We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place in heaven”
Review of Stanley Island

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stanley Island
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Wonderful place to stay - just be aware that it is all self catering and if the island is full then it could be a bit of a problem if you dont like to live on top of each other. It would not be pleasant if the weather is bad. Really worth the experience though. Loved our stay there.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2013

This was truly an amazing and refreshingly unique experience!

Lauren and Jacque went out of their way to make us feel at home. On arrival Jacque picked us up by boat with our luggage and took us to our amazing honeymoon unit.

The island is so quiet and unspoiled and the grazing Zebras in front of your self-catering unit is incredible. Our unit was clean, fully equiped and extremely comfortable. I especially loved the french bath and super soft bed.
We also met the owner Johan and he is friendly and very helpful.

We will definitely go back for another visit, this time longer! :)

Room Tip: The Honeymoon self-catering units are a MUST! Gorgeous views, luxury french bath and fab fully equi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snymans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Can't agree with other reviewers here. This was simply hopeless value for money. For a start the rooms have no air-conditioning, ok that's quite a common thing in this area but everyone else offers a ceiling fan and Stanley Island does not so sleep quality in summer is very poor. The rooms are very dimly lit and there is an open toilet in the room, no privacy at all. The room also had an awful stench that emanated from the shower and basin drains and was terrible. Breakfast was very basic and poorly made and service, although polite, was inefficient. Disgraceful for the price paid for the stay. There are no TV,s in the rooms but there is one in the communal area. However the one and only time that I went there to watch something it was out of order. I was told that the dish was faulty due to the rain, by the way this rain had come and gone more than a week before. You have to get on and off the island by boat so you can forget about zipping around the area quickly as you will have to call the ferryman beforehand. You will also be charged extra for any trips after 11pm. A dead giveaway of the budget conscious Stanley Island is the fact that there is no lighting at the jetty on the island and I had to use my cellphone for light to avoid plunging into the river. The pathway to the rooms offers either poor lighting or no lighting at all towards the jetty. This place is no good for the elderly or little kids. Avoid.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank APath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StanleyIsland_Plett, Owner at Stanley Island, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2015

Thank you for your review, I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay on Stanley Island. We have improved our lighting on the island and offer complementary torches if guests have trouble at night but have had no further complaints of this nature. The island is a private nature reserve far away from the hustle and bustle of the town, we aim to be a quiet getaway to get away from the troubles of the mainland. The nature of staying on an island is that you have to travel to the mainland by boat or airplane, this requires a ferryman that has to be woken up late at night, thus we ask for a extra fee that goes directly to the ferryman. Thank you for your understanding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012 via mobile

We had a very good experience overall during our 2 night stay. Initially we were disappointed with our room ( bed & breakfast room option) as room was extremely tiny, with open toilet in bedroom, cobwebs and spiders all over. At R1000 a night we felt this was not good value and misleading based on pictures and info on the website. Recommendation- reduce rate on this room, and advertise clearly on website with pictures.
But the friendly staff was able to move us to the much better and bigger superior self catering room for our second night at no extra charge( although room only R80 more per night anyway). This room was a much better premium experience that we would definitely recommend, although the walls are quite thin and you feel close to your neighbours.
Unique location and experience with very friendly and helpful staff. If you like the outdoors and are not scared of spiders :-) then this could be a good alternative to typical guest house accommodation in town.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GenL333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

My Husband and I honeymooned for 3 nights at Stanley Island. We had the most wonderful time and the personal service from the owners really made our stay special. Your room feels like your room and you feel like you are really alone on the island. It is a perfect getaway for a family or for a few close friends. This place really deserves 5 out 5!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amelia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

we stumbled on this gem purely by accident. And boy were we pleased.
from the initial booking right through until departure we were just simply impressed by the service and hospitality extended by both johan and kerry lee.. the proprietors of Stanley island.
the team at stanley island go out of their way to make you feel welcome.
the island is accessible by ferry only.
so when you park your car that will be the last you see of it until the time of departure.
the island is magnificent (and that is putting it mildly)
it is just awesome.
the island has only three units and we were fortunate in that we were upgraded to the honeymoon suite.
the decor and layout (all done under the hand of kerry ) was fantastic.
the large open space infront of the units put you in a the right frame of mind to really get you into the holiday spirit.
we hads two separate stays on the island one one before christmas and on new years eve
a perfect intimate setting to see in the new year.
our hosts went out of their way to ensure that new year was a celebration to remember.
the island is best described as an intimate getaway, however we had our children and they loved it just as much if not more.
i would definitely recommend this venue. It is five star all the way

Room Tip: preferably request the honeymoon suites if available , but then again all the suites are just as imp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maimunga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Wow where to start the welcome, springbok toddy the chalet above the clouds the young foal I met on the way to breakfast, the lovely litle bird that flew on my shoulder and tried to share my brekky the hot spring and the friendly bush pig the feast at the resturaunt on the mainland with the 2 Grt Danes and sweet wee tabby kitten who crawled up against my chest, and stole me heart while I ate the best ever dinner yet. the Morning veiw and amazing flight in the motorized glider saw a newborn southern wright whale jst beginging to swim next to its mother a very belated thank you for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkJ L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
3.7 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
274 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
581 reviews
3.9 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Tamodi Lodge
Tamodi Lodge
#1 of 9 in The Crags
290 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Dunes Hotel & Resort
The Dunes Hotel & Resort
#1 of 2 in Keurboomstrand
413 reviews
11.9 mi away
Rocky Road Backpackers
Rocky Road Backpackers
#5 of 9 in The Crags
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Island

Address: Keurbooms River, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 73 Speciality Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: £61 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only private island in South Africa – the 28 ha Stanley Island is situated in the spectacularly beautiful Plettenberg Bay Keurbooms Lagoon ,the jewel of the Garden Route. The island features a private landing strip, four guest lodges with 12 en-suite four star rooms, an indigenous milkwood forest, private beaches, abundant birdlife over our protected wetlands. The Island is an ideal honeymoon or family vacation destination only 5km from Plettenberg Bay. Spend your days canoeing up the Keurbooms river, fishing, lazing in a hammock or exploring the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Stanley Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing