We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Astonishing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Plettenberg Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Of course a spectacular location with one of the best view I have ever seen helps. Add to this an exquisite service, very elegant but understated ambience, and an excellent restaurant and here you have probably the best hotel you can ever see!

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Zannino63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnemieParker, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Thank you so much for the lovely review. We appreciate that you took the time. We hope that you will come and stay again.
Kind Regards,
Annemie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

357 - 363 of 605 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

We spent two nights here on our way from Port Elizabeth to Hermanus. I booked it because of the view....which is breathtaking. We booked adjoining rooms but these have no decent view...so I asked to be moved and we there with no problem. If you come here you need a good view so watch out for the adjoining rooms issue.
We were moved and were delighted with the view...the rooms were great too. Staff very helpful and accommodating, offering good advice about places to visit. The hotel seems a little dated and the pool side equipment (loungers etc) needed upgrading.
The food was good though not exceptional, though we didn't eat in the restaurant for dinner....which appears to be good quality. We chose to eat at the 'Lookout' restaurant on the beech which was casual and good food and atmosphere.
The location of the hotel is great especially for walks along the beech....the beech was wonderful, one of the best I've seen. The town is a 10 min hike up the hill and this was disappointing, with little on offer. Perhaps quiet because it is 'off season' but still I'd expected more from such a wealthy town.
Left happy with our stay BUT when I paid the bill I was reminded about how expensive this place is. It's outrageous really given this is offseason and we are in SA which is good value. I felt ripped off to be honest by the room rates and know there are other cheaper alternatives in the town.My advice would be to stay elsewhere and walk/drive to get the view.....it's not worth the extra money.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view (64/65 were good) as this is the main reason for staying here. Adjoining rooms ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottLondon77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The Plettenberg Hotel didn't even have to offer any kind of service and I would have loved it! the views and tranquility is just a big WHOW! can't even try to describe it in words! Of course, they went to full hog and the atmosphere is complimented by tastefully decorated rooms with all the little luxuries you would expect, the staff is making you feel so welcome and that your every need is their main concern. Make sure you have enough time for breakfast, besides it being a feast, the setting needs to be devoured little by little!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charmaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnemieParker, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Thank you for the wonderful feedback. I must say our view is something really special. We hope that you will return some day.
Kind Regards,
Annemie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights (13-15 March 2014). What can we say this hotel was fantastic!! The views are simply stunning. As you walk in you feel relaxed in the beautiful interior decorated in pastel blues.

Whilst we did not have a sea facing room it was still great, very large and airy with plenty of wardrobe space and an exceptionally spacious bathroom.

Both pools were "infinity pools" with stunning views it was great to swim in them and to relax overlooking the bay. The annexe pool was even heated! both pool areas were great place to relax and catch the sun and watch the seagulls drinking room the pool. (They obviously thought it a great pace to be as well!)

We ate in the Seafood Restaurant on all three nights and the food and service were excellent - we could not fault it. We were also fortunate to sit by the veranda window with the moonlight reflecting of the sea and the pool - very romantic!

Breakfast with plenty of choice and cooked to order was lovely sitting out on the terrace.

The hotel is ideally situated for the beaches. You can either walk to the main beach of Plettenburg where there are a few beach cafes/bars or you can go down past the Lookout bar and, when the tide is out, walk for miles on an empty beach - then back to the Lookout for a refreshing drink!

All of the staff are helpful and friendly - it really was an outstanding hotel and if we are in SA again it will be on our must stay list.

If you are in the area you must stop at this hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LancashireWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnemieParker, Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

What a wonderful review! Thank you so much for all the lovely feedback, we are thrilled that you had such a great stay and time with us.
Kind Regards,
Annemie Parker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed at the Plettenberg by chance after finding the original hotel we had booked really shabby. I phoned from my mobile on route to the Plettenberg and Fazlin on reception was more than helpful and offered to show us the rooms available. The staff were fantastic and most attentive and made our weekend very special, putting a bottle of MCC in our room and giving us a romantic turndown with rose petals and Amarula. The views from this hotel are magnificent. Breakfast was wonderful with a good selection. Dinner was not quite as good. The two swimming pools are fantastic and the beach is a short stroll away. The only small complaint we had was that our room was right above the entrance and was a little noisy at times especially when the staff arrived and left. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room above the entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnemieParker, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you for the great feedback and also for letting us know about the noise. I don't think we always realize how far sound travels.
So glad that we could make your anniversary special. We hope to welcome you back some day, perhaps for your next anniversary.
Kind Regards,
Annemie Parker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We wanted to eat, but no room for 6 when we phoned, so we went for a drink instead, before going out to the Grand Cafe (a good choice)

Big mistake..........great decor and view werte great, particularly of the 2/3rds empty restaurant........(if they were keeping tables for residents, why not ask them if they were dining in ?) But it was the drinks service.........or rather non service that had to be experienced to be believed.....Kir Royale with warm Sauvignon Blanc, rejected and remedied 20 minutes later with something sparkling. A very dozy, but aimiably useless waiter, served the drinks piecemeal and with no great speed.

A shame that a place with such style should have got its service so wrong

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank nykwilkyins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnemieParker, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

I was disappointed to hear that during your visit to The Plettenberg, the drinks service that you received was not up to our usual guest experience. Thank you for the detailed feedback, as it will assist us to prevent these problems in the future. Our guests experience is our number one priority and we take your comments very seriously. We hope that you will visit us again in the future, to allow us the opportunity to show you our usual 5 star standards.
Kind Regards,
Annemie Parker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The Plettenberg Bay Hotel is a pure Gem. From the special staff, starting with the extraordinary General Manager Annemie Parker who is the epitome of excellent leadership on down to the room maid, the staff here are very special. The attention to detail and their coming forward with a myriad of helpful suggestions and a oracle size knowledge of what to do and where, in the region. The food is superb and our room was beautiful and very large,

Will definitely be back again!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank emondlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnemieParker, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

What wonderful feedback, we so appreciate it! Our staff are very important to us and their positive attitude and attention to detail assists us in ensuring that our guests receive the experience that they deserve. We hope to welcome you back next year.
Kind Regards,
Annemie Parker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plettenberg Bay
1.6 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
815 reviews
6.1 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
576 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
868 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#4 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
998 reviews
10.1 mi away
Kurland Hotel
Kurland Hotel
#7 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plettenberg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plettenberg Hotel

Address: Garden Route 40 Church Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: £179 - £750 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Plettenberg Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plettenberg - situated on a rocky headland in Africa's most spectacular coastal resort - is the ultimate escape. The 37 luxury rooms and suites, showcase the most breathtaking vistas in Southern Africa. With views of the ocean, mountains and endless stretches of golden beach, The Plettenberg is situated in the heart of the adventure-rich Garden Route, world-renowned for its excellent selection of outdoor activities. From regular dolphin and whale sightings to bungee jumping, treetop canopy tours and other more daring pursuits in the surrounding countryside. The Plettenberg is the ideal place to both relax and unwind - or recharge and reinvigorate - through a series of sensational endeavours. At The Plettenberg the charming service, exceptional cuisine, which is overseen by The Collection by Liz McGrath’s Grand Chef, Peter Tempelhoff, and the setting combine to create the ultimate story, one of a South African seaside property unlike any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Plettenberg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing