We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Experience”
Review of A Whale of a View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A Whale of a View
Ranked #43 of 81 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Fintry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Experience”
Reviewed 21 December 2012

When we arrived this guest house was totally different from the norm.But it cerainly grew on us during our stay OWNERS HOSPITALITY WAS EXCELLENT AND THE BREAKFAST WAS STUNNING and served by an exceptionaly pleasant young lady Sea view was amazing from breakfast balcony

Room Tip: Asea view is definately a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KENNETH B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    9
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
23
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Inge was very friendly and made us feel welcome. Breakfast was also good. As other guests have described the rooms had a vintage decor, which is fine if you like that sort of thing but we felt it was slightly cluttered. As an example, there were masses of cushions on the bed which needed to be stacked somewhere at night, and the room wasn't huge. We were on a 3 week trip through Africa and therefore we had lot's of luggage and hence this was more of an issue.

Unfortunately, like other guests have mentioned there was a web in our room.

There was wifi, and one thing we found out (too late) just as we were leaving was there were Laundry services available.

Would we stay again - possibly. Would we advise others not to stay - No, it was friendly and convenient and good value, but not 5 star.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilLanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Whale of a view offers a nice surrounding but everything is dusty! It's ok if you don't get anything else as the owners are very friendly and exerted, but you should be prepared that it's not going to be a "feel-good-area". The glasses were as dusty as the whole furniture in the rooms. Everything is made with love, but unfortunately without cleanliness. I wouldn't ever get there again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeNotNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Stayed at Whale of a view in December 2010.
Actually shortened our holiday due to poor service and lack of consideration from the hosts.
Worst money I've ever spent on a family holiday. Hope it's improved by now.

Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank fiftybmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We stayed in this lovely B&B for two nights and requested a room with a sea view. The room was really special - like a honeymoon suite in a 5 star hotel. The whole place was very homely and quirky with it's vintage decor and the views were stunning. It is in walking distance of the lagoon and the town centre and there is so much in the surrounding areas to do and see. Both mother and daughter were very helpful in advising us.They really made an effort and produced a great breakfast - stepping up to the mark even when there was a power cut in the whole of Plettenberg Bay. I was sad to leave, I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We had a wonderful and unforgettable stay at this really lovely place. Rooms are absolutely clean, in very good condition, tastefully and personally furnished and decorated with antiques and works of art from the past few centuries. Very friendly staff, good selection of breakfast, beautiful breakfast room with terrace and an amazing view of the ocean. A villa with a cosy garden and pool, offering relaxation and tranquility only 3 minutes walk from the beach. Perfekt location for a comfortabel and enjoyable stay. We will come back for sure!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinje K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
123 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We have stayed at A Whale with a View for a couple of days by coincidence. We hadn't booked anything for Plettenberg Bay and just passed by as we liked the location. The owner is a lovely woman doing a great job running the place together with her daughter. They made us feel at home and we spent two very relaxing days in Plettenberg Bay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bas_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
2.1 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
709 reviews
0.5 mi away
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Milkwood Manor on Sea
#9 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
757 reviews
2.1 mi away
113 Robberg
113 Robberg
#17 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Stone Cottage
Stone Cottage
#35 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
88 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunshowers Beachfront B&B Guesthouse
Sunshowers Beachfront B&B Guesth...
#29 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
87 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thanda Vista
Thanda Vista
#18 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Whale of a View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Whale of a View

Property: A Whale of a View
Address: 2 Zenon Street, Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge yourself in a fresh quirky decor, quaint but with real charm and warmth. You will genuinely feel like welcome house guests, rather than paying customers. Sitting on your private patio with a sundowner in hand you can enjoy the ambiance with the panoramic views of the ocean, lagoon and mountains. The salt water pool provides the perfect venue to relax after a long days exploring. We have 4 unique en-suit rooms. Two of the ensuit have spectacular sea mountain views. 1 Bedroom are en-suit garden room and 1 budget en-suit, each with their own entrance overlooking the swimming pool.All the rooms have a private entrance and en suite bathrooms (bath and shower) with complimentary amnesties. 3 Have safe ,shared satelite TV, bar fridge, fan, 100% cotton linen, wireless internet and tea/coffee facilities.Secure parking behind fencing with a remote control gate. Guest cooking facilities with a view available.We are walking distance from the lagoon, sea, shops and restaurants.For the golf fanatics Goose Valley is less than 3km away and the Plettenberg Bay Country Club is a mere 7km away. They will advice on where to eat, and how to spend the day, as well as making phone calls to place dinner reservations and next day destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your A Whale of a View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing