We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thai chicken”

Le Fournil de Plett Bakery and Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Thai chicken”
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Odd finding a French restaurant with Thai dishes, nevertheless a stunning green chicken curry and a good vibe

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pieter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    112
    45
    21
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A delight”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We found this delightful spot when first visiting South Africa in 2010 and now seek it out every visit. Very comfortable squishy cushions and sofas under a shady willow tree in this pretty courtyard off Main Street - free wifi, if required. This time had delicious almond and chocolate croissants with excellent coffee. Can think of nowhere quite so good even in the South of France. The second-hand bookshop and up-market dress shops add to the appeal.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous bakery”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We had coffee and croissants here several times as well as ordering bread and cakes to take away. By far the best bakery in Plett - I'm glad I don't live there as the temptation to go there every day would be very great! It was extremely busy as it was high season so necessary to order croissants and cakes etc. in advance to avoid disappointment. Very efficient staff, with the owners very much in evidence keeping everything under control. We did not have a meal there but we will definitely do so if/when we go back to Plett..

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beatrix19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We dropped into La Fournil on a recommendation looking for breakfast. The home made pastries were excellent and the coffee was as good. The service was prompt, I would recommend it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Titanic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Little piece of heaven”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The open air seating area must be one of the best around, and it feels like you are somewhere on France. The service is very good, and the food excellent.
After your meal you must go and buy some bread and cake to take home, you will not be disappointed.
Every time we are in Plett we make a point of going there, more than once.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maverixJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Fournil de Plett Bakery and Cafe also viewed

Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to Le Fournil de Plett Bakery and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing