't mind if I respond to your reviews together. I'll be in touch with you individually as well.

I'm sorry we didn't hit the mark for you and your friends (below) with decor. We're always looking to improve, and I've been dying to add some more touches and layers. In fact, I have a store room full of lovely things ready to go, for when it quietens down a bit and I can get into the rooms. We're hoping to get in straight after Easter, and are excited about seeing the results.

We're all very concerned to hear about your impressions of the staff: this isn't what we're about at all, and I'd like to get to the bottom of it. I'll send you a follow up email in this regard.

in the meantime, all the very best to you and your fellow travellers: hope the rest of your trip was wonderful. Regards from the Bailey Family and the Robberg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

The rooms and bathrooms are large, and the facility was clean, but the whole feel was verging on institutional. The feel was closer to a brand new Holiday Inn rather than a luxury boutique hotel. The front desk service was curt and there was no warmth or welcome on arrival. At best the greeting was perfunctory.

Compared to the website and other ratings on this site we were underwhelmed. There is nothing wrong with the hotel, but it is averaged or this sort of property.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Hi there Thanks for staying with us and for letting us know about the issue you had with staff and service during your stay with us.

I'm sorry we didn't hit the mark for you and your friends (above) with decor. We're always looking to improve, and I've been dying to add some more touches and layers. In fact, I have a store room full of lovely things ready to go, for when it quietens down a bit and I can get into the rooms. We're hoping to get in straight after Easter, and are excited about seeing the results.

We're all very concerned to hear about your impressions of the staff: this isn't what we're about at all, and I'd like to get to the bottom of it. I'll send you a follow up email in this regard.

in the meantime, all the very best to you and your fellow travellers: hope the rest of your trip was wonderful. Regards from the Bailey Family and the Robberg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

This is an amazing place to stay.
We stayed our first night in a room with sea view. It was AMAZING!
The room was large, clean and had a balcony. The view was out of this world. I am kind of lost for words to describe this place.
We asked reception every night for places to go for dinner and they had honest great suggestions.
The second night we stayed in a garden room. Again the room was very large and clean. The bathroom was really big and with bath and walk in shower.
There is a large 2 level roof terrace where you can hang out at night, look at stars and the sea and also use a built in BBQ if you wanted to.
Breakfast was served in the garden by the pool and it was great.
They also had a honesty bar where you could buy wine and other beverages.
Off street parking was available. The beach is literally a two minute walk away.
Service was excellent, very friendly and helpful staff.
I miss this place the most of all the amazing places we stayed in South Africa.

Room Tip: Book a room with a sea view. It is a bit more expensive, but deffo worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fortheloveofreise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Ah, what a lovely review! thank you for staying with us and for taking the trouble to post a review. We really appreciate the encouragement and it makes our day to hear about your experience. I think you had the best of the Robberg, spending some time in a view room and some time in one of the lovely garden rooms. Glad to hear you discovered the joys of the terrace. Many whiskies have been drunk up there while we study the stars! Hope the rest of your trip was wonderful, and we hope to be able to welcome you back sometime. Best wishes from the Bailey Family and the Robberg Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We stayed at the lodge three nights at room R 9. This is a roomy suite decorated with very good taste. Stacks of windows to open so aircon at night is hardly necessary. in March anyway. Good views of the Robberg with a bit of sea in the forefront. The terrace is a bit small and lacks lounge chairs. Inside, the salon is very comfortable but strangely we could not get CNN on the TV. In the main house, the reading area is also well decorated. The service is good. Breakfast is good even if the croissants are not the greatest. The pool area is small and tend to be windy ( that is Plett for you !). The beach is across the road, and what a beach ! About 3 Kms long for you to walk up and down or just lie around. My suggestion would be for the lodge to install on request a couple of lounge chairs with umbrellas on the beach for the guests . The walk around the Robberg peninsula is a must. The entrance is about 5 Kms from the lodge (go by car and park ) and the longest walk ( i.e. to the point ) is +- 10 kms long. A bit hard at times but beautiful views of both sides of the Robberg ( very different from one another ).

Room Tip: The suites are nice but have limited sea views. The rooms in the main house have better sea views bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andresonville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
What a great review - thank you! We're so pleased to hear about your time with us, and to have been able to be part of your holiday memories. Glad you were able to stay in Room 9: it's such a peaceful room. Thanks for the suggestion about the umbrellas and loungers - great idea, and we've brought in some umbrellas and chairs for guests to use on the beach. We agree, the beach walks and the nature reserve walks are an essential part of the Robberg experience. We walk the beach nearly every day that we're there, and are pretty big fans too. Hope your return journey was smooth and safe, and hope we'll see you again at our place by the sea. Best wishes from the Baileys and the Robberg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
1.6 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
552 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
249 reviews
5.9 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
371 reviews
4.6 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
80 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#4 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Robberg Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Robberg Beach Lodge

Property: The Robberg Beach Lodge
Address: 89 Beachy Head Drive, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Robberg Beach Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right at the middle of Robberg Beach in Plettenberg Bay, The Robberg Beach Lodge offers twenty-nine rooms in four adjacent villas in a remarkable location. With our wandering garden pathways, two pools, two guest lounges, two honesty bars, and spectacular rooftop terrace, we offer a luxurious and tranquil accommodation experience right on the beach. We welcome children of all ages (book a Suite to enjoy reduced rates for children sharing)and we just love making romantic memories for couples. And don't worry if you've just broken up with your boyfriend: solo travellers get a single-occupancy discount. With its 29 rooms, the Robberg can also cater for larger groups. Our family has been gathering here for nearly twenty years, and we're proud to be able to share our special place with you. Set at the heart of the world-famous Garden Route, Plett is a must for all travellers in South Africa. Its ever-changing sky and seascapes, the unspoilt beauty of its lagoons and beaches, its great restaurants & coffee shops and fabulous nature reserves and sanctuaries will soon have you booking your return trip. Look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Robberg Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing