We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food with Great Views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Plettenberg Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The views from the restaurant are superb, and what a setting to accompany an excellent meal served by friendly, helpful staff. We had the set Sunday lunch of Roast Beef and all the trimmings which was delicious and good value. A slight negative is the starter portions are a bit on the small side but quality and taste are excellent.

This restaurant is not for the budget conscious but if you want fantastic food, in great surroundings it's worth every penny and would put many a good London restaurant to shame!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank LuganoPirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (563)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 564 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel in December 2012.

Room: In fairness, we booked late so we were allocated a roadside room at the back of hotel, with no view. I understood this when booking so I have no issue with the fact that we looked onto a road. However, the cost didn't quite equate to the lack of value in all other respects. The decor and design of the rooms and bathroom were a throwback to the 90s.

The best part about the hotel was the awe-inspiring view from the restaurant which I cannot fault. But overall I found the hotel was on par with a reasonable four star hotel chain I'd happily accept when traveling for business, provided I was charged accordingly.

The food was fine. Not memorable, but also not dreadful.

The hotel pool in our building was the size of postage stamp.

The hotel is definitely not for young kids.

I personally think there is much better on offer in Plett for this price.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobeSniffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnemieParker, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us but we value your comments. I am the new General Manager at the Plettenberg and started just before the re-opening that took place in September. We have been closed for the winter period and while closed we went though a refurbishment of some areas in the hotel, and that has changed the overall feel of the hotel. The aim with this was to make the hotel more service orientated but less formal, making it more child friendly. We hope that you will visit us again in the future to experience the change.
Kind Regards,
Annemie Parker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This is a wonderful 5 star hotel that sits on cliff overlooking Plettenberg bay. Upon our arrival, we were greeted by staff members who led us to their "sun room" to check in and fill out our paperwork.  Since we had had a full day (Elephant Park, Monkey Reserve, Birds of Eden and a 90 minute walk in Tsitsikamma National park), we decided to rest and eat at the hotel.  After making dinner reservations, we were escorted to our rooms overlooking beautiful Plettenberg Bay.  If you stay here, you MUST get a room with a view of the bay. It is absolutely spectacular. We were in room 63 and our friends were in room 58 and 57.  All three were on the second floor and had lovely views.  Half bottles of wine along with water were complimentary.  We kept our balcony doors open all night just so we could be lulled to sleep by the ocean sounds.

Dinner at the hotel was excellent and definitely worthy of a 5 star hotel.  The fish soup was delicious as was the "catch of the day".  The desserts were also the best that we had in South Africa.  Since we had accumulated a lot of wine along the way, they allowed us to bring in a couple of bottles for a small corkage fee.

We awoke to a beautiful sunrise over the bay.  What a pleasant way to wake up - laying in bed and watching the play of light and color over the water.

Normally, the restaurant doesn't open for breakfast until 7:30. But, since we were leaving at 8:00 and didn't want to rush, they opened it for us at 7:15.  The breakfast was excellent ranging from freshly cooked omelets, cereals, cheeses, fresh fruits, croissants and more.

The Plettenberg is owned by the same person who owns the Marine in Hermanus (where we stayed - also very nice) and one other hotel in Cape Town. We stayed at the Marine as well and yes, it was nice but the Plettenberg was even better.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a view. We were in room 63 and our friends were in 57 and 58 and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manhattanmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnemieParker, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

We are delighted that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us at the Plettenberg.

We hope to welcome you back soon for a longer stay.

Warm regards

Annemie Parker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed here for three nights in march 2013 as part of our 3 week honeymoon. This is a lovely luxury hotel. The room was so comfortable and the décor was really nice. The. reception/lobby areas was very nice also. I enjoyed meeting the resident hotel cats. The food was delicious. It was so nice eating outside for breakfast looking out over the beach. The only down side of the hotel was the fact it was very hot in the reception / lobby areas. It appeared like there was no air conditioning on.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank missfuscia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnemieParker, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Peter & Oliver (Hotel cats) is certainly part of the team.

Thank you for the feedback regarding the reception area. We have since renovated our hotel reception area, and do belief that this will make a difference.

Hope to welcome you back on your wedding anniversary.

Kind Regards
Annemie Parker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We had a luxury room with a sea view at the Plettenburg, and what a view, and what a room it was! Without a doubt this was a hotel that deserves its stars and accolades. Lisa and her staff were so friendly and so helpful. The room was wonderfully spacious, and we had good food in the Seafood restaurant. We also found prices for extras, such as laundry to be very fair, and less than in other hotels during our trip.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 476David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

After two nights at The Marine in Hermanus and three nights along the garden route, arriving at The Plettenberg was full of expectation, and all our expectations were met! Delightful staff, great room and what a view! Two pools to choose from, excellent restaurant and a really well run hotel, just the finish we needed to a fantastic South African trip.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GordonR142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Accommodation wonderful. Views amazing.


Just fell in love with this location. Amazing views and great hospitality from Lisa and all staff. Cant wait to return to such a wonderful destination. Rooms well appointed with all needs. . Breakfast was wonderful on the deck in the warm sunshine, watching the seagulls gliding by. Highly recommended for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plettenberg Bay
1.6 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
761 reviews
6.1 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
552 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#3 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
934 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
376 reviews
16.6 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plettenberg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plettenberg Hotel

Address: Garden Route 40 Church Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: £186 - £590 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Plettenberg Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plettenberg - situated on a rocky headland in Africa's most spectacular coastal resort - is the ultimate escape. The 37 luxury rooms and suites, showcase the most breathtaking vistas in Southern Africa. With views of the ocean, mountains and endless stretches of golden beach, The Plettenberg is situated in the heart of the adventure-rich Garden Route, world-renowned for its excellent selection of outdoor activities. From regular dolphin and whale sightings to bungee jumping, treetop canopy tours and other more daring pursuits in the surrounding countryside. The Plettenberg is the ideal place to both relax and unwind - or recharge and reinvigorate - through a series of sensational endeavours. At The Plettenberg the charming service, exceptional cuisine, which is overseen by The Collection by Liz McGrath’s Grand Chef, Peter Tempelhoff, and the setting combine to create the ultimate story, one of a South African seaside property unlike any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Plettenberg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing