We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely THE place to stay in Plettenberg !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Robberg Beach Lodge
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Definitely THE place to stay in Plettenberg !”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Chantel, Beth and the rest of the team made our stay in Plettenberg extra special. Nothing was too much trouble. They made reservations for us, organised packed breakfasts (once at very short notice) and decorated the breakfast table on the day of my parents' 50th wedding anniversary.

The rooms were lovely, beautifully decorated with awesome sea views.

The team are very knowledgeable about the area and have great contacts for trips / restaurants / taxis etc.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a sea view - it's unmissable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
A 50th wedding anniversary is a big lifetime moment, and we're honoured to have you to celebrate it with us. Thanks for choosing us, and for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Here's to many more happy years together for your folks, and maybe we'll get to celebrate the 60th anniversary with you all! Best wishes from all of us at the Robberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    179
    66
    31
    13
See reviews for
156
439
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

A quaint and relaxed B&B, with excellent service. Rooms are spacious and in a country beach style and a great place to chill out. There is a common living and kitchen area nearby, good for longer vacations.

Breakfast was awesome, a buffet of fresh salad and cereals and you could order sizzling hot bacon and eggs. Having it by the pool side in the fresh air is divine! Always a great start for our days in the Garden Route.

Staff was always friendly and helpful, recommending dinner venues and making reservations for us.

I have no idea why other reviewers feel badly about this accommodation, but to me, this was excellent service from the Robberg group.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LonelyPlanet80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We completed a two-night stay just over one week ago.

The property is beautiful and the service fantastic. The rooms are modern, renovated and very comfortable.

All of the staff is very friendly and accommodating. The advice provided for restaurants (there is no on-site restaurant), shopping and sightseeing was all fantastic. The breakfasts are delicious and the common areas are immaculate.

The ocean views are simply fantastic. The only drawback is that most of the rooms in this property don’t have direct ocean views so you need to make sure to reserve one ahead of time. If it’s the off season you may luck out and get a good discount on an ocean view suite or an upgrade but that can’t be guaranteed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BTS836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Wow, thank you for a wonderful review. It's great to hear about your time at the Robberg, and to hear that your restaurant and sightseeing experiences were so good. Thanks too for the good advice to other guests about the view rooms. We try to upgrade to view rooms whenever possible, but they are in such demand that it's not always possible. So it's good advice to book these as far ahead of time as possible. Otherwise, the lounge, rooftop terrace and front deck offer great views, and the beach is just 50m away. Hope to see you again at our little paradise. Best wishes til then from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

How funny that the previous reviewer was on honeymoon, as we were too!

When we made our booking, we had paid an upgrade for a seaview, and were really pleased we had, the view is stunning. A huge beach that stretched for miles, and with virtually nobody on it.
We got up early on the first morning to watch the sunrise of the bay, which was a real life moment (see pictures!). The only slight disadvantage is that you're a short drive out of town for your evening meal.

The staff were VERY helpful, and anxious to help wherever they could, and provided suggestions of places to eat, things to do.
Good hearty breakfast.
Chic coastal decor that's light bright and airy.

Our room was perhaps one of the smaller sea view rooms, so if you can upgrade to a corner room (twin aspect) then I would try to.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anglo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
What a lovely thing to have you with us for such a special occasion. I loved your description of your great moment watching the sunrise. We've been lucky to have a few of those ourselves, and the magic never fades. Here's to many more great life moments for the two of you as you start your journey together. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to be able to raise a glass with you for an anniversary some time in the future. All the best from the Baileys and the Robberg team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Robberg was great! This was our third stop on our honeymoon and after a 6 hr drive from wine country we were exhausted; the staff waited late and was very accomodating!!!! Despite it being low season and relatively quiet, we found the Robberg to be a great place. The room was beautiful and the service superb....and the beach completely stole the show!!!! Only challenge was finding a restaurant open during low season.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
What a privilege to be part of your honeymoon - thanks for choosing us, and for such a great review. It's lovely to hear about your experience at the Robberg - yep, we think that amazing beach is the star of the show too - and here's to many happy years together filled with friendship, love, and (hopefully) more visits to the Robberg. Best wishes for all your new beginnings, from the Baileys and the Robberg Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We only had the opportunity to spend one night at this fabulous property but we made the most of it. We were upgraded to absolutely stunning rooms and had the opportunity to utilise the upper deck with our own bottles of wine to enjoy the spectacular sunset. The hotel is gorgeous, the staff amazing and the rooms over the top comfortable. Breakfast was fantastic, probably the best omelette I have ever had in my life! Thank you for such amazing South African hospitality and cannot wait to see you again!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful but if you can get an upgrade to the main lodge you will be in heaven!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globalattitude2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Music to our ears - thank you for your lovely review. I loved hearing that you had some good moments on the view terrace: it's my favourite place at the Robberg, and we've had a few good bottles of wine up there ourselves, sorting out the problems of the world. It's great to be able to share it with guests who feel its magic. Thanks for staying with us and we look forward to that return visit. Best regards from the Baileys and the Robberg team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nerja, Spain
Level Contributor
132 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

What a pity that winter had just started to set in when we arrived in April, because this must be one of the world's most beautiful beach boutique-hotel.
The owner had upgraded us to a suite, and the room was so new that it almost still had the celophane wrap on it! ( and, for the first time in SA it was equipped with plug points that were europe-friendly !)The breakfast was wonderful and the staff could not have been more attentive.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
What a fantastic review - thank you! You have us all walking on air. Thanks for choosing the Robberg. I'm glad we could do the upgrade, and glad that European plug helped make your stay more comfy. Hope we can welcome you back sometime. Until then, best wishes from all of us at the Robberg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
1.6 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
547 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
242 reviews
5.9 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
138 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
369 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#4 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Robberg Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Robberg Beach Lodge

Property: The Robberg Beach Lodge
Address: 89 Beachy Head Drive, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Robberg Beach Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right at the middle of Robberg Beach in Plettenberg Bay, The Robberg Beach Lodge offers twenty-nine rooms in four adjacent villas in a remarkable location. With our wandering garden pathways, two pools, two guest lounges, two honesty bars, and spectacular rooftop terrace, we offer a luxurious and tranquil accommodation experience right on the beach. We welcome children of all ages (book a Suite to enjoy reduced rates for children sharing)and we just love making romantic memories for couples. And don't worry if you've just broken up with your boyfriend: solo travellers get a single-occupancy discount. With its 29 rooms, the Robberg can also cater for larger groups. Our family has been gathering here for nearly twenty years, and we're proud to be able to share our special place with you. Set at the heart of the world-famous Garden Route, Plett is a must for all travellers in South Africa. Its ever-changing sky and seascapes, the unspoilt beauty of its lagoons and beaches, its great restaurants & coffee shops and fabulous nature reserves and sanctuaries will soon have you booking your return trip. Look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Robberg Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing