We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what an upgrade......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Plettenberg Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“what an upgrade......”
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Hadn't planned on stopping here for two nights during our recent stay in SA but sadly our original hotel was overbooked and the nice people at Virgin arranged this as an alternative........we are so pleased that they did!
First impressions were strong - very friendly personal welcome from the ever attentive Lisa Knight and the standards were maintained throughout our stay.
The accommodation was very comfortable (prob the best night's sleep of the holiday) and well appointed.
The food in the restaurant was excellent - we had already received two recommendations for the sea food platter from people we met on safari - do not miss this!
Enjoyed the (reasonably priced) cocktail bar where we were entertained by one of the resident cats who shared our taste for biltong.
We booked a trip (excellent dolphin safari) from the concierge service who were eager to help.
Great location, stunning views and an all round quality experience.
Would we book here again? Certainly - our experience of Lisa and her team has won us over and we wouldn't consider any where else in PB. The next stay will be longer - there is so much to do with great walking available at Storms RM, Robberg and Natures Valley - all stunning.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidandKatie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    77
    21
    9
    5
See reviews for
80
355
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

The view is amazing and the lap pool is very good and our suite was large but tired and badly designed. The staff were so helpful and the breakfasts were great. Just something missing. I can't fault the stay but I would not go there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussiebok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Our great regret was that we only stayed for 3 nights. We were with some of our family celebrating our Golden Wedding Anniversary. The treatment we received was outstanding, the service was brilliant and the staff helpful in every way possible. This is the perfect place to relax and unwind. We have nothing but praise for this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
formosabay, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
I am thrilled that you had a wonderful experience during your recent stay at our beautiful hotel to celebrate your Golden wedding anniversary. Thank you for taking time to post this positive review. Lisa Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
83 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

This is a great hotel! The hotel is essentially located in two buildings on either side of the road both with great views. The main building has a pool, lounge and restaurant and houses the standard rooms. The building across the street has a verandah/loung area and houses the superior rooms. Both buildings have infinity pools with one being heated. The restaurant is superb although if you were staying for more than two nights you would want to eat out as it is fine dining and the menu is limited, that said the food was great.

The hotel is a short walk down a fairly steep path to a beach which is clean, safe and with the added bonus of warm water. It also has life savers on duty.

There have been strikes at the hotel due to proposals to close and the rumour is that it is closing at the end of March - hopefully only for a short time.

Room Tip: A superior room is definitely worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonSunseeker22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
formosabay, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at The Plettenberg.
The Plettenberg is contemplating major restructure at the end of April 2013. This is due to the ever increasing seasonality of Plettenberg Bay as a destination for high end travellers. The hotel will potentially close for the Winter months and re-open sometime in the future under a new format and vision. Lisa Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

If you want to stay in Plettenburg at a hotel with two fantastic pools that overlook the ocean this hotel is for you. We were advised to stay at The Grand but knew, it being the last couple of days of our holiday that we would want to lounge in the sunshine. We were not disappointed. One heated pool, one not. Both in gorgeous settings. But this hotel is so much more than just two pools. The customer service is impeccable. We were made to feel very welcome. Having arrived as part of our honeymoon we were welcomed with champagne and a delightful turn down service on the first evening. The restaurant was really impressive, in service and food and I am surprised it isn't better known in the area (we dined at both Emily Moon and Zinzi and Seafood was easily within the same ball park if not better than Zinzi). We had an incredibly enjoyable stay, we would certainly stay again and recommend it to anyone visiting the area.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a luxury double and were very happy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
formosabay, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
I am pleased that you felt welcome at The Plettenberg, and that you received excellent service during your stay. Thank you for your positive comments regarding the food and service at our restaurant SeaFood at The Plettenberg. Lisa Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We spent two nights in this lovely hotel back in January 2013. The hotel was absolutely clean, fresh, and brand new. Additionally, the General Manager Giovanni was extremely friendly and helpful, always making sure that all our needs are met, and providing us with very useful tips (like going to the Market for food/dinner). Additionally, the hotel's location is a big plus. I can say that The Plettenberg Hotel was the best hotel we stayed in during our Garden Route tour. I would definitely stay there again on my next visit to Plettenberg and would recommend it for everyone.

Room Tip: All rooms were nice, simple, and clean and (double rooms and dorms).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AhmedKhalil83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Have just returned from 3 nights at this hotel - definitely worth the 5 star rating.
From the moment we pulled up in our car the staff could not have been more helpful and welcoming. Stunning views from both pools. There are basically 2 hotels - the main hotel with reception and reaturants and the house/hotel or Blue Wing over the road which we were in - we were upgraded to a suite which was absolutely perfect. This wing had it's own pool and the only downside was that there were no staff in this wing so service around the pool was a bit slow as they only came over at certain intervals also could not find a fitness centre unless it was located in the spa next door.
The main restaurant for breakfast and dinner was excellent as was the choice of menu - breakfast consisted of a self service buffet to start followed by a cooked waiter service main course.
Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting this area and we would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Blue Wing over the road are suites and are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 489Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
formosabay, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. We greatly value our guests' comments and constructive feedback,as this helps in our endeavours to monitor and improve our standard of service. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Plettenberg someday. Lisa Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
6.1 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
515 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
676 reviews
3.9 mi away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
236 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#4 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
806 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plettenberg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plettenberg Hotel

Property: The Plettenberg Hotel
Address: Garden Route 40 Church Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Plettenberg Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plettenberg - situated on a rocky headland in Africa's most spectacular coastal resort - is the ultimate escape. The 37 luxury rooms and suites, showcase the most breathtaking vistas in Southern Africa. With views of the ocean, mountains and endless stretches of golden beach, The Plettenberg is situated in the heart of the adventure-rich Garden Route, world-renowned for its excellent selection of outdoor activities. From regular dolphin and whale sightings to bungee jumping, treetop canopy tours and other more daring pursuits in the surrounding countryside. The Plettenberg is the ideal place to both relax and unwind - or recharge and reinvigorate - through a series of sensational endeavours. At The Plettenberg the charming service, exceptional cuisine, which is overseen by The Collection by Liz McGrath’s Grand Chef, Peter Tempelhoff, and the setting combine to create the ultimate story, one of a South African seaside property unlike any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Plettenberg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing