We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great position, great staff, let down by inadequate wifi reception”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Plettenberg Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Russell Island, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great position, great staff, let down by inadequate wifi reception”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We had three wonderful relaxing days at this hotel. Staff are exceptional, friendly, helpful and so efficient. It's in a great location view-wise and close to town (a bit of a hill but ok for anyone of average fitness). You can walk down to all the beaches and the lagoon from the hotel. (We recommend the Lookoutcafe which is about 200 metres away). Rooms are nicely appointed, a real plus was lots of magazines to read! Great pool, and food top notch (though not exquisite like sister hotel in Hermanus). Would have scored 5 but for lack of reliable wifi - we couldn't always get it in our room, or even in the common areas, and it would also drop in and out. Not good enough for a 5 star hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Clubglenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnemieParker, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to give feedback on your stay with us at the Plettenberg. So happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay. We are certainly ideally situated!
We have to apologize for the lack of Wi-Fi connection during your stay with us, and you are quite right that this is not 5 star standard. I am very happy to report that we have just upgraded our entire Wi-Fi system, and that we now have strong signal throughout.
We hope to welcome you back some day.

Kind Regards,
Annemie Parker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    80
    22
    9
    5
See reviews for
85
362
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Although we went here last year I am sure things haven't changed. It is a beautiful hotel with beautiful views and infinity pool. We wish we could have stayed longer. The position of the hotel is by a lovely beach and an area where there are many things to do. Overall we felt it was 5 star all around. We would definitely go back agakn.

Room Tip: Have a room facing the sea or swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnemieParker, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
What a wonderful review, thank you so much! We are very lucky to be so ideally situated and I must admit that our view is definitely worth a second look.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Plettenberg.
Kind Regards,
Annemie Parker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This guest house takes one back in time (in a good way). My room had a 6 foot bed with 3 and 2 seater settees. The fire was very welcoming. Staff were welcoming and very helpful. Breakfast and dinner are served in a great dining room with wood fires. A game drive is included and lunch afterwards is served in the game reception which is surrounded by Springbok and zebra. Hippos sometimes swim in the lake by the hotel and there can be antelope on the lawn outside the rooms. If you are into modern rooms don't bother but if colonial is your bag then you will be delighted.

Room Tip: First stay I only saw one room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinB120341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genoa, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We were at Plattenberg hotel for 3 days and it was an exciting experience. Welcome was great , room spacious , exquisite design and an unbelievable view on the bay. please remember to choose dependance in front of the main hotel building , is better because more tranquil and there are 2 rooms sharing a small pool rigged into the rock! while you are having a bath you could see all the bay in front of you. i wonderful spa center , cuisine is hold by a great chef.

Room Tip: already given into the comments section
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stefano_pittaluga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnemieParker, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
So wonderful that you enjoyed your 3 night stay with us, and thank you for the wonderful feedback.
We hope that you might return some day.
Kind Regards,
Annemie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2014

You can't beat the ocean side setting for this charming hotel. You will be pleased when you see it. We enjoyed two excellent breakfasts and one so-so dinner with so-so cocktails. However, service was good and everyone was very pleasant and accommodating. Stayed here 20 years ago and definitely wanted to return. Glad we did.

Room Tip: Ask for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnemieParker, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to give feedback about the Plettenberg on tripadvisor. Happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and that you received good service despite the fact that you felt our dinner & cocktails were so-so. We will definitely investigate.
We hope that you will return again some day.
Kind Regards,
Annemie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stopped off for lunch purely on an impulse. It must have been our lucky day. It as an absolutely charming Relais & Chateux hotel with delightful restaurant enjoying fabulous views of Plettenberg Bay.
Our lunch for two was delightful, chosen from an extensive luncheon menu, and with a superb level of service throughout. Total cost came to a miserly R331 including two hot chocolate drinks and two coffees.
We were particularly impressed to find ourselves being welcomed and partly served in the restaurant by The General Manager who explained that she insisted on gaining first hand knowledge of all parts of the hotel on a regular basis. Brilliant management. Stay here with every confidence of superb service and unrivalled views of Plettenberg Bay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vernonpopperbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnemieParker, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
We are very happy that you happen to have lunch with us on impulse and it is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your lunch and the service that we offered.
Please do visit us again when next in the area.
Kind Regards,
Annemie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The location is fantastic. We had a suite which overlooked the ocean and the beach, and it was beautiful with the balcony doors open looking at the spectacular view. The service was fantastic, and everyone was so friendly and helpful. It had a very relaxed, beach side atmosphere, and it was very enjoyable staying there. It was also very close to the centre of town and a very easy walk to the beach. The pool areas were lovely and the breakfast room and terrace were fantastic, looking out over the pool and out to the sea. The buffet breakfast was delicious and the staff attentive. The breakfast room has obviously been recently updated and was a pleasure to be in. Unfortunately the rooms were dated and slightly worn. It doesn't look as if our room had been updated since it opened in the 1980s. (our friends did comment that their bathroom had been updated recently) In our suite with the amazing view, you could not actually sit on the couch and look out at the view as the couch faced the bedroom. The annex building had a weird decoration style of 80s Italian villa meets a sort of hamptons look ...The décor was a big disappointment. It was all very clean and light and airy, but at that cost, I think it is more of a 4star hotel in a 5star location with 5star service.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnemieParker, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to give feedback and I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our breakfasts and that the team look after you well.
You would be happy to know that we have just started our annual refurbishment and will be focusing on the points raised in your review.
Kind Regards,
Annemie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plettenberg Bay
1.6 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
732 reviews
6.1 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
538 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#4 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
891 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
371 reviews
16.6 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plettenberg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plettenberg Hotel

Property: The Plettenberg Hotel
Address: Garden Route 40 Church Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Plettenberg Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plettenberg - situated on a rocky headland in Africa's most spectacular coastal resort - is the ultimate escape. The 37 luxury rooms and suites, showcase the most breathtaking vistas in Southern Africa. With views of the ocean, mountains and endless stretches of golden beach, The Plettenberg is situated in the heart of the adventure-rich Garden Route, world-renowned for its excellent selection of outdoor activities. From regular dolphin and whale sightings to bungee jumping, treetop canopy tours and other more daring pursuits in the surrounding countryside. The Plettenberg is the ideal place to both relax and unwind - or recharge and reinvigorate - through a series of sensational endeavours. At The Plettenberg the charming service, exceptional cuisine, which is overseen by The Collection by Liz McGrath’s Grand Chef, Peter Tempelhoff, and the setting combine to create the ultimate story, one of a South African seaside property unlike any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Plettenberg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing