We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable B&B with a great view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Robberg Beach Lodge
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable B&B with a great view”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed only one night at The Robberg and, as such, I can see why our assigned room was in the back with no view or private outside space (as many others seemed to have). Still, it was very comfortable and attractively decorated (as was the whole property in a beachy / minimalistic / calming way). The breakfast was fine (as you'd expect) but the main attraction of this attractive B&B is its amazing location, directly across Beachy Head Road from the beyond gorgeous Robberg beach. The neighborhood is pretty amazing too; lots of beautiful homes, many in the International Style. We spent a little time driving around and lucky are the people who live there, and lucky also are those who get to experience it, if only for a short time.

Room Tip: I assume the best room is one with the best view. That would be in Beachy Head Villa which has rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
We're really glad you got to stay in this amazing place, even if it was only for one night! We'd like to thank you for sharing your room tip and for all your praise, it really makes our hearts sing. We love that you reflected on the calmness and serenity which is such a big part of a relaxing holiday. We're thrilled that you had some time to take all of the beauty and wonder of the area in, it seems that you really fell in love with the place. It's fantastic that you were one of the lucky ones. We hope you will return in no time to enjoy another fantastic holiday and perhaps a room with a view next time. Best wishes from the Bailey family and the rest of The Robberg team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    174
    65
    31
    13
See reviews for
150
433
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The views are breathtaking, the breakfast delish, and the staff extremely sweet and helpful. The room itself was excellent - very spacious, comfortable, and the views just amazing. I'd highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Plett, and I would stay here again in a heart beat. Thanks to the Robberg Team!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgurlYYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
We think if you could've and you would've, then you should've! It sounds like you had a wonderful time and we think that when you're having a wonderful time, nothing should get in between that. Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to give such a wonderful review. We really appreciate it. We highly recommend that you get back in a heart beat and that you keep smiling until you do. Best wishes from the Bailey family and the rest of The Robberg team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We had only 1 night at this beautiful venue but the room was fabulous. Staff very friendly and breakfast excellent. The location would take a lot of beating in our opinion and just to sit and enjoy the view was heaven. We will be back.

Room Tip: Sea view worth paying for
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evy3547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for your recommendation and for sharing what a fantastic night you had. We would have loved it if you had stayed to enjoy the view for just a little while longer- it really is a gift to the soul. We can't imagine too many places that beat Plettenberg Bay as a destination. We might be biased, but we agree with you: this little piece of heaven is unbeatable. We can't wait to welcome you back! Best wishes from the Bailey family and the rest of the Robberg team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

We had the most wonderful weekend with our kids at the Robbensberg beach lodge. The staff was very friendly and helpful with their recommendations, beach across the small road divine and the room high quality. I would highly recommend to anyone

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Timo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you so much for recommending our lodge to other travelers and for your wonderful review! We hope the kids had the time of their lives playing on the beach. There are so many great things for families to do in Plettenberg Bay: it sounds like you took advantage of them and enjoyed some real quality time with your children. As a family, we know the importance of a vacation together; many of our family memories have been made on the Robberg Beach and in the very house that you visited. We're glad you got to experience the love and warmth that we have also shared as a family in this very beautiful and special place. We hope that it isn't long before you make your next booking. Best wishes from the Bailey Family and the rest of the Robberg Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caterham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

After travelling all day we arrived late. Service was excellent; a meal was offered and gladly accepted even though they do not usually serve dinner.
Beautiful location and large airy room, very relaxing atmosphere. Breakfast was excellent.
Unfortunately we stayed for only one night; wish we had booked for longer.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
We are SO thrilled that you enjoyed your holiday with us! Short but sweet, it sounds like you got a taste of just how incredible Plettenberg Bay is. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and with future travelers. It really makes us glad to know that you enjoyed the lodge but most of all, that this made your South African holiday one to remember. We hope the sun will be shining in the UK soon. But while it isn't, we hope you're already planning your next vacation to The Robberg (and next time you'll know to book a longer stay). We look forward to your next visit. Best wishes from the Bailey family and the rest of the Team at The Robberg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed for three nights in a room in Robberg House. The room was quite large and nicely appointed with a comfortable bed, minibar and a balcony for sitting. Our room didn't have a beach view but there are so many places on the lodge property to get a view that we didn't feel we were lacking at all. The entire property was beautiful and felt very comfortable. The pools are small but during our stay they were never crowded and the gorgeous Robberg beach is just across the street. The location from the beach and town is great! After a day of shopping in Plett we had a nice walk back to the lodge. The choices at breakfast were good - fruit, yogurt, meats, cheeses, croissants plus the option of a full cooked breakfast. The lodge also has a nice and affordable selection of South African wines available in each room, at the honesty bars and available to order up. Overall, the Robberg Beach Lodge is very nice place to stay while on holiday in Plettenberg Bay!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Wow! It sounds like you really got the feeling of holiday living in Plettenberg Bay. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. With the beach right across the road, we agree that the feeling of the ocean is all around you all of the time, even when you can't see it's there. Thank you for taking the time to write about the wonderful breakfast variety and for letting other travelers know how much you enjoyed your vacation. We hope you will be returning soon for more shopping and relaxation and that you will always remember what a wonderful time you had. Best wishes from the Bailey family and the rest of the Robberg team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We had a fabulous 2 night stay at The Robberg hotel in January 2014. The staff made us very welcome. The hotel itself is tastefully decorated which sets a very peaceful and relaxing atmosphere. The view of the Indian Ocean from the reception area of the Hotel is so beautiful. This hotel has three buildings spread over a hilly area, which has been carefully arranged with walk ways and staircases making it easy to access all area's. We had a lovely room,with a fantastic bathroom in a Thatched roof building call Cottage Pie, gorgeous garden and swimming pool, one of two in the hotel. The breakfast has very good quality produce, there is a buffet with cereal, fruit etc you can also have a cooked breakfast, which is cooked to order, perfect. Large secure car park. Would defiantly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MADFORHOLS_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you so much for finding the time to write such a kind and informative review. We really appreciate your letting other people know how much you enjoyed the lodge and your holiday in the beautiful Plettenberg Bay. We are so glad that you mentioned the incredible views of the Indian Ocean. Plett's beaches are certainly among the best in South Africa, (if not the best!) from the views to the temperature of the water. Feeling welcome and at ease is such an important part of travelling, we are so glad that you felt both during your stay with us. We hope you will be back to enjoy the best of what the Garden Route has to offer again. Best wishes from the Bailey family and the rest of the Robberg team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
1.6 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
5.9 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#4 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
4.6 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Robberg Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Robberg Beach Lodge

Property: The Robberg Beach Lodge
Address: 89 Beachy Head Drive, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Robberg Beach Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right at the middle of Robberg Beach in Plettenberg Bay, The Robberg Beach Lodge offers twenty-nine rooms in four adjacent villas in a remarkable location. With our wandering garden pathways, two pools, two guest lounges, two honesty bars, and spectacular rooftop terrace, we offer a luxurious and tranquil accommodation experience right on the beach. We welcome children of all ages (book a Suite to enjoy reduced rates for children sharing)and we just love making romantic memories for couples. And don't worry if you've just broken up with your boyfriend: solo travellers get a single-occupancy discount. With its 29 rooms, the Robberg can also cater for larger groups. Our family has been gathering here for nearly twenty years, and we're proud to be able to share our special place with you. Set at the heart of the world-famous Garden Route, Plett is a must for all travellers in South Africa. Its ever-changing sky and seascapes, the unspoilt beauty of its lagoons and beaches, its great restaurants & coffee shops and fabulous nature reserves and sanctuaries will soon have you booking your return trip. Look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Robberg Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing