We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Robberg Beach Lodge
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Enjoyed our 1 night stay here. Chantel was a lovely hostess, the room was decent, and the location is ideal (right behind a swimming area on Robberg Beach). Breakfast was very good.

A real shame there are no day beds / loungers on terraces taking advantage of the view... but then Plett has a lot to offer for sundowners.

Room Tip: Sea-facing if you can, but the garden room we had was also good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaneBez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (802)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

583 - 589 of 802 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in a view suite which had fantastic views on the first floor.We could leave the doors open at night and hear the noise of the ocean.
Five mins drive to the centre of Plettenburg
All staff were excellent and very friendly and I would have no hesitation in recommending to my clients.

Room Tip: The view suites as you'd expect give you a bit more space and fantastic views to the amazing bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank feebib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

A most wonderful and memorable visit to Plettenberg. On arrival we were greeted by friendly and helpful staff who continued to provide this service throughout our stay - we couldn't have asked for any more. A special thanks to Beth who provided many venue and restaurant recommendations throughout our visit and then followed up with our bookings. We were extremely pleased with cleanliness and friendliness of all the staff and the help and assistance provided by all. Your attention to any requests or concerns we had was very much appreciated. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We were very happy with location and the hotel. Its boutique and beautiful, our room had a great view. The team was very helpful, the excursions wonderful. Its a perfect location to explore this part of garden route. We would for sure visit again

Room Tip: 4B has fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RolandSerbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We were only able to stay one night at the Robberg beach lodge but would have liked to stay longer. It was extremely clean and well appointed, with tasteful decor and lovely little details such as sprig of lavender on crisp white linens and flower petals on white towels in the updated bathroom. We stayed in one of the "cottage" rooms and loved it. The room opened on to a beautiful, quiet garden patio and pool area. The cottages have an additional common area with couches, bar, and social areas too, so we didn't have to walk over to the main building. Parking was included in the rate, as was a very nice breakfast.
The proximity to a gorgeous beach and to the Robberg Peninsula is perfect too. The lodge manager gave us great directions for an easy ~15 minute drive to the Peninsula from the lodge. Hiking the Peninsula was a great way to spend a 1/2 day.
I would go back to this lodge in a heart beat, and wish all the places we stayed in South Africa were this nice.

Room Tip: Loved the cottage area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michiganismyhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

This was a nice hotel opposite the beach but a 5 minute car trip from the town.

It was very light and airy and the staff were very welcoming and extremely helpful.

We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grumbleweed1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Well you made us smile with your Tripadvisor name... which also makes us feel more pleased at your great review. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Thanks for taking the time to post such a kind review, and here's to a happy holiday season and a great new year. Best wishes from all of us at the Robberg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights in November.The location is spectacular with only the road between the main building and the beach.On arrival we had a nice welcome from Beth,and sitting in the very contemporary and beuatifully furnished lounge and dining room area,our first impressions were very favourable.However guests should be aware that not all the hotel is like this-our room,one of the cottage suites was very different in style-older,a bit colonial,and in my opinion still needing a bit of TLC-broken plugs,TV reception unpredictable and wi-fi very slow.The bathroom had apparently been refurbished recently,but there were parts of it that were a bit unsightly with poor workmanship.None of these things spoiled our stay,but when we told Beth of these things on check out there was no acceptance that anything was wrong,which was a shame.
However the rest of the stay-the breakfasts,the service,the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff was excellent,and if we were in Plett again,we would certainly consider staying here,but probably go for one of the more modern rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidofharrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Hi David - thanks for staying with us and for taking the trouble to write a good, balanced review. Thanks, first of all, for the compliments on the location, welcome, staff, service & common areas: these mean a lot to us. Thanks, too, for letting us know about some of the dropped balls in your room. You're right, we did refurbish - and in some cases completely rebuild - the Cottage Pie bathrooms this year. I'll follow up on the workmanship issues you raised, and get those sorted out. We also revamped our wi-fi provision in these rooms, so I'll enlist the help of our technical guru to check out why this wasn't working properly. Chantel has sorted out the plug and TV reception issue you experienced. I'm so sorry for the inconvenience on this, and grateful to you for letting us know, so that we can sort it out. Best wishes for the holiday season from all of us at The Robberg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plettenberg Bay
1.6 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
597 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
283 reviews
5.9 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
862 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Africa Rooms
Grand Africa Rooms
#6 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
389 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#4 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Robberg Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Robberg Beach Lodge

Address: 89 Beachy Head Drive, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: £83 - £378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Robberg Beach Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right at the middle of Robberg Beach in Plettenberg Bay, The Robberg Beach Lodge offers twenty-nine rooms in four adjacent villas in a remarkable location. With our wandering garden pathways, two pools, two guest lounges, two honesty bars, and spectacular rooftop terrace, we offer a luxurious and tranquil accommodation experience right on the beach. We welcome children of all ages (book a Suite to enjoy reduced rates for children sharing)and we just love making romantic memories for couples. And don't worry if you've just broken up with your boyfriend: solo travellers get a single-occupancy discount. With its 29 rooms, the Robberg can also cater for larger groups. Our family has been gathering here for nearly twenty years, and we're proud to be able to share our special place with you. Set at the heart of the world-famous Garden Route, Plett is a must for all travellers in South Africa. Its ever-changing sky and seascapes, the unspoilt beauty of its lagoons and beaches, its great restaurants & coffee shops and fabulous nature reserves and sanctuaries will soon have you booking your return trip. Look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Robberg Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing