We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Plettenberg Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Maidenhead, Berks
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 13 January 2012

We stayed for one night in december and I only wish we could have stayed for longer! The views are even better than can be captured in photos and the whole hotel has a lovely, calm, welcoming atmosphere.Johan, the assistant manager was simply superb in his manner with us and is clearly a consummate professional. All the staff were friendly and welcoming and we were lucky enough to try the cocktails in the bar before dinner. They were seriously good - the best we've had in a very long time. The restaurant food was nice but nothing special, a little bit heavy for my liking but perhaps that is just me. The restaurant itself is beautiful and a pleasure to dine in. If I had to find something to complain about it would be that our room smelled faintly of smoke when we arrived but with so much else to be happy about we really weren't bothered. All in all it was a fantastic stay and I would happily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank restaurantlover52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
formosabay, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2012
Thank you for your comments. Myself and my wonderful team are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Plettenberg. Lisa Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    78
    22
    9
    5
See reviews for
83
361
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2012

My wife and I had our honeymoon in South Africa, and were looking forward to our one night stay in the Plettenberg Hotel as it had come highly recommended. We had a noisy room overlooking the entrance and parking and the service was always short. We've had the privilege of staying in some lovely hotels during our stay in SA, unfortunately, the Plettenberg Hotel was not one of them. Not worth the hype, or the money.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cejayres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
formosabay, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2012
Thank you for your constructive comments, which are currently being addressed. We trust that we can welcome you back to The Plettenberg in the near future, in order to to eperience our true 5 star hospitality. Lisa Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Brilliant views, excellent service, lovely rooms and tempting cocktail list at the stylish bar.

The restaurant is great and service is attentive - the food is probably a little too heavy/rich to want to eat here more than once but is excellent nonetheless.

Room Tip: Ocean facing is the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CjakLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
formosabay, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2012
We are extremely happy that you had a wonderful stay at The Plettenberg. We thank you for your constructive comments, and trust that you will eat at our Sand restaurant more than once during your next visit to The Plettenberg. Lisa Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
111 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

The gracious art of living reaches new heights at ‘The Plettenberg’: a Relais & Chateaux luxury hotel in Plettenberg Bay – one of South Africa’s most exciting, dream destinations. Nestling on the stunning coastline of the Western Cape’s Garden Route – between the lush, green of the sub-tropical Tsitsikamma forests and the sparkling waters of beautiful Formosa Bay – an elegant, long white mansion stands waiting to offer an unforgettable stay, fine-dining or the afternoon tea experience.

If you have a penchant for taking tea the elegant way, there is nothing better than at The Bay. Relax in one of the attractive lounges or poolside on the al-fresco terrace and enjoy an atmosphere of soothing sophisticatio; make your choice from a superior selection of the finest teas; and enjoy impeccable service while indulging in delicious tea-time treats. Personal favourites include: classic smoked salmon and crispy bacon sandwiches, followed by rich chocolate gateau, mouth-watering carrot cake or homemade muffins topped with organic preserves. All this – and a ‘table with a view’, too. Not to be missed.Only problem is tht after your feast - you will have no space for dinner and probably no appetite for rambling on the magnificent beaches. Recommended by Daphne Beames.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Relais-Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

It had been 10 years since we stayed last time - Had forgotten just what a superb setting this hotel commands over the bay. Simply superb. A wonderful time, relaxing, great position, pool and restaurant all second to none.

Highly recommend to stay in SA

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonAussieFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
formosabay, Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Thank you for your kind comments. I am delighted that you returned to The Plettenberg after 10 years, and enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit. Lisa Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

From its beautifull position this hotel offers the very best in service, accommodation and cuisine. We had a magnificent corner room affording wonderful views over Plettenberg bay and were made to feel very welcome by the manageress and her friendly and efficient staff. We also enjoyed the varied and delicious food in the relaxed dining room; in fact we were so comfortable in this hotel that we had to force ourselves to go out to see the many attractions nearby.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
formosabay, Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments, and look forward to welcoming you back to The Plettenberg. Lisa Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

If you visit Plettenberg this hotel is the place to stay. The manageress is an absolute delight when she welcomes you and the staff are very friendly. Johan, the assistant manager is so friendly and is genuinely interested to hear where you come from from. The food was the best that we ate in South Africa and we ate in a lot of top quality restaurants during our stay in SA. The views from the hotel simply take your breath away and the setting is perfect for a short stroll into the town centre. This hotel is amongst the best that we have ever stayed in judged by any level of standards that one could think of. If you are going on the garden route then try this little bit of paradise.

Room Tip: Opt for a room with a view over the pools if you can. This also gives great views over the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
formosabay, Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2011
Myself and my wonderful team are delighted that you had a memorable experience at our beautiful hotel. Thank you for your positive review. Lisa Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
1.6 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
708 reviews
6.1 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
529 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
138 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#4 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
855 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plettenberg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plettenberg Hotel

Property: The Plettenberg Hotel
Address: Garden Route 40 Church Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Plettenberg Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plettenberg - situated on a rocky headland in Africa's most spectacular coastal resort - is the ultimate escape. The 37 luxury rooms and suites, showcase the most breathtaking vistas in Southern Africa. With views of the ocean, mountains and endless stretches of golden beach, The Plettenberg is situated in the heart of the adventure-rich Garden Route, world-renowned for its excellent selection of outdoor activities. From regular dolphin and whale sightings to bungee jumping, treetop canopy tours and other more daring pursuits in the surrounding countryside. The Plettenberg is the ideal place to both relax and unwind - or recharge and reinvigorate - through a series of sensational endeavours. At The Plettenberg the charming service, exceptional cuisine, which is overseen by The Collection by Liz McGrath’s Grand Chef, Peter Tempelhoff, and the setting combine to create the ultimate story, one of a South African seaside property unlike any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Plettenberg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing