We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fat Fish in Plettenbergbay .. A Must” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fat Fish

The Fat Fish
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids, View
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A funky, hip but stylish fish restaurant and tapas bar, Fat Fish takes tapas to a new gastronomic high. On Central Beach Plettenberg Bay, with great views of our beautiful bay
Emalahleni
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fat Fish in Plettenbergbay .. A Must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Great Food, Excellent service, stunning views and a beautiful interior don't miss this experience you will definitely go back

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    941
    432
    107
    34
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
1 review
“Overpriced and poor acoustic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

On our arrival we were welcomed with a smile and we were helped immdiately. As we didnt have a reservation, we were shown to the bar to wait while they prepaired a table. And that is where the great service stopped. We had for a start, tappas, great taste but highly overpriced... We thought that the main course will make up for the disappointment... But allas that was even worse.. Two baby pieces of line fish a few patatoes and veggies! Half of the normal fish and chips... For a massive price... A huge disappointment...not a place to visit again

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dee461968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knysna, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellence with a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We went for a Sunday lunch and were pleasantly surprised by the Sunday specials.
Shepard provided excellent service throughout the meal and was a great help with his thorough knowledge of the menu.
One does not always find red meat being done so well in a fish establishment but the Lamb shoulder was done to perfection. Judging by the amount of portions being served other patrons must have had inside knowledge about this as well.
The prawns and fish I had was also excellent.
I was also surprised by the Allee Bleue wines on offer. Great taste and excellent value for money.

Will we be returning? MOST DEFINITELY

Helpful?
Thank JaypeeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Bc
Level Contributor
147 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Don't miss this restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Fat Fish was recommended to us, and after a long day of driving it was a welcome sight! The staff were so friendly and helpful - we were a bit stressed and they immediately took care of us, got us drinks and we then enjoyed a great meal. We dined at night so I can't comment on the view but I'm sure it would be wonderful. Plettenberg Bay is a lovely spot.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Buttners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely decor, great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Our first time to this restaurant and we were very impressed. The oysters were wonderful and although a fish restaurant, the steak I had was very very good, with excellent chips and red wine sauce. My partner had fish and that was great too. We liked it so much we went back the next evening and again had great food. Ambience buzzy,lovely decor plus the wood burner was on. Our waiter called Innocent was excellent, very friendly and very good. We will be back on our next trip to Plett.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fat Fish also viewed

Harkerville, Plettenberg Bay
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 
Keurboomstrand, Plettenberg Bay
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to The Fat Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing