We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome holiday for the third year!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
African Array Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
“Awesome holiday for the third year!”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Thanks Vicky and Matthew for an absolutely stunning stay, third year in a row with you. We have tried other backpackers and B&B's, but will definitely ALWAYS rather come back to you. For the best accomadation, friendliest hosts that truly go the extra mile, breath taking views, just round the corner from Plettenberg Bay ... it doesn't get better

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewVictoriaRowe, Owner at African Array Lodge, responded to this review, 1 November 2014
Thank you for your high score. We love to hear you appreciated our quality!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    43
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
25
64
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Thank you Vicky and Matthew for making our last day of our trip so amazing. Your place is stunning and we will be back! From the moment we walked in we were welcomed like family. It was the 1st of Jan, so not all Vicky's staff had arrived for work, but she made sure that anything that may be going wrong on her side did not affect us at all. I also need to comment on Matthew's food... it was amazing! Home cooked meals but 5 star quality. I would recommend this place to any traveller.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Chad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewVictoriaRowe, Owner at African Array Lodge, responded to this review, 1 November 2014
we are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Thank you Vicky and Matthew for an amazing stay!

warm welcoming hosts, friendly and help full staff, stunning accommodation
will be back again!!!

oh and big thanx Vicky for my late evening breakfast :-)

Suki

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sneakizoyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewVictoriaRowe, Owner at African Array Lodge, responded to this review, 1 November 2014
we appreciate very much again for taking the time to inform your valuable thoughts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Attleboro
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This was the most amazing hostel. It exceeded all of my expectations and I felt so comfortable and at home there.

Do not be discouraged by the creepy drive to the house, because it is all perfect when you arrive at the house. The people are so friendly and welcoming; the environment is comfortable; the food is delicious; and the view is absolutely beautiful.

Such a reasonable price for the stay. Definitely recommend this to anyone staying in the area!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jazmynn92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewVictoriaRowe, Owner at African Array Lodge, responded to this review, 1 November 2014
thank you for posting your feedback after your stay with us. Nice to hear, that you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liege, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2013

This accomodation is definitly the best I have ever been in. The owners put you directly at ease, and whether you are in couple or with a bunch of friends, you will feel at home. The place is comfortable and cozy, the view is stunning and moreover the owner is an awesome cooker, so that you will not need to go to restaurants if you don't feel like cooking !

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eguyot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heiloo, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We loved our stay at the african array lodge. It is very luxurious; especially for a backpackers. Matthew and Vicky really made us feel welcome. Matthew is an excellent cook Vicky a lovely hostess. The view is breathtaking and the accomodation is just excellent.

Also, on all activities (Tanikwa, , Plettenberg Wildlife Parc, Knysna Elephant Parc, etc...) they've got 10% discount :).

Room Tip: Go for the suite. It is absolutely worth it. Stunning view, huge room and ginormous badthroom. This...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertvLeijenhorst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2013

After a mild struggle through the dirt roads, a left turn, and a metal gate, the owners of the place warmly greeted us. The owners themselves are gracious and knowledgeable people and also happen to be fantastic cooks (if you so find yourself needing to order from their breakfast and dinner menus). The place is absolutely beautiful with bonfires on a patio, bonfires near a self-serve bar (which operates on an honesty policy), and a view that is absolutely breathtaking. The rooms are clean, the beds are accommodating, and the bathrooms are spacious and modern. The living room is airy and the couches are super comfortable. Honestly, these descriptions don’t give the place justice. This hostel is a vacation in and of itself and I would have been perfectly content to have just stayed here in the hostel a couple more days.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
3.5 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
2.3 mi away
Nothando Backpackers Lodge
Nothando Backpackers Lodge
#8 of 68 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
2.4 mi away
Albergo for Backpackers
Albergo for Backpackers
#13 of 68 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Array Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Array Lodge

Property: African Array Lodge
Address: 30 Ladywood | 30 Ladywood, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 68 Speciality Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This one of a kind hostel and lodge is nestled between an array of Fynbos(Wild flowers)on a cliff with a 270 degree panoramic view overlooking a lake all the way to the warm Indian ocean and the Robberg Peninsula. We believe we have the most fantastic view on the Garden Route and seeing is believing. A true hidden GEM.Relax with a book in the garden on one of the hammock under the trees or surf the net on our free WIFI. The building is a beautiful Villa with high ceilings and large windows so you never miss out on the view where ever you are in the Lodge. All our bedrooms have a fantastic view with lots of natural light at anytime of the day. The atmosphere is homely and we pride our self on giving our guest the VIP treatment at all times. Fancy catering for your self, our kitchen is well equipped and you will need nothing else to prepare any meal. If you feel like having a braai(BBQ) then we will light up the fire and provide you the spices. The beers is always cold and the fires always hot so why not spoil your self and pay us a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your African Array Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing