We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A honeymoon delight on the garden route!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Plettenberg Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This hotel is truly lovely- as well as the fabulous decor, amazing views, and excellent rooms- the staff are also very helpful.

I have never been to a hotel where the management were so present - Annemie was there during our check in and came to speak to every guest at breakfast - a nice touch.

We also ate dinner in the restaurant which was excellent,

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Millie753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnemieParker, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Thank you for the lovely review! We hope to welcome you back for your wedding anniversary.
Kind Regards,
Annemie Parker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (575)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 575 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

The hotel unfortunately didn't match it's idyllic location and failed to meet our expectations of a Relais and Chateaux property.

The staff were certainly trying to give excellent service and some of them succeeded although many didn't. An early breakfast served in our room came with no cups and saucers, only one plate and knife, no butter or preserves to accompany the bread and two bowls of fresh fruit, each one sufficient to feed 6 people.

Our room was certainly very we'll appointed although the walk in wardrobe space and shelving was difficult to manage with poor lighting.

The visit was also followed up with a letter asking us to discuss anything pertaining to our visit with a Manager who is no longer there! All in all a very disappointing experience

Room Tip: The main building has more 'soul' than the Blue Wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandie250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnemieParker, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

It is terrible to hear that we did not exceed the expectations that you had of the Plettenberg as we really do strive to give all our guests a wonderful experience. It does sadden us when our guests are not happy.

All points raised will be investigated and solutions found.

We do hope that you might give us a chance again in the future to make up for what you experienced at the Plettenberg.

Kind Regards,
Annemie Parker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The hotel is superb with extensive views over the lagoon, ocean and beaches. It is on the overseas tourist circuit so expect to pay international prices. It is an excellent base to explore Plett, Knysna and the garden route up to Storms River.

The rooms are beautifully appointed and the service immaculate. All of the staff are helpful and friendly and jump to fulfil any request.

There are 2 pools, one of which is a lap pool and the beach is an easy walk with a security guard on duty.

We had an excellent dinner in the hotel and the cocktail bar offers a wide selection. For lunch you can stroll down to the Lookout Deck.

Definitely a "must" stopover on the Garden Route.

Room Tip: Room 55 is the best room in the hotel; it is a step away from the pool area and has a private terrac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hesiod58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnemieParker, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Wonderful to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Plettenberg. It certainly is a great base to explore the beautiful surrounding areas.
Thank you for taking the time to post a comment
Kind Regards,
Annemie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Great food, great service, close to the town, brilliant coffee shop at the top of the street, Claire's I think. But the hotel is really good, service, cleanliness etc were all very difficult to fault. Just a shame it was a bit overcast really. And staff were very friendly and efficient.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnemieParker, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Thank you for the review. We hope to welcome you back in perfect Plett sunny weather next time.
Kind Regards
Annemie Parker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Everything about The Plettenberg Hotel is first class. We upgraded to a sea view room and we were pleased we did as some of the rooms overlook the carpark. Our room was light and airy and had french windows opening onto a small balcony. The restaurant is popular with non residents so it can be quite busy some lunchtimes. The menu is varied and food was delicious. Overall a beautiful spot!! Wish I could afford to go every year!!!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Neep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnemieParker, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

So happy to hear that we were able to upgrade you to a sea view room and that you had an enjoyable time with us at the Plettenberg. We would love for you to visit us again some time.
Kind Regards,
Annemie Parker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights In January 2014, and think it must be the best hotel i've ever stayed in. We were welcomed by the manager on arrival, the staff were friendly, curteous, and helpful, the room was AMAZING and the views from the pool area were just beautiful.

We ate in Seafood both nights, and the standard of the food was excellemt, with two 3 course meals and a bottle of fizz costing about £60. Breakfast was also great, i can thoroughly recommend the smoked haddock, hash brown and poached egg option!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ilovemarmaris08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnemieParker, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

What a wonderful comment! Thank you for the great feedback. I must say that our Smoked Haddock Breakfast is most popular. Please visit us again soon.
Kind Regards,
Annemie Parker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

A wonderful four days were spent at this hotel
Accommodation, service and staff a pleasure
They even ensured that my husband could watch his football team on the tv in our room
The restaurant was wonderful with the food and beverage managers on site at all time - never seen that before
They made our visit to plettenberg memorable
Many thanks

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela51-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnemieParker, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

So good to hear that you enjoyed your time with us at the Plettenberg. We do try and accommodate our guests special needs, so happy that we could accommodate your husband's request.
Kind Regards,
Annemie Parker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plettenberg Bay
5.8 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
267 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
786 reviews
6.1 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
842 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#3 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
963 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Africa Rooms
Grand Africa Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plettenberg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plettenberg Hotel

Address: Garden Route 40 Church Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: £180 - £586 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Plettenberg Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plettenberg - situated on a rocky headland in Africa's most spectacular coastal resort - is the ultimate escape. The 37 luxury rooms and suites, showcase the most breathtaking vistas in Southern Africa. With views of the ocean, mountains and endless stretches of golden beach, The Plettenberg is situated in the heart of the adventure-rich Garden Route, world-renowned for its excellent selection of outdoor activities. From regular dolphin and whale sightings to bungee jumping, treetop canopy tours and other more daring pursuits in the surrounding countryside. The Plettenberg is the ideal place to both relax and unwind - or recharge and reinvigorate - through a series of sensational endeavours. At The Plettenberg the charming service, exceptional cuisine, which is overseen by The Collection by Liz McGrath’s Grand Chef, Peter Tempelhoff, and the setting combine to create the ultimate story, one of a South African seaside property unlike any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Plettenberg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing