We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“get there”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Stanley Island

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plettenberg Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stanley Island
Cape Town
1 review
“get there”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stanley Island way exceeded our expectations. A great place to relax with nature (even a baby zebra) close to beaches and other amenities. Staff always available, friendly and efficient. Highly recommended.


  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    14
    1
    1
    4
See reviews for
12
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Warm, welcoming, attentive care given throughout. Room was lovely, really enjoyed the ferry trip up the Keurbooms River and canoeing around the island. Lovely breakfast with a view! A peaceful retreat.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank gillpsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Spend a whole weekend at Stanley Island. Beautiful island with very friendly hosts. I am also grateful for all the extra trouble James went through to pick us up late at night and early in the morning.

will definitely return ASAP

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ignatius V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I had a wonderful stay; I enjoyed both the cruise and the canoe. It's a fresh and relaxing environment. The braai is an excellent idea. Breakfast was also nice...............................................

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nnoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Wonderful place to stay - just be aware that it is all self catering and if the island is full then it could be a bit of a problem if you dont like to live on top of each other. It would not be pleasant if the weather is bad. Really worth the experience though. Loved our stay there.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 January 2013

This was truly an amazing and refreshingly unique experience!

Lauren and Jacque went out of their way to make us feel at home. On arrival Jacque picked us up by boat with our luggage and took us to our amazing honeymoon unit.

The island is so quiet and unspoiled and the grazing Zebras in front of your self-catering unit is incredible. Our unit was clean, fully equiped and extremely comfortable. I especially loved the french bath and super soft bed.
We also met the owner Johan and he is friendly and very helpful.

We will definitely go back for another visit, this time longer! :)

Room Tip: The Honeymoon self-catering units are a MUST! Gorgeous views, luxury french bath and fab fully equi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snymans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richards Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Can't agree with other reviewers here. This was simply hopeless value for money. For a start the rooms have no air-conditioning, ok that's quite a common thing in this area but everyone else offers a ceiling fan and Stanley Island does not so sleep quality in summer is very poor. The rooms are very dimly lit and there is an open toilet in the room, no privacy at all. The room also had an awful stench that emanated from the shower and basin drains and was terrible. Breakfast was very basic and poorly made and service, although polite, was inefficient. Disgraceful for the price paid for the stay. There are no TV,s in the rooms but there is one in the communal area. However the one and only time that I went there to watch something it was out of order. I was told that the dish was faulty due to the rain, by the way this rain had come and gone more than a week before. You have to get on and off the island by boat so you can forget about zipping around the area quickly as you will have to call the ferryman beforehand. You will also be charged extra for any trips after 11pm. A dead giveaway of the budget conscious Stanley Island is the fact that there is no lighting at the jetty on the island and I had to use my cellphone for light to avoid plunging into the river. The pathway to the rooms offers either poor lighting or no lighting at all towards the jetty. This place is no good for the elderly or little kids. Avoid.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank APath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StanleyIsland_Plett, Owner at Stanley Island, responded to this review, 4 June 2015
Thank you for your review, I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay on Stanley Island. We have improved our lighting on the island and offer complementary torches if guests have trouble at night but have had no further complaints of this nature. The island is a private nature reserve far away from the hustle and bustle of the town, we aim to be a quiet getaway to get away from the troubles of the mainland. The nature of staying on an island is that you have to travel to the mainland by boat or airplane, this requires a ferryman that has to be woken up late at night, thus we ask for a extra fee that goes directly to the ferryman. Thank you for your understanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
236 reviews
3.9 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
515 reviews
7.7 mi away
Arch Rock Seaside Accommodation
Arch Rock Seaside Accommodation
#4 of 67 in Plettenberg Bay
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Alkantmooi Self Catering
Alkantmooi Self Catering
#10 of 67 in Plettenberg Bay
127 reviews
1.8 mi away
Coral Tree Cottages
Coral Tree Cottages
#15 of 67 in Plettenberg Bay
81 reviews
8.0 mi away
Tamodi Lodge
Tamodi Lodge
#1 of 9 in The Crags
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Island

Property: Stanley Island
Address: Keurbooms River, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 67 Speciality Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only private island in South Africa – the 28 ha Stanley Island is situated in the spectacularly beautiful Plettenberg Bay Keurbooms Lagoon ,the jewel of the Garden Route. The island features a private landing strip, four guest lodges with 12 en-suite four star rooms, an indigenous milkwood forest, private beaches, abundant birdlife over our protected wetlands. The Island is an ideal honeymoon or family vacation destination only 5km from Plettenberg Bay. Spend your days canoeing up the Keurbooms river, fishing, lazing in a hammock or exploring the island. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing