We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great supper at the SeaFood with breathtaking views!”

SeaFood at The Plettenberg
Ranked #20 of 100 Restaurants in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$32
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: SeaFood at The Plettenberg combines an array of elements to create an unsurpassed dining experience. The sand, beach and sea have been brought into the restaurant in the colours, mood and design. Unrivalled views of the breath-taking Formosa Bay are complimented by the decor, and together they create the perfect platform for the SeaFood cuisine. Here the chefs create modern South African fare that is seasonally influenced. The menu - designed by The Collection's award-winning Executive Chef Peter Tempelhoff and his team - places great emphasis on fresh produce from local green-friendly suppliers and this gives SeaFood at The Plettenberg the unique ability to showcase a true taste of the bay.
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

The staff warmly welcomed us. They are very well trained and know how to treat guests like royalty! We had cocktails on the deck with a beautiful view of the sea and beach. When then had a fantastic 3 course meal, followed by coffee with petite fours. It was a lovely evening and will definitely go back again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank adventurejunki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antelize, Manager at SeaFood at The Plettenberg, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your evening with us and that our staff made you feel special.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards,
Antelize van der Walt ~ Food & Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 154 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

Ambiente and view on the terrace are stunning. Perfect for a sundowner drink to start with (or stay outside if wetter permits).

Food was very good, especially the fillet steak. Fish starter platter was only average. All food is really nicely arranged. The service was amazing, very attentive and friendly. Prices still reasonable enough, although 5 star upscale hotel.

This is a fine dining experience you will love, probably the best in Plettenberg (especially considering location).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Authumbla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antelize, Manager at SeaFood at The Plettenberg, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you so much for the kind word and good review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your evening with us and hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind Regards,
Antelize van der Walt ~ Food & Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Whilst in Plettenberg we visited this restaurant three times for lunch. We sat outside with wonderful views over the bay with the mountains in the distance.

The staff are friendly and very efficient. It was very hot on all three occasions and the staff were quick to arrange umbrellas to shade our table for us.

The food was very good. We particularly enjoyed the tempura prawns as a starter. The Malay chicken and prawn curry is very good as is the stir fry calamari.

We will certainly return to this restaurant on our next visit to the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Marion B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antelize, Manager at SeaFood at The Plettenberg, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you for the great review. We are so happy that you returned three times for lunch with us and that our staff could assist with keeping you in the shade while you enjoy the beautiful views.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit!
Kind Regards,
Antelize van der Walt ~ Food & Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Mussels were the best I tried out here - and there is plenty of competition! With food this good you don't need to go outside the hotel - the chef is married to the GM

Thank Jeremy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This is the restaurant in a Relais and Chateaux hotel so we expected a high standard. The dining room is attractive and promised silver service and food to match.
Slow roasted belly of pork was tasty but came with strange looking and tasting crackling in roll shapes served on a plank of wood. Slow roasted duck was overwhelmed with the taste of the ginger. Excellent vanilla creme brulee. Glass of merlot was 1/5 of a glass for R40.
Service was very professional but food did not match our expectation, unlike the bill

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rjg4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SeaFood at The Plettenberg also viewed

Harkerville, Plettenberg Bay
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Keurboomstrand, Plettenberg Bay
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to SeaFood at The Plettenberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing