We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Robberg Beach Lodge
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
119 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“What a great place!!!”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed here for 5 night recently, they couldn't have done enough to make our stay more comfortable. The staff were so helpful with booking us restaurants and recommending places for us to go. The breakfast is great. The rooms are lovely and very well appointed. The views of Robberg beach are incredible. The only downside (which is a small one) is the lack of options for lunch/snack food if you are around the beach lodge at lunch time or in the afternoon. I would absolutely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Beach towels, beach umbrellas and bodyboards are all available to borrow which was a great help cons...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for your great review. We're so glad you enjoyed the time you spent with us. We understand the difficulty around lunch options and snacks available. This year was the first year we offered a limited menu of toasted sandwiches. We hope to grow our menu in very soon. Thanks for sharing your room tip as well, we really appreciate it. We hope to see you again! Best wishes from the Bailey family and the Robberg team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    174
    65
    31
    13
See reviews for
150
432
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

We spent 12 nights here over Xmas and new year. Service is excellent and the lodge is very well run by Beth and Chantel. Nothing was too much of an issue for them.
We had a beautiful room with an excellent view of the ocean which is literally across the road. This meant we didn't have to worry about beach parking which is at a premium over the festive season.
Breakfasts were very good although they did not change at all over the 12 days - a little variety would have been nice.
All in all though we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. Pricing is a little steep for those not arriving without dollars or pounds.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Snakeyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
What an incredible holiday! Thank you for spending it with us. With such a long stay and the weather so great, we're almost sure you must have the sunshine on your side. We are so pleased that you've shared your experience of this beautiful place with fellow travelers. For many years this was our family holiday home where we spent Christmas and New Year, enjoying the hassle-free luxury of being right by one of the most popular beaches in Plett, Robberg 5. Beth and Chantel will be so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We've noted that more variety in our breakfasts would improve the experience for others, thanks for letting us know. Hopefully we'll see you back for more wonderful weather at the end of 2014 (or sooner). Best wishes from the Bailey family and the Robberg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed two nights at the Lodge which is located right on the beach and about five minutes drive from the town centre. The Lodge is very modern in design with harmonious decor and ample secure parking within the grounds.

Chantel was very friendly and helpful with tips on where to eat (the Nguni restaurant is a must), but the rest of the staff, while not unfriendly, gave an impression of disinterested boredom..

We stayed in 'Cottage Pie' at the back of the grounds which was a nice secluded area with a pool. Unfortunately, our room was sandwiched between two German couples travelling together who monopolised all the garden furniture and spread themselves out across the three rooms. This prevented us from enjoying the poolside area in front of our room - not the fault of the Lodge, but it did detract from the enjoyment of our stay.

Room Tip: While Cottage Pie is great if you want to supervise young children using the pool close to your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExSpextations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We're glad that you got to experience the best Robberg Beach Lodge has to offer, including its incredible location- right across the road from the beach. Parking is definitely one of the major bonuses, especially during the peak season. Our staff pride themselves on their work ethic, while I'm sure they would benefit from being more sprightly, their dedication to the job realistically results in low energy levels, especially with the heat. We also hope to add more garden furniture around the pool in the months to follow. Thank you for adding a room tip, the garden rooms are perfect for couples with children. We hope you will be back to visit us soon. Best wishes from the Bailey family, Chantel and the rest of the Robberg team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Wonderful instalations and view. Plettenbert Bay is a must see in South Africa. Out of the standard route, I definetely recommend it for family or romantic purposes. Robberg Beach Lodge has a wonderful view, large and very well decorated rooms and - last but not least -, one of the best sunshines from South African coast.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room. It will probably cost a bit more, but you deserve it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeandroSiqueira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you so much for your great review and for adding a picture to give other people a sneak preview of what Robberg Beach Lodge has to offer. The view of the Robberg Nature Reserve and the Robberg beach is simply breath-taking. We totally agree with you, rooms with a sea view are well deserved and a little luxury in this sense goes a very long way. Sunsets are the backdrop of memories and that's what staying here is all about- we love that you've recommended us for both family and romance because we feel it's all about the experience and sharing it with the people you love. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We hope you'll be back for another incredible sunset. Best wishes from the Bailey family and the rest of the Robberg Beach Lodge team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

A location next to the beach. The breakfast was great. Staff were not super friendly, but on the other hand they were also not rude, but just not really interested.
Rooms nice and clean. Good parking facilities.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AirportWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time review the Robberg Beach Lodge. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. We're also glad you enjoyed your breakfast, our continental buffet and hot breakfast are a great way to get the day started. We're sorry that you found the staff to be quite impersonal, we hope to resolve this through improved customer service training. We hope you will be back to enjoy the sunshine on Robberg beach once again. Best wishes from the Bailey family and the rest of the Robberg Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Very good place to stay.
Nice and new rooms (very good space, great new furniture), good location (close to the best part of the beach), very welcome staff.
Breakfest is good (could be slightly better).
Internet could be better (very slow).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank RicardoGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for your balanced and informative review Ricardo. It really means so much to us when people let us know how much they enjoyed the Robberg beach Lodge and where we could improve slightly. We are in the process of upgrading our Wifi facilities and will be able to offer travelers a faster and more reliable connection in the first quarter of this year. We apologise for any inconvenience you experienced and hope that you will be back in future to see the improvements. Best wishes from the Bailey family and the rest of the Robberg Beach Lodge team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

on our trip along the garden route clearly the best beach. This hotel now is a stone throw away from a beautiful beach . great waves for kids and grown-ups. you cross a not too busy road (unless for the crowd coming to the beach) and you are right there (how convienient, if you have to go back and forth between room and beach or take a sun break). Easy for you to go for an early or late swim; no one loitering at the beach. A good road in front of house for a run as well. The view from lobby is ideal for the sun downer. Staff and arrangements (breakfast and pool, parking etc.) are very convenient. For dinner you need to make arrangements outside. Overall, always again. We were family with 3.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathias S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
We really liked that you shared all the wonderful reasons to visit Plettenberg Bay's blue flag beaches. Evenings on the beach are such a pleasure to experience as it gets a little cooler and the sun hovers on the horizon until 8 pm. The best part you mentioned, great waves for children and adults, I'm sure the whole family had a lot of fun on your vacation. It is very convenient, as you say. Dinner outside when it's very hot is also a fantastic recommendation. We hope you'll be back soon to recommend more great ways of enjoying your time in Plettenberg Bay. Best wishes from the Bailey family and the rest of the Robberg team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
1.6 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#3 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
5.9 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#4 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
4.6 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Robberg Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Robberg Beach Lodge

Property: The Robberg Beach Lodge
Address: 89 Beachy Head Drive, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Robberg Beach Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right at the middle of Robberg Beach in Plettenberg Bay, The Robberg Beach Lodge offers twenty-nine rooms in four adjacent villas in a remarkable location. With our wandering garden pathways, two pools, two guest lounges, two honesty bars, and spectacular rooftop terrace, we offer a luxurious and tranquil accommodation experience right on the beach. We welcome children of all ages (book a Suite to enjoy reduced rates for children sharing)and we just love making romantic memories for couples. And don't worry if you've just broken up with your boyfriend: solo travellers get a single-occupancy discount. With its 29 rooms, the Robberg can also cater for larger groups. Our family has been gathering here for nearly twenty years, and we're proud to be able to share our special place with you. Set at the heart of the world-famous Garden Route, Plett is a must for all travellers in South Africa. Its ever-changing sky and seascapes, the unspoilt beauty of its lagoons and beaches, its great restaurants & coffee shops and fabulous nature reserves and sanctuaries will soon have you booking your return trip. Look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Robberg Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing