We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Redbourne Country Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very average”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed in much better places along the garden route, and felt pretty let down by the property. The only saving grace was Plett, which has so many things to do that we spent very less time at Redbourne. Staff helpful and courteous. Rooms not the best-very stuffy in the heat, very basic bathrooms(and worst of all-made me miss a champions league game due to non-availability of channels in the TV). Wouldn't rate the location very highly either with a very shabby backdrop to the dining area and the room verandah.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank subhroneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    41
    23
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
81
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed one night. Room adequate, leaking water on bathroom floor, and no soundproofing from adjoining room so could hear people coming and going and talking. Breakfast was not good. Having ordered bacon, sausage, egg and tomato, we got bacon and egg although the lovely young waitress quickly remedied that but sausages were different on each plate and I think mine were "off" and the poached egg was just mush. I hope they were just having a bad morning as it was not a good experience which was a shame because the front of house staff were very pleasant. This is same group as the Robberg which is definitely in a different league, but you gets what you pay for, though that does not excuse the bad breakfast experience, and I don't like making my own toast!! There are no views from rooms ours looked on to high bushes just beyond small deck which was not an inviting area to sit out. We were disappointed overall.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willows6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
port elizabeth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2014

A well managed perfect lodge ever in the eastern cape.really enjoyed the stay and I wish I could go back and just have a wonderful time there.I love the beach view and the food.the food was just something else that the taste cannot even get out of my mouth.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shoedoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I visited the Redbourne Country Lodge on my way across the Garden Route, having just returned from Antarctica and making my way to Jo'Burg. Being Christmas Eve, I wanted a relaxing place away from the hustle. From the moment I arrived, I felt welcomed, their level of service reflective of the staff's experience with game lodges in the north. They started a fire by the pool and the staff and guests all relaxed and shared stories of travel and Africa. It was a wonderful stay. The rooms had a great reflection of design and thoughtfulness, again, mirroring the game lodge attention to detail.

The only (minor) issue I found, was that their internet connection does not reach the rooms, so any work that must get done needs to be at the main lodge.

The staff was great - thanks for making me feel welcome while traveling away from family for the holidays.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank expeditionswest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

First off have to say this lodge is excellent quality. Great South African service. Room was nice. Proper large bed, shower, bath etc. Good breakfast and ticks all the boxes in this respect. However for us it was deathly dull. No bar after 8pm. Too far out of town for any action. Good place for golfing and old age pensioners. If you want some life, find someplace in town.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sj99ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Thank you for a relaxing stay over the weekend at Redbourne Lodge. The staff were friendly and helpful and served a great breakfast. The room was very spacious and cleaned daily. Redbourne Lodge is easy to find and well situated. The underfloor heating was welcome.
I would definately recommend a visit there. Thanks again.

Dawid and Annelize

Room Tip: All rooms are similarly situated. All are good value for money. All have a private view over the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawid F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbeek, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We spent nine wonderful days in this marvellous lodge. Our room was spacious, comfortable and quiet. We enjoyed sitting on the private deck and watching the birds and the occasional velvet monkey. Robberg beach, ideal for long walks, is less than 2 km away.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luch269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
1.4 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
732 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
552 reviews
4.1 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#4 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
889 reviews
4.7 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
538 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bitou River Lodge
Bitou River Lodge
#10 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redbourne Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redbourne Country Lodge

Property: Redbourne Country Lodge
Address: Piesang Valley Road, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 70 Speciality Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Redbourne Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Redbourne Country Lodge, a 4 star, intimate bed and breakfast lodge is situated in the tranquil Piesang Valley overlooking the Plettenberg Bay Country Club golf course. With comfortable upmarket, but affordable accommodation, combined with an extraordinary level of personal service, Redbourne is sure to become any visitors favorite getaway secret. Golf lovers will especially enjoy the easy access to the Plettenberg Bay Country Club golf course and other world class golf courses in the region. Redbourne is a short distance from the village of Plettenberg Bay and its breathtaking beaches. Redbourne Country Lodge has 16 luxury en-suite rooms, including 4 inter-leading family rooms. Each room offers the discerning traveler: DSTV, ceiling fans, mini bar with tea & coffee facilities, hairdryers, a personal safe, laundry service, underfloor heating and a private deck with beautiful valley views. An inviting swimming pool and lush gardens overlook the golf course for your complete relaxation. Internet & Wi-Fi connectivity are available in the main lodge. Transfers can be arranged on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Redbourne Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing