We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Plettenberg Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 November 2009

We were given excellent Service from the moment we walked in to the hotel to the time we checked out a few days later. The room was excellent - we didn´t opt for a sea view but got a little of one anyway with a corner room. We found it a bit odd that our king size bed had two twin bed mattresses on a king size bed frame, however, the hotel had the mattresses changed before we had even finished our coffee when we advised them. The location is great - we were on safari near Port Elizabeth first and then the next stop was here - just what we needed to have a chilled out time...the hotel suggested a few day trips including Knysna (where to park, what to do, where to eat etc) and where to eat (the Shack). The hotel has a nice restaurant where we sampled breakfast, lunch & dinner.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sneha23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (565)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

469 - 475 of 565 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2009

Myself and my husband stayed here for 2 nights as part of our honeymoon along the Garden route. Our only regret is that we didn't book for longer. This is a fabalous hotel which overlooks the bay so while we weren't watching whales or the surfers, we could go for walk along the beach. The bedroom was more than spacious and knowing we were on honeymoon we had complimentary bottle of champage on arrival and the bath / bedroom were decorated in rose petals on our arrival back from dinner one day. The service and food were excellent and the staff very friendly. Plettenburg bay is a lovely town with lovely gift shops and number of boat trips go from the beach which is only about 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Would highly recommed this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phil-tipperary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

We arrived on a beautiful sunny day at the end of June. The views from this wonderful property are just out of this world (I am attaching some pictures). The decoration, like all Liz Mc Grath's properties is very delicate and tasteful. And Lisa and her staff made us feel at home from the moment we stepped in. We stayed for only one night, that is our only regret. It was so nice to enjoy dinner in their restaurant, the fish cooked to perfection and so fresh! We felt the service all around, We tried a great South African white wine counseled by their sommelier and it was a great choice. Breakfast was also a bliss in this very bright, full-of-light room overlooking the sea. The fresh flowers our room and all the public areas are a very nice touch. We loved the natural light in the bathroom. The amenities also deserve a mention, the soaps are organic style. It was truly a memorable stay. We did not want to leave! Thank you all the staff of the Plettenerg Hotel! We hope to be back soon...

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DiscoverMendoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2009

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon in June 2009 while exploring the Garden Route.

Very nicely presented hotel with a fantastic location and amazing views over the bay. The room was very nicely decorated with a good bathroom and everything was very clean.

The main thing that let this place down slightly was the patchy service. The hotel was all but empty the night we arrived and we got the feeling the staff were a bit out of practice with having guests there. We went down for a meal in their “award winning” restaurant and had to stand in the entrance for a while until the staff we could hear chatting in the kitchen realised they had customers. We asked to see a menu and they couldn’t find one – not a good sign, so we opted for room service instead. To their credit, they realised what had happened and the next day it definitely looked like someone had lit a fire under the staff and things really turned around.

The second night the place was a bit busier and we gave the restaurant another try. This time things were much better and the food was excellent. So as long as you catch them on a good day, the service can be very good.

Our other complaint would be a very poor breakfast. The eggs were dry, fish was tough and sausages were inedible!

Overall this place is a great location, but the inconsistent food and service makes it feel very overpriced for what we received.

Lots of pictures with this review, so please take a look!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rlpb13a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2009

We arrived to be met by the hotel mangeress and deputy manager, who informed us that we had been upgraded from the 2 bedroom beach house to the 3 bedroom beach house. The Beach house was absolutely fabulous, the staff were great and very accommodating. The food in the restaurant was excellent. We ate quite a few times also in the Lookout restaurant in Plett and would really reccomend anyone to to try it for a really fantastic view, relaxed atmosphere and excellent food.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikkistewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2009

We saved up for what was to be the trip of a lifetime to South Africa over Christmas and the New Year. The highlight as well as the celebration of our wedding anniversary was to be the stay at The Plettenberg over New Years Eve including a Venetian New Years Extravaganza as well as pampering in the spa and sipping cocktails in a stylish cocktail bar. Up to this point our trip had been fantastic, all accommodation was exceptional with gorgeous rooms and brilliant service as well as exceptional attention to detail. I have a serious allergic condition towards lilies and therefore have to always make sure, that there will be no lillies in any hotel or restaurant we visit. In numerous emails I was assured repeatedly that there would be no lillies and that decoration for the New Years event would consist of fruit only. You can imagine our panic when we arrived and the hotel was SWAMPED with lillies. We immediately spoke to the manager who profusely apologized as did the general manager... We were given a seaview room to make up for the "mistake" but unbelievably even after learning about the seriousness of my condition for the two days of our stay the lillies were not removed, we could not take part in the New Years Celebrations nor even have a drink at the bar. We had dinner by ourselves in the breakfast restaurant across the road and in our room the next evening as all restaurants around were booked out. I was stared at running through reception with a scarf across my face to get out as quick as possible and not even asked once if I was ok. I was never treated with so much ignorance in my life and will certainly never return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank fruitmedley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2008

We stayed at the Plettenberg for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon. We had to ask for an upgrade as the original room we were allocated was at the back of the hotel overlooking the car park in the old block and so without a sea view; we were moved to room # 63 with a sea view in the new block across the road which was much better. We saw whales and dolphins in the bay from the 2 pools.

Breakfast is excellent with delicious muffins, croissants and freshly cooked french toast with maple syrup and bacon; you can eat outside on the terrace if the weather is good and it is a treat to do so as the view is wonderful. Also the one evening we had a private meal for 2 in their wine cellar.

All the staff we encountered were very helpful and friendly.

So we enjoyed our stay at the Plettenberg but do ensure that you get a sea view to really appreciate it.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pooCheshire_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plettenberg Bay
1.6 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
764 reviews
6.1 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
552 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#3 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
935 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
376 reviews
16.6 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plettenberg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plettenberg Hotel

Address: Garden Route 40 Church Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: £189 - £598 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Plettenberg Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plettenberg - situated on a rocky headland in Africa's most spectacular coastal resort - is the ultimate escape. The 37 luxury rooms and suites, showcase the most breathtaking vistas in Southern Africa. With views of the ocean, mountains and endless stretches of golden beach, The Plettenberg is situated in the heart of the adventure-rich Garden Route, world-renowned for its excellent selection of outdoor activities. From regular dolphin and whale sightings to bungee jumping, treetop canopy tours and other more daring pursuits in the surrounding countryside. The Plettenberg is the ideal place to both relax and unwind - or recharge and reinvigorate - through a series of sensational endeavours. At The Plettenberg the charming service, exceptional cuisine, which is overseen by The Collection by Liz McGrath’s Grand Chef, Peter Tempelhoff, and the setting combine to create the ultimate story, one of a South African seaside property unlike any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotelopia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Plettenberg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing