We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stanley Island”
Review of Stanley Island

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plettenberg Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stanley Island
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We were only able to stay one night, but wish we could have stayed for more, very unique self catering experience, with 5 star quality rooms and service awell as a beautiful location in the middle of Keurbooms rivier surrounded by milkwood trees. Couldn't have asked for more!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonoc c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
There are newer reviews for Stanley Island
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

My husband and I spent 2 nights at Stanley Island over the Easter Weekend.  We are very familiar with this area of the Garden Route and have stayed at many establishments around Plett and Knysna.  Stanley Island, however, stands out as one of a kind.  The need to take a ferry to reach the Island added a touch of adventure and exclusivity.  The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.  The accommodation was comfortable and well appointed.  What a great place to unwind for a few days!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worthitsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Fantastic location, awesome facilities, friendly outgoing staff! We felt well rested and it is so easy to relax on Stanley Island. Peace, tranquillity and unobtrusive staff will definitely make us return here!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

What a fantastic experience. Couldn't believe it was so secluded. Felt like I was miles from civilisation. Great service, awesome to wake up with Zebra on the stoep & the stars were incredible! Felt like one of the family!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sean V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Had a wonderful time. Pity it was only 1 night. Very friendly and helpful staff. Even the Zebras were friendly. Would suggest door on toilet for more privacy. Look forward to going back and spending a few more days. Lovely setting.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Buckets2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The Island Resort was so very pretty and I would have had an amazing time had it not been for the Property Manager "Cyril"

A moment that came to mind was when the group was sitting down waiting for dinner. Cyril sat down with us and proceeded to tell his tale of how he enjoys hunting lions and elephants. Needless to say that put a damper on my trip since I had just returned from a five-day safari where I developed instant respect for such magnificent creatures. At that point I wanted to share my thoughts but Cyril felt it necessary to "put me in my place" by telling me it was acceptable to hunt such animals. I found him rude and unprofessional. It was my last night in South Africa and it was sad that the beautiful experience I had on safari was squashed by my interaction with Cyril.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StanleyIsland_Plett, Owner at Stanley Island, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for your review on tripadvisor. As management we accept that client interaction is of a personal nature and understand that misunderstandings can occur. Stanley Island is a private nature reserve and we spend every effort to conserve wildlife. We by no means condone elephant and lion hunting but it is part of our african history. Culling of animals is still being done in order to preserve our precious wildlife from starvation & overpopulation. Much has been said about this on other forums so we do not wish to enter into discussion. We have a very proud history in nature conservation and wish to distance ourselves from unfair biased comments such as these.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Highly enjoyable stay... Unique ferry or paddle to your car when you needed to come and go was no problem. Excellent service from Cyril and his crew, all rounded off by friendly zebra visits every day, made this different but fantastic! Get used to "open plan" loo if you stay in the honeymoon suite, but easy to adjust to that.. All in all an enjoyable stay

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
2.4 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
746 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
554 reviews
3.9 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Dunes Hotel & Resort
The Dunes Hotel & Resort
#1 of 2 in Keurboomstrand
383 reviews
8.8 mi away
Tarn Country House
Tarn Country House
#1 of 9 in The Crags
115 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Island

Address: Keurbooms River, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 70 Speciality Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: £33 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only private island in South Africa – the 28 ha Stanley Island is situated in the spectacularly beautiful Plettenberg Bay Keurbooms Lagoon ,the jewel of the Garden Route. The island features a private landing strip, four guest lodges with 12 en-suite four star rooms, an indigenous milkwood forest, private beaches, abundant birdlife over our protected wetlands. The Island is an ideal honeymoon or family vacation destination only 5km from Plettenberg Bay. Spend your days canoeing up the Keurbooms river, fishing, lazing in a hammock or exploring the island. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing