We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional memories”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Plettenberg Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Exceptional memories”
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

I'm writing this review a little late. It's now been exactly one year since I stayed at this hotel with my family. We celebrated the new year of 2013 at this hotel.
The stay at this hotel was amazing and the rooms had such wonderful views!
On New Year's Eve we returned to the hotel from dinner and let up floating lanterns into the sky which was a perfect way to embrace the new year with my family of 9.

The next day we even went off skydiving above Plettenberg Bay which was pretty awesome and a fantastic way to start off the new year!

I'd 100% recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to visit South Africa. it's now been a year and my memories are still 100% fresh!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank leglobetrotter7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnemieParker, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Wonderful to hear that you have such great memories of Plett and the Plettenberg Hotel. Perhaps you will re-visit in the future....
Kind Regards,
Annemie Parker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    78
    22
    9
    5
See reviews for
83
358
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

My husband and I stayed for 5 nights at The Plettenberg as part of a tour of the garden route. As it was peak season and we booked quite late, the only room available was a standard double, which was nicely decorated but didn't have a sea view. The hotel amenities are very good, an excellent restaurant (both breakfast and the evening), a good bar, a compact but pleasant pool area and plenty of information on hand to help you plan your visit. The hotel manager was in my mind quite exceptional, greeting the guests each day at breakfast remembering little details of our stay (e.g. what we were planning to do that day etc) - very hands on, and always available. The view from the terrace/main pool out to the sea across the bay is incredible. My only (minor) gripes would be that the towels were a little threadbare and should be upgraded to big fluffy bathsheets, I'd expect more generous branded toiletries e.g. molton brown or similar and the internet access was patchy. Overall very good though.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view if available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank London_girl_8313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnemieParker, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for your positive comments and also for the constructive criticism. We always strife to better the experience for our guests, so will work hard at finding solutions to your comments. You will be happy to know that we have just upgraded our internet and I must say it has made a very big difference. Hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind Regards,
Annemie Parker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
96 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We spent four nights at this property (suite 18), taking four breakfasts and four dinners at the Seafood restaurant. The Plettenberg's location is perfect for tourism, in a safe and quiet environment, with easy walking access to two beaches, or to Plettenberg's shops. The hotel's swimming pool is too small to be really enjoyed by adults; it is mainly the place where sea birds come to drink water. Not a problem for us, as the Indian Ocean is just a few meters away and we swam there. Our suite was gorgeous with six large windows and sea views in two different directions; the hotel gave us all the comfort we expected from Relais & Châteaux properties and honored Club 5C privileges. Staff was charming and efficient, even if we experienced a few housekeeping mishaps that were quickly solved (missing towels, etc.). In some occasions, staff exceeded our expectations by anticipating our needs. In this hotel, management team is visible and easy to reach in case a problem occurs. We found the restaurant's quality excellent for the price paid (based on rates faced in Europe/USA), including the wine list. We encountered a bad bottle of wine (mold) for which the maître d'hôtel apologized and quickly proposed a free change. Anyhow we have one major complaint regarding accommodation: the internet access. Wi-Fi was really bad and almost useless (we ended up connecting through our own 3G cellular phone). To sum up, an excellent stay and a good central base point to visit the Garden Route. I think that most of the pleasure of staying there comes from the sea views. I would recommend choosing a room that does have such views.

Room Tip: Sea views recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric_Beylon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnemieParker, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for your comments and feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed the room that you stayed in. It certainly does have beautiful views! You will be happy to know that we have just upgraded our Wi-Fi and I must say it has hugely improved the speed and connection. But I must apologize that you had to struggle with this during your stay with us.
We hope to welcome you back to the Plettenberg in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Annemie Parker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

The views from the restaurant are superb, and what a setting to accompany an excellent meal served by friendly, helpful staff. We had the set Sunday lunch of Roast Beef and all the trimmings which was delicious and good value. A slight negative is the starter portions are a bit on the small side but quality and taste are excellent.

This restaurant is not for the budget conscious but if you want fantastic food, in great surroundings it's worth every penny and would put many a good London restaurant to shame!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LuganoPirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel in December 2012.

Room: In fairness, we booked late so we were allocated a roadside room at the back of hotel, with no view. I understood this when booking so I have no issue with the fact that we looked onto a road. However, the cost didn't quite equate to the lack of value in all other respects. The decor and design of the rooms and bathroom were a throwback to the 90s.

The best part about the hotel was the awe-inspiring view from the restaurant which I cannot fault. But overall I found the hotel was on par with a reasonable four star hotel chain I'd happily accept when traveling for business, provided I was charged accordingly.

The food was fine. Not memorable, but also not dreadful.

The hotel pool in our building was the size of postage stamp.

The hotel is definitely not for young kids.

I personally think there is much better on offer in Plett for this price.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobeSniffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnemieParker, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us but we value your comments. I am the new General Manager at the Plettenberg and started just before the re-opening that took place in September. We have been closed for the winter period and while closed we went though a refurbishment of some areas in the hotel, and that has changed the overall feel of the hotel. The aim with this was to make the hotel more service orientated but less formal, making it more child friendly. We hope that you will visit us again in the future to experience the change.
Kind Regards,
Annemie Parker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
276 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This is a wonderful 5 star hotel that sits on cliff overlooking Plettenberg bay. Upon our arrival, we were greeted by staff members who led us to their "sun room" to check in and fill out our paperwork.  Since we had had a full day (Elephant Park, Monkey Reserve, Birds of Eden and a 90 minute walk in Tsitsikamma National park), we decided to rest and eat at the hotel.  After making dinner reservations, we were escorted to our rooms overlooking beautiful Plettenberg Bay.  If you stay here, you MUST get a room with a view of the bay. It is absolutely spectacular. We were in room 63 and our friends were in room 58 and 57.  All three were on the second floor and had lovely views.  Half bottles of wine along with water were complimentary.  We kept our balcony doors open all night just so we could be lulled to sleep by the ocean sounds.

Dinner at the hotel was excellent and definitely worthy of a 5 star hotel.  The fish soup was delicious as was the "catch of the day".  The desserts were also the best that we had in South Africa.  Since we had accumulated a lot of wine along the way, they allowed us to bring in a couple of bottles for a small corkage fee.

We awoke to a beautiful sunrise over the bay.  What a pleasant way to wake up - laying in bed and watching the play of light and color over the water.

Normally, the restaurant doesn't open for breakfast until 7:30. But, since we were leaving at 8:00 and didn't want to rush, they opened it for us at 7:15.  The breakfast was excellent ranging from freshly cooked omelets, cereals, cheeses, fresh fruits, croissants and more.

The Plettenberg is owned by the same person who owns the Marine in Hermanus (where we stayed - also very nice) and one other hotel in Cape Town. We stayed at the Marine as well and yes, it was nice but the Plettenberg was even better.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a view. We were in room 63 and our friends were in 57 and 58 and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manhattanmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnemieParker, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
We are delighted that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us at the Plettenberg.

We hope to welcome you back soon for a longer stay.

Warm regards

Annemie Parker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navan, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed here for three nights in march 2013 as part of our 3 week honeymoon. This is a lovely luxury hotel. The room was so comfortable and the décor was really nice. The. reception/lobby areas was very nice also. I enjoyed meeting the resident hotel cats. The food was delicious. It was so nice eating outside for breakfast looking out over the beach. The only down side of the hotel was the fact it was very hot in the reception / lobby areas. It appeared like there was no air conditioning on.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missfuscia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnemieParker, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Peter & Oliver (Hotel cats) is certainly part of the team.

Thank you for the feedback regarding the reception area. We have since renovated our hotel reception area, and do belief that this will make a difference.

Hope to welcome you back on your wedding anniversary.

Kind Regards
Annemie Parker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
6.1 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
3.9 mi away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#4 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plettenberg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plettenberg Hotel

Property: The Plettenberg Hotel
Address: Garden Route 40 Church Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Plettenberg Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plettenberg - situated on a rocky headland in Africa's most spectacular coastal resort - is the ultimate escape. The 37 luxury rooms and suites, showcase the most breathtaking vistas in Southern Africa. With views of the ocean, mountains and endless stretches of golden beach, The Plettenberg is situated in the heart of the adventure-rich Garden Route, world-renowned for its excellent selection of outdoor activities. From regular dolphin and whale sightings to bungee jumping, treetop canopy tours and other more daring pursuits in the surrounding countryside. The Plettenberg is the ideal place to both relax and unwind - or recharge and reinvigorate - through a series of sensational endeavours. At The Plettenberg the charming service, exceptional cuisine, which is overseen by The Collection by Liz McGrath’s Grand Chef, Peter Tempelhoff, and the setting combine to create the ultimate story, one of a South African seaside property unlike any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Plettenberg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing