We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Robberg Beach Lodge
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed at the Robberg during April and were blessed with 3 fantastically sunny, warm days. Our rooms (2 adjoining) were large and extremely comfortable. The restaurant, lounge and roof top bar were all decorated very stylishly, as were our rooms. Thanks to Beth in reception our 3 days were action packed and we ate like kings in the restaurants which she personally recommended.

Thanks to Beth for all her efforts and great advice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobJackie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Your action packed, eating-like-kings holiday sounds amazing- that's just the kind of thing we love! We're so glad we got to be a part of it. And when the weather shines on you, you can't help but feel truly blessed. It's great that you got to feel the final days of summer, there is something very special about that time in Plett. Thank you so much for your fantastic review. Beth is thrilled that you enjoyed all those great parts of Plett that are simply a must-see. We hope you'll be back to visit us again soon! Best wishes from the Bailey family and Beth & the Robberg team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (764)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

526 - 532 of 764 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

If you are looking for a great place to unwind, in a stunning setting... this is the place!! The gorgeous blue flag status, Robberg beach, is only steps away, and is only a short drive to the shops of main street or to the hiking trails of Robberg Nature Reserve. I have seen all of the room types at this property, and all are stunning! You cannot go wrong!
Thank you Beth and Chantell and all the staff for your hospitality. Only wish that we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Travelling with family to Plettenbergy Bay is perfect for exactly what you're talking about: relaxation and exploring the wonders nature has to offer. It sounds like you did lots of walking: between the sights and sounds of Main Street and the hiking trails of the Robberg Nature Reserve. Thank you for mentioning that the perfect place to unwind after all that activity is right here with us. Our family has always loved this place for it's ability to create such beautiful memories. We wish you had stayed longer too! Beth and Chantel are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and the rest of the Robberg team are hoping you'll return in no time. Best wishes, the Bailey family and the rest of the Robberg team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

What a awesome location on the beach. A very big thanks to Chantel and her team, they went out of her way to make our stay comfortable and all the little extra touches for making our honeymoon stay enjoyable. The breakfast was amazing! We would would have stayed longer if we could

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HenricovL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Local is lekkerste! Spending your honeymoon travelling through the Western Cape with the love of your life sounds incredible to us. We hope your honeymoon was everything you expected and more. Thank you for letting others know of the great service you experienced. Chantel is thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and is grateful for the kind compliments. We hope the rest of your journey together is as blessed as it began- thank you for choosing us to begin the process of creating a beautiful life together. Best wishes from the Bailey family and the rest of the Robberg Beach Lodge team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The rooms are beautifully furnished, decor is classy-beachy, perfect for us. We are used to beach vacations down the California coast, the islands & cape of mass, and this felt just like home to us. Breakfast was delicious, the pools are small but lovely, and the honesty bars throughout the property are a great touch. Pay for an upgrade to a beach view - it's well worth it. Location is on the beach but not in town. We walked (20ish min) to town which was perfect for us, but others might prefer to take a cab. We walked through the big hotel Beacon and liked our choice much better, although with kids we might opt for the Beacon because of the activities... But for a romantic retreat, Robberg is the way to go.

Room Tip: Stay in a beach view room, B6 was a great suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margot L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Wow! Thanks for the great review. We love that you felt right at home here. I'm sure after reading your review, plenty of people will be curious to know how these two magnificent places fair in rivalry. Your recommendations will go a long way in sharing the best of what we offer, thank you for sharing your thoughts. We hope you got to revel in the romance yourself while on holiday. Best wishes from the Bailey family and the rest of the Robberg team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

The Robberg Beach Lodge is located directly at the lovely Robberg Beach - very convenient. We had a room in the main house with great views to the sea. The room was quite large with two comfy armchairs for looking out to the sea. Breakfast was lovely and the service was ver good. We could easily have stayed more then 2 nights.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank pmi_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Danke! Your review meant so much to us. It's always good to hear when people have enjoyed their holiday. We're so glad that you could appreciate the incredible views of our natural surroundings. We hope that during your next visit, you'll be able to spend a few more days admiring the scenery. Best wishes from the Bailey family and the rest of the team at The Robberg Beach Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Robberg is an Amazing property right across the beach.It is pretty with Beachy all white interiors. Rooms are Cosy and makes u feel at home. Dont miss the breakfast.
The staff is very hospitable.Chandace and Beth are great managers, feel free to get recommendations from them!
Beach activities like surfing are fun to do on the beach.. But its too cold to swim.

Room Tip: Choose Beachy Head Villa for the beach view, When travelling in groups take the rooms in the cottage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aditya_Rajasthan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

You made the sun shine just a little brighter for us today; thank you for your wonderful review! You've also been so kind in offering so many recommendations for others to follow. It's always great for future travelers to know what to expect. It sounds like you really enjoyed the time you spent near the beach, hopefully you caught some great waves which distracted you from the temperature. The lodge managers were so happy to hear that you had such a great time- they really appreciated your mention. We hope you will be back to visit us again. Best wishes from the Bailey family and the rest of the Robberg Beach Lodge team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stayed there 3/27-3/29. Got the Beachy Head Villa ocean view room. There are 3 sections at The Robberg. Check their website. Room size is ok, but great view for sunset. Great hospitality and staff, super friendly. It's like a five star b&b. 30 sec walking to the beach, prime area. Food is a bit away, need to drive for 10 min. Great small town to relax and enjoy the beach.
Love their breakfast (included), hot food can be made to order.
Glad I picked here!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

You made the sun shine just a little brighter for us today; thank you for your wonderful review! You've also been so kind in offering so many recommendations for others to follow. It's always great for future travelers to know what to expect. It sounds like you really enjoyed the time you spent near the beach, hopefully you caught some great waves which distracted you from the temperature. The lodge managers were so happy to hear that you had such a great time- they really appreciated your mention. We hope you will be back to visit us again. Best wishes from the Bailey family and the rest of the Robberg Beach Lodge team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
1.6 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
565 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
259 reviews
5.9 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
376 reviews
4.6 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
81 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#3 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Robberg Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Robberg Beach Lodge

Address: 89 Beachy Head Drive, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: £81 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Robberg Beach Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right at the middle of Robberg Beach in Plettenberg Bay, The Robberg Beach Lodge offers twenty-nine rooms in four adjacent villas in a remarkable location. With our wandering garden pathways, two pools, two guest lounges, two honesty bars, and spectacular rooftop terrace, we offer a luxurious and tranquil accommodation experience right on the beach. We welcome children of all ages (book a Suite to enjoy reduced rates for children sharing)and we just love making romantic memories for couples. And don't worry if you've just broken up with your boyfriend: solo travellers get a single-occupancy discount. With its 29 rooms, the Robberg can also cater for larger groups. Our family has been gathering here for nearly twenty years, and we're proud to be able to share our special place with you. Set at the heart of the world-famous Garden Route, Plett is a must for all travellers in South Africa. Its ever-changing sky and seascapes, the unspoilt beauty of its lagoons and beaches, its great restaurants & coffee shops and fabulous nature reserves and sanctuaries will soon have you booking your return trip. Look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Robberg Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing