We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to spend some time relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Plettenberg Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We arrived at the hotel on 29th October 2012. The staff in this hotel were very friendly, helpful and professional from the first minute when we arrived. The hotel has great views. We stayed in room 60, which was very spacious, clean and relaxing. The hotel has an overall feel of being relaxing and you could easily spend your day around the various areas, with a book and a glass of something. We enjoyed an evening meal in the restaurant, which was very good indeed. The menu was varied and there was a good wine list. This is definately a 5* hotel, which I recommend wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woodcutter67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
formosabay, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

I am delighted that you had a relaxing stay at The Plettenberg, and a wonderful meal at our Seafood restaurant. Thank you for taking time to post a review. Lisa Knight

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (574)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

406 - 412 of 575 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2012

Spent two nights here and didn't want to leave. The management and staff were wonderful, nothing was a problem. The room was very comfortable, and serviced beautifully daily.

Would recommend anybody wanting somewhere special to stay to put The Plettenberg on their list. We look forward to returning someday in the near future to enjoy it all again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cabsavie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
formosabay, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay are greatly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Plettenberg. Lisa Knight

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Have just returned from yet another stay at The Plettenberg. This really is one pf my favourite places to stay in the world. Both the management Johan and Lisa and all the staff are always so welcoming and friendly, remaining always professional. The rooms are everything you would expect from a 5star hotel, spotlessly clean and every attention to detail is taken care of. The food in the restaurant is not too be missed. This review would not be complete without mentioning the hotel is in the most stunning location, with the most spectacular, breathtaking views. All of these things make the Plettenberg a very special place to stay. Until the next time..............

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 501SandraS501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
formosabay, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

I am thrilled that once again you enjoyed your stay at The Plettenberg. Myself and my team look forward to seeing you shortly. Lisa Knight

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

I showed up here with grease on my face after changing my tire up the coast a ways. I was weary from a few days driving from Durban, and had pulled into the other hotel in plettenbrg on the rock on the ocean thinking this might be the best place in town, but was treated absurdly by the staff there. When I got here and saw the Relais and Chateaux plaque I was pretty psyeched, because they must have the best training in the world, and instead of looking down at me, a guy grabbed my bag and even offered to clean my car for me. A beautiful woman at the desk gave me a great rate (relatively, it isn't cheap, but it was mid winter and things were slow) on a suite and never once mentioned the grease nor made it awkward, and I was treated the next morning to a stunning view, one that I only see equaled in places like the south pacific.. I stayed a few extra days and still appreciate this place. For customer service, any relais and chateaux place is going to be as good as it gets, and it's a pleasure, like staying at a rich uncles house and being treated to his best.. without the sad and comical results of subtle or not so subtle greed that can dominate so many hospitality interactions.

Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
formosabay, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Thanks so much for your positive comments. I am delighted that you had a wonderful experience at our beautiful hotel. Lisa Knight

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

The Title of this review says it all!
I stayed over for one night on a business trip. After a 16 hour journey from London I was welcolmed by name when I arrived, that's a first at a hotel I have never visited before, and was promptly shown to my room. One of the things that stood out for me was that the staff are obviously encouraged to learn the guests names, as many of them had learned mine even without engaging me. The location and views are wonderful and the room was very large and spotlessly clean. I had a good meal in the Restaurant and a great nights sleep. I am going back for 2 night next week when I visit again from the UK.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
formosabay, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Thank you for you positive comments regarding your first visit to The Plettenberg Hotel. I appreciate your feedback, and myself and my team are looking forward to welcoming you back next week. Lisa Knight

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We stayed at The Plettenberg for 2 nights in late September, largely because we could not get these dates at the Beacon Island, where we had stayed previously, and thought that was fantastic. But this hotel surpassed all expectation; the receptionist could not have done more for us on arrival, moving us to a beautiful ground-floor room to suit my wife, who has limited mobility. The room standard was fabulous, and the restaurant breakfasts, sitting on the terrace with a breathtaking view of Plettenberg Bay, could not have been bettered. The assistant manager, Johan, went out of his way to ensure we had a great stay, and could not have been more helpful and attentive.

Room Tip: The hotel has only 35 rooms, all of which seem excellent. You might like to go for the Blue Wing tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xerxes22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
formosabay, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay at our beautiful hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed the amazing views across the bay from our rooms. I will pass your positive comments on to my wonderful team. I look forward to welcoming you back personally to The Plettenberg on your next visit Plettenberg Bay. Lisa Knight

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We had a lovelynSunday lunch at the restaurant at the Plettenberg Hotel.We had a table on the patio with a lovely veiw of the Plettenberg Bay.we had the Crispy Fishcakes and Sirloin Steak.The foodvwas excellent,well presented and very tasty.The service was also very good so was the decor and table settings

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Janfourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
formosabay, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

I am thrilled that you enjoyed your Sunday lunch at Seafood at The Plettenberg. I will pass your positive comments regarding the food on to our head chef. I appreciate your comments on our service and the beautiful decor in our restaurant. Lisa Knight

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plettenberg Bay
5.8 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
266 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
781 reviews
6.1 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
840 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#3 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
959 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Africa Rooms
Grand Africa Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plettenberg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plettenberg Hotel

Address: Garden Route 40 Church Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: £182 - £594 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Plettenberg Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plettenberg - situated on a rocky headland in Africa's most spectacular coastal resort - is the ultimate escape. The 37 luxury rooms and suites, showcase the most breathtaking vistas in Southern Africa. With views of the ocean, mountains and endless stretches of golden beach, The Plettenberg is situated in the heart of the adventure-rich Garden Route, world-renowned for its excellent selection of outdoor activities. From regular dolphin and whale sightings to bungee jumping, treetop canopy tours and other more daring pursuits in the surrounding countryside. The Plettenberg is the ideal place to both relax and unwind - or recharge and reinvigorate - through a series of sensational endeavours. At The Plettenberg the charming service, exceptional cuisine, which is overseen by The Collection by Liz McGrath’s Grand Chef, Peter Tempelhoff, and the setting combine to create the ultimate story, one of a South African seaside property unlike any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelbag, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Plettenberg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing