We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good fish restaurant”
Review of The Fat Fish

The Fat Fish
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$22
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A funky, hip but stylish fish restaurant and tapas bar, Fat Fish takes tapas to a new gastronomic high. On Central Beach Plettenberg Bay, with great views of our beautiful bay
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A very good fish restaurant”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

This is a large modern restaurant with a great view across the bay. So perhaps not the best venue for a cosy romantic twosome, but probably the best fish restaurant in town. Great service, imaginative menu detailing everything from Starters & Tapas to some great Desserts, and prompt service. Prices are very reasonable and the staff are all courteous and efficient. Thoroughly recommended .

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vernonpopperbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    987
    456
    116
    35
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
277 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Got it right”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Made a last minute booking, and although we arrived early, they accommodated us at a table. The restaurant has got it right using mature waitrons who really know their stuff. The food was great, the service was great (Jeanne served us), and the owner / manager very attentive and on top of what was happening in the restaurant. Could not fault - a most enjoyable experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GaryvE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Honeymoon Trip”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We dined here on a Monday evening and were pleasantly surprised as to how full the restuarant was. we had an awesome experience on our first night of our honeymoon. The evening was pretty chilly so we sat near the fire which really helped with the atmosphere. We ordered 2 tapas meals for our starters and found them really delightful. We both decided to try 2 differant types of Klingklip meals they had on offer and we thought they were brilliant. Service was great and not in your face, Innocent was the gentleman who looked after us and we thought he did a great job. If there was anything to complain about, we found the sauces slightly to sweet on both the starter and the main course. it could be preference but just thought a little less sweet would have been perfect.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bulckops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible service & food”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

unfortunalty there has been a surge of good reviews so please use mine as a measuring stick for when you enquire on the following:
1 - dont ask for a well done steak - they present it burnt outside and a rare inner which then gets butterflied to solve the issue of which the chips return cold
2 - Sushi portion - please dont expect large sized sushi portions - R182 for a platter of which the salmon roses are the size of a small muscle - not value for money
3 - Lemon Hake arrives dry - please ensure you request a decent helping of sauce

However the kingklip was the winning plate

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brentus01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We travel to Plettenberg Bay once a year and we look forward all year to our visit to the Fat Fish. The food is great, so much fresh fish. I even love the menus, they are unusual and unique and have lots of bits of information on them. The service is efficient and friendly and the views over the bay are lovely. If you are going to Plettenberg Bay, make sure to dine there, you won't regret it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruthyruths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fat Fish also viewed

Harkerville, Plettenberg Bay
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 
Keurboomstrand, Plettenberg Bay
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to The Fat Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing