We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss this restaurant”
Review of The Fat Fish

The Fat Fish
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, View, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A funky, hip but stylish fish restaurant and tapas bar, Fat Fish takes tapas to a new gastronomic high. On Central Beach Plettenberg Bay, with great views of our beautiful bay
Vancouver, Bc
Level Contributor
154 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Don't miss this restaurant”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Fat Fish was recommended to us, and after a long day of driving it was a welcome sight! The staff were so friendly and helpful - we were a bit stressed and they immediately took care of us, got us drinks and we then enjoyed a great meal. We dined at night so I can't comment on the view but I'm sure it would be wonderful. Plettenberg Bay is a lovely spot.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Buttners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    981
    452
    116
    35
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely decor, great food and service”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Our first time to this restaurant and we were very impressed. The oysters were wonderful and although a fish restaurant, the steak I had was very very good, with excellent chips and red wine sauce. My partner had fish and that was great too. We liked it so much we went back the next evening and again had great food. Ambience buzzy,lovely decor plus the wood burner was on. Our waiter called Innocent was excellent, very friendly and very good. We will be back on our next trip to Plett.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Absolutely brilliant”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Everything about our lunch was fantastic. The food, wine and service was brilliant. I will most certainly be back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tash A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a fantastic meal at The Fat Fish yesterday. The staff were friendly and efficient. Our food arrived timeously, all together, fresh and hot. It was absolutely delicious. The calamari was cooked to perfection and so tasty. Every one of us left satisfied and I would not hesitate to go back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great fresh fish..great service”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Excellent friendly restaurant... Fish cooked to perfection...great choice... Great service... Very reasonable prices.....easy location to find...great local wines

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilso83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fat Fish also viewed

Harkerville, Plettenberg Bay
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 
Keurboomstrand, Plettenberg Bay
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to The Fat Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing