We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Garden Route Tour”

Gecko Transport and Tours - Day Tours
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Garden Route Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

As we only had 3 nights and 4 days and also specific dates to do the Garden Route, we looked around for a Tour Agency that could fulfil that time frame. Sharon from Gecko Tours was great in compiling a Tour with an amazing Itinerary. It could not have been better. Eugene, our Guide and Driver took us on this wonderful journey. He was a wealth of knowledge about the countryside. We were so wrapped with Eugene, that we ended up booking him for an extra day to take us to the Cape of Good Hope. Thanks so much Sharon and Eugene for our amazing Tour.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlozier, Public Relations Manager at Gecko Transport and Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Rina-
Thank you so for sharing your experience with Gecko Tours, and for giving us the opportunity to show you our local knowledge of the Garden Route and Cape with you. It was a great honour to extend your time with us to Cape Town and we are very pleased that you enjoyed it as much as we did. We hope to see you in South Africa again sometime in the future!
Warm regards, Sharon Louw, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    2
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
delhi india
Level Contributor
146 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“excellent!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

i choose gecko tours based on there good reviews.they were very prompt with there emails and very accomodating.i was very particular about what i wanted to do.we had booked them for 4 days.our guide eugine was very nice,always on time.the car was nice and clean and very spacious.we had two full day tours to outdshoorn and tsitsikama,both were lovely.and return transfer to capetown was great too!!our guide was knowledgeable and helpful!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank alok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlozier, Public Relations Manager at Gecko Transport and Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Maneka-
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback! I always like to hear back and I was only too pleased to have you on our tour of the magnificent Garden Route and the Karoo! I am so please you had an enjoyable time. It was lovely for Eugene to work with your family and we do hope to welcome you back someday soon!
Warm regards, Sharon Louw, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Top class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Nelis the guide arrived on time. I made the reservation for private tour only the day before. I shared my interest in tree top tour but was apprehensive if I could take it up due to a back problem. Nelis immediately suggested a 1 hour zip line tour rather than tree top canopy tour. We then went to the suspension bridge and rounded it off at the end with Birds of Eden and Monkey land

1. Arrived on time
2. Guided based on customer interest and time with good suggestions
3. Took the credit card details over phone and did the needful with minimum hassle
4. Professional service

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Purnima448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlozier, Public Relations Manager at Gecko Transport and Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Chennai-
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your experience with Gecko Tours. We strive to provide good, attentive and customised service and reviews like yours let us know we are on the right track! So glad we could be part of your positive experience in South Africa.

Best regards, Sharon - Owner, Gecko Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Private 2 weeks Tour South Africa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We are a family from switzerland with 2 adults and 3 children (9,15, and 17 years old). I choose Gecko Tours because of the good recommendations at Trip advisor. Sharon, who is amazing, organised our whole tour, which was perfect from the first to the last minute. We stayed 2 nights in Cap Town, 1 night in Ooudtshoorn, 2 nights in Knysna,2 nights in Plettenberg Bay, 3 nights in Amakhala Game Reserve, and 4 nights in Grootbus (Hermanus). Every guesthouse was excellent and all activities were well adapted to our and our childrens expectations (from meerkat viewing to Bungee Jumping).
Our german speaking guide Irmela was the best guide, we ever had. She has a big knowledge, is enthusiastic and very flexible. After a memorable journey, we will come back for sure.
There is really nothing to complain about and we really highly recommend Gecko Tours.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Bigmac11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlozier, Public Relations Manager at Gecko Transport and Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Isay Family-
It was only a pleasure to help plan your trip to South Africa. Thank you so much for sharing your positive experience on Trip Advisor - it is so rewarding to have my team be recognised for their efforts. Irmela really enjoyed showing you and your family the best of South Africa, and watching the bungee jumping was a real bonus! AND we were only too pleased to award your family with a complimentary Segway Tour through the forest for helping us reach 2000 likes on our Facebook Page - that was a fun day for sure. We certainly hope to host you again in South Africa. All the very best, Sharon, Owner Gecko Tours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“FLP Perth WA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

"We strive to create exceptional experience for you through Serving You with Service Excellence and Passion"

This is their motto and they certainly live by it

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday in Africa. It was our first time We felt safe and un compromised wherever we went. Besides regular police presence there are also public safety personnel everywhere we went ensuring tourist safety

We did the 5 day Garden Route with Gecko. Sharon the owner was amazing, she called us in Australia to get our personal details and her choices of guest houses was just perfect in every way. She went beyond the call of duty when we were in Plettenberg Bay, to book a great restaurant for dinner and even picked us up and dropped us back to the guesthouse, sacrificing an evening with her husband who had just returned from a trip away! That's what you call service excellence.

Then there was our guide Eugene. He was so much fun. He had a sense of humour, he was patient, with all our changing requests, and more over very knowledgeable in the route we were travelling, giving information much more than he should have I'm sure. That's what you call passion.

Would I recommend Gecko? ABSOLUTELY

Thanks Sharon & Eugene for a wonderful trip with wonderful memories.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Liesl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlozier, Public Relations Manager at Gecko Transport and Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Liesl-
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience touring South Africa with us! It was so lovely to meet you both - you make such a lovely, energetic couple, and you truly inspired me to travel during my golden years and enjoy life to the fullest!

I am so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your trip, had no worries during your stay in the Garden Route, and enjoyed the company of Eugene who is truly passionate about sharing his knowledge with our guests. I will be sure to pass your compliments along to him!

Wishing you all the best, Sharon - Owner, Gecko Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gecko Transport and Tours - Day Tours also viewed

Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to Gecko Transport and Tours - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing