We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
African Array Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 December 2013

This accomodation is definitly the best I have ever been in. The owners put you directly at ease, and whether you are in couple or with a bunch of friends, you will feel at home. The place is comfortable and cozy, the view is stunning and moreover the owner is an awesome cooker, so that you will not need to go to restaurants if you don't feel like cooking !

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eguyot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

We loved our stay at the african array lodge. It is very luxurious; especially for a backpackers. Matthew and Vicky really made us feel welcome. Matthew is an excellent cook Vicky a lovely hostess. The view is breathtaking and the accomodation is just excellent.

Also, on all activities (Tanikwa, , Plettenberg Wildlife Parc, Knysna Elephant Parc, etc...) they've got 10% discount :).

Room Tip: Go for the suite. It is absolutely worth it. Stunning view, huge room and ginormous badthroom. This...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertvLeijenhorst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

After a mild struggle through the dirt roads, a left turn, and a metal gate, the owners of the place warmly greeted us. The owners themselves are gracious and knowledgeable people and also happen to be fantastic cooks (if you so find yourself needing to order from their breakfast and dinner menus). The place is absolutely beautiful with bonfires on a patio, bonfires near a self-serve bar (which operates on an honesty policy), and a view that is absolutely breathtaking. The rooms are clean, the beds are accommodating, and the bathrooms are spacious and modern. The living room is airy and the couches are super comfortable. Honestly, these descriptions don’t give the place justice. This hostel is a vacation in and of itself and I would have been perfectly content to have just stayed here in the hostel a couple more days.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

African Array lodge is overwhelming amazing. Hidden by a bumpy dirt road and the privacy of tree canopies, this gem of a lodge blossoms and will definitely be a stay of lifetime. The owner are so warm and accommodating and have plenty of stories to tell. The lodge itself is a work of pure art. White walls with tall slanted ceilings and open archways create an sense of openness and fluidity. The patio, laced with bonfire pits, hammocks, and couches, overlooks a river and the hills of Plett and provides a view that is impossible to put into words forget. This lodge felt like home. Wouldn't recommend any other place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerrol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

At the end of a long and bumpy gravel road lies your reward. Pack up your supplies or let them cook up a storm because once you arrive you may never want to leave. Formerly a private residence, this large house, set high in the spectacular hillside, combines fresh and modern rooms with the homely comforts of communal dining and log fires. Hike along the peninsula, go surfing, go fishing or if this is all too much for you, chill in front of the TV in the comfy living area or chat with the other guests over a glass of wine at the ‘honesty bar’ under the stars. A braai pit and large garden, sun-deck and patio complete with fire-pits, means that you will always find the perfect place to chill or chat. We bought all our own food but regretted this as the food they prepared to order using fresh, local ingredients, looked and smelled much better!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carys m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Okay, so I will start with the only negative for this place and that is the road leading to the lodge!! We arrive right after a heavy rain and the road was crazy for most of the 2kms, however saying that, if you take your time and go slow you should be fine. Now on too all the positives and there are alot. Vicki and Matthew are amazing people, who make you feel like your are old friends coming to visit and not guests at this beautiful lodge. The communal areas and bathrooms were always clean and the bedrooms are spacious with wonderful views. There are numerous different outdoor areas to relax, and in the evening a wonderful fire is always going. Matthew has some great cooking skills, so give the menu a try at least once and I promise you won't be disappointed ( Order breakfast!!!). Stop looking for another place and stay here, the prices are great, the accommodation is amazing and the owners are wonderful!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShannaB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We recently stayed at African Array for one night on our trip down the Garden Route and wished we had stayed much longer! As the owners described you have to get off the beaten track to find paradise in Africa and after the bumpy track to get there we certainly found that... A great family room, very welcoming and chatty hosts and beautiful views. We got back from a hike down the Robberg Penninsula (highly recommended) to find the fire had been lit for us on the patio as well as the braai so we had a lovely evening relaxing with a few beers, braai food and great views and the communal areas are very comfortable with a really welcoming vibe. I would highly recommend African Array and hope we will be back one day soon! Thank you

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
5 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
84 reviews
8.6 mi away
Arch Rock Seaside Accommodation
Arch Rock Seaside Accommodation
#4 of 73 in Plettenberg Bay
372 reviews
9.2 mi away
Moon Shine on Whiskey Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Albergo for Backpackers
Albergo for Backpackers
#15 of 73 in Plettenberg Bay
121 reviews
2.7 mi away
Plett Beachfront Accommodation
Plett Beachfront Accommodation
#23 of 83 in Plettenberg Bay
168 reviews
2.4 mi away
T'Niqua Stable Inn
T'Niqua Stable Inn
#3 of 83 in Plettenberg Bay
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Array Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Array Lodge

Address: 30 Ladywood | 30 Ladywood, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 73 Speciality Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: £19 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This one of a kind hostel and lodge is nestled between an array of Fynbos(Wild flowers)on a cliff with a 270 degree panoramic view overlooking a lake all the way to the warm Indian ocean and the Robberg Peninsula. We believe we have the most fantastic view on the Garden Route and seeing is believing. A true hidden GEM.Relax with a book in the garden on one of the hammock under the trees or surf the net on our free WIFI. The building is a beautiful Villa with high ceilings and large windows so you never miss out on the view where ever you are in the Lodge. All our bedrooms have a fantastic view with lots of natural light at anytime of the day. The atmosphere is homely and we pride our self on giving our guest the VIP treatment at all times. Fancy catering for your self, our kitchen is well equipped and you will need nothing else to prepare any meal. If you feel like having a braai(BBQ) then we will light up the fire and provide you the spices. The beers is always cold and the fires always hot so why not spoil your self and pay us a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your African Array Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing